Garden & Outdoor Living

Which Solar Path Lights Are Actually Bright Enough?

We compared six solar path lights on rated lumens, battery and runtime, weather rating, build materials and warranty, using only figures the makers publish.

RBE top pick

SUNVIE Solar Pathway Lights (SPL-YAWC)

The SUNVIE lights combine metal and glass construction, an IP65 rating and a stepless dimmer that lets you trade brightness for runtime in winter. The XMCOSY+ set offers similar materials and IP65 with a larger battery and a two-step switch.

SUNVIE Solar Pathway Lights (SPL-YAWC) - our top pick

The short version

The SUNVIE Solar Pathway Lights (SPL-YAWC) are the best overall pick: stainless steel and glass, an IP65 rating, a 10 to 40 lumen dimmer and a replaceable 600mAh battery rated for 8 to 12 hours or more. The XMCOSY+ High Lumens Solar Pathway Lights are the value pick, with stainless steel bodies, IP65, a 1000mAh battery and a 10 or 25 lumen switch. The Linkind SP3 suits buyers who want the brightest light at a low price and can accept plastic and an IP54 rating, the Ring Smart Lighting Solar Pathlight suits Ring owners who want motion-activated light in the app, and the Moonrays Black Stake Light suits anyone who wants a simple 15 lumen glass stake light. Skip the Gigalumi Grid set, rated at 3 lumens per light with an IP44 rating and a 6 month warranty. Best for: lining walkways, garden beds and driveways where running low-voltage wiring is not practical.

Our picks at a glance

  1. SUNVIE Solar Pathway Lights (SPL-YAWC) - Buy. Stainless steel and glass path lights with a 10 to 40 lumen dimmer, IP65 and a replaceable battery.
  2. XMCOSY+ High Lumens Solar Pathway Lights - Buy. A stainless steel and bubble glass 6 pack with an IP65 rating, a 1000mAh battery and a 10 or 25 lumen switch.
  3. Linkind SP3 Solar Pathway Lights - It depends. The brightest headline rating here at 200 lumens, in a plastic body with an IP54 splash-proof rating.
  4. Ring Smart Lighting Solar Pathlight - It depends. A motion-activated smart path light with IP66, a lithium battery and Ring app control.
  5. Moonrays Black Stake Light (26245) - It depends. A simple matte black stake light with a glass lens, rated at 15 lumens for up to 8 hours.
  6. Gigalumi Grid Solar Pathway Lights - Skip. A cheap multi-pack of lantern-style lights rated at just 3 lumens each, with IP44 and a 6 month warranty.

The verdict in 30 seconds

What mattered most

  • Rated brightness
  • Battery
  • Stated runtime
  • Weather rating
  • Materials
  • Control
New to solar path lights? Our plain-English Solar Path Lights, Explained guide decodes every spec first.

Solar path lights are cheap, wire-free and everywhere, which is exactly why so many end up as dim glowing dots by the second month. The numbers that separate useful lights from decorations are on the listing if you know where to look: lumens, battery capacity, the IP weather rating and the warranty. We picked five lights that each suit a different garden and one popular set we would skip, and every figure below comes from the maker's own product page.

RBE top pick
SUNVIE Solar Pathway Lights (SPL-YAWC)
SUNVIE
SUNVIE Solar Pathway Lights (SPL-YAWC)
Buy it

Stainless steel and glass path lights with a 10 to 40 lumen dimmer, IP65 and a replaceable battery.

Best for: Most gardens where you want sturdy, good-looking path lights that can be dimmed for longer winter runtime.

$$ · mid-range
Why we like it
  • SUNVIE lists a copper-finished stainless steel housing, diamond-cut glass and an IP65 waterproof rating.
  • A rotary knob gives stepless dimming from 10 to 40 lumens, so you can turn it down on cloudy winter days to stretch runtime.
  • It uses a 0.5W monocrystalline panel and a replaceable 3.2V 600mAh battery, rated for 8 to 12 hours or more on a 6 to 8 hour charge.
Know before buying
  • Even at 40 lumens it is a soft path light with a 3-foot radius, not a floodlight.
  • The product page does not state a warranty length.
  • It is sold in 4 and 6 packs only, in one copper-toned finish.
Check price on Amazon Read our detailed assessment
XMCOSY+ High Lumens Solar Pathway Lights
XMCOSY+
XMCOSY+ High Lumens Solar Pathway Lights
Buy it

A stainless steel and bubble glass 6 pack with an IP65 rating, a 1000mAh battery and a 10 or 25 lumen switch.

Best for: Buyers who want metal and glass construction and a weather rating that matches the SUNVIE for less.

$ · budget
Why we like it
  • XMCOSY lists an anti-rust coated stainless steel body, a bubble glass shade and an IP65 rating.
  • A 1000mAh 1.2V rechargeable AA battery and a 0.55W polycrystalline panel, with 8 to 16 hours of light claimed.
  • A switch selects 10 or 25 lumens, and XMCOSY offers a one-year limited warranty.
Know before buying
  • The top setting is 25 lumens, below the SUNVIE's 40.
  • It uses a polycrystalline panel and ABS ground spikes rather than metal stakes.
  • Only one warm white color and one 6 pack size are offered on this listing.
Find it on Amazon Read our detailed assessment
Linkind SP3 Solar Pathway Lights
Linkind
Linkind SP3 Solar Pathway Lights
It depends

The brightest headline rating here at 200 lumens, in a plastic body with an IP54 splash-proof rating.

Best for: Buyers who want maximum light on a budget and can live with plastic and a splash-proof rating.

$ · budget
Why we like it
  • Linkind rates it at up to 200 lumens covering a 2 meter diameter, far brighter than the other lights here.
  • Three light modes, including low and high, and four height options from the included stake sections.
  • Automatic dusk-to-dawn operation and a 1-year warranty.
Know before buying
  • It is made of ABS plastic with an IP54 rating, which Linkind itself labels splash-proof.
  • Its spec table also lists 850 lumens, which conflicts with the 200 lumen headline, and the page gives no battery capacity or runtime.
  • The wide, bright beam suits open lawns more than a subtle walkway edge.
Check price on Amazon Read our detailed assessment
Ring Smart Lighting Solar Pathlight
Ring Smart Lighting Solar Pathlight
It depends

A motion-activated smart path light with IP66, a lithium battery and Ring app control.

Best for: Ring households who want path lights that brighten on motion and show up in the same app as their cameras.

$$ · mid-range
Why we like it
  • Ring lists up to 80 lumens (adjustable) at 3500K, with motion detection up to 120 degrees and 15 feet.
  • It is rated IP66 and runs on an 18650 lithium-ion battery that can also recharge over Micro USB.
  • It works in the Ring app, can glow on a dusk-to-dawn schedule and can link with Ring cameras and doorbells.
Know before buying
  • Ring says a Ring Bridge or compatible hub is required unless your area has Amazon Sidewalk coverage.
  • It is sold one light at a time or in kits, which adds up for a long path.
  • It carries a one-year limited warranty and ships to the continental US, Alaska and Hawaii only.
Check price on Amazon Read our detailed assessment
Moonrays Black Stake Light (26245)
Moonrays
Moonrays Black Stake Light (26245)
It depends

A simple matte black stake light with a glass lens, rated at 15 lumens for up to 8 hours.

Best for: Buyers who want a plain, documented glass stake light for a short path or border.

$ · budget
Why we like it
  • Moonrays lists a glass lens with a plastic body, one warm white LED and 15 lumens of output.
  • It runs on one AA 600mAh Ni-MH rechargeable battery, rated for up to 8 hours on a full charge.
  • A 12 month warranty and a downloadable user guide on the product page.
Know before buying
  • The product page does not list an IP or weather rating.
  • Runtime tops out at a stated 8 hours, shorter than the SUNVIE and XMCOSY+ claims.
  • It is a single fixed brightness with no dimmer or mode switch.
Find it on Amazon Read our detailed assessment
We'd skip it
Gigalumi Grid Solar Pathway Lights
Gigalumi
Gigalumi Grid Solar Pathway Lights
Skip it

A cheap multi-pack of lantern-style lights rated at just 3 lumens each, with IP44 and a 6 month warranty.

Best for: Nobody we would steer to it for lighting a path; the Moonrays or XMCOSY+ give five to eight times the rated output.

$ · budget
Why we like it
  • It comes in 8, 10, 12 and 16 packs, so it covers long borders cheaply.
  • Gigalumi rates runtime at more than 8 hours on a 5 to 6 hour charge.
  • The lantern grid casts a decorative pattern on the ground.
Know before buying
  • Gigalumi lists 3 lumens per light, which marks a path edge but does little to light the ground you walk on.
  • Each light uses a 1.2V 100mAh AAA Ni-MH battery, a small fraction of the capacity in the SUNVIE or XMCOSY+.
  • It is rated IP44, lower than the IP65 and IP66 lights here, and the warranty is 6 months.
See our pick instead Find it on Amazon anyway Read our detailed assessment
Criteria SUNVIE Solar Pathway Lights (SPL-YAWC) Top pick Buy it Buy XMCOSY+ High Lumens Solar Pathway Lights Buy it Buy Linkind SP3 Solar Pathway Lights It depends Buy Ring Smart Lighting Solar Pathlight It depends Buy Moonrays Black Stake Light (26245) It depends Buy Gigalumi Grid Solar Pathway Lights Skip it Buy
Best forMost gardens where you want sturdy, good-looking path lights that can be dimmed for longer winter runtime.Buyers who want metal and glass construction and a weather rating that matches the SUNVIE for less.Buyers who want maximum light on a budget and can live with plastic and a splash-proof rating.Ring households who want path lights that brighten on motion and show up in the same app as their cameras.Buyers who want a plain, documented glass stake light for a short path or border.Nobody we would steer to it for lighting a path; the Moonrays or XMCOSY+ give five to eight times the rated output.
Price tier$$ · mid-range$ · budget$ · budget$$ · mid-range$ · budget$ · budget
Rated brightness10 to 40 lm, stepless10 or 25 lmUp to 200 lm (table also says 850)Up to 80 lm, adjustable15 lm3 lm
Battery3.2V 600mAh, replaceable1.2V 1000mAh AANot stated18650 lithium-ion1 x AA 600mAh Ni-MH1.2V 100mAh AAA Ni-MH
Stated runtime8 to 12+ hours8 to 16 hoursNot statedNot statedUp to 8 hoursMore than 8 hours
Weather ratingIP65IP65IP54 (splash-proof)IP66Not statedIP44
MaterialsStainless steel, glass, aluminum stakesStainless steel, bubble glass, ABS spikesABS plasticNot detailedPlastic and glassNot detailed
ControlDusk to dawn, rotary dimmerDusk to dawn, 2-step switchDusk to dawn, 3 modesMotion, schedule, Ring appDusk to dawnDusk to dawn
Color temperature3000K3000KWarm white3500KWarm whiteWarm white
WarrantyNot stated1 year limited1 year1 year limited12 months6 months

Which one is right for you?

How we judged the field

Five numbers decide whether a solar path light is worth staking into the ground. Lumens tell you how much light it actually puts out, and they vary by more than 60 times across this group. Battery capacity and chemistry decide how long it runs after a short winter day. The IP rating tells you how well it handles rain, sprinklers and snow. Materials, especially metal versus plastic and glass versus acrylic, decide how it looks after a season. The warranty shows how long the maker expects it to last.

The field splits into decorative multi-packs with very low output, sturdier metal and glass lights in the 15 to 40 lumen range, bright plastic lights, and smart motion-activated lights. We picked one strong option in each group and one popular decorative set whose own listing shows why it does not light a path. Every figure comes from the maker’s page; where a maker leaves something out, we say so.

SUNVIE Solar Pathway Lights (SPL-YAWC)

Buy it

The SUNVIE Solar Pathway Lights (SPL-YAWC) are the best overall pick because they get the important details right. SUNVIE lists a copper-finished stainless steel housing, thick diamond-cut glass, heavy-duty aluminum stakes with footstep tabs and an IP65 rating, so they should survive sprinklers and snow better than plastic lights. A rotary knob dims smoothly from 10 to 40 lumens, which matters more than it sounds: you can run them bright in summer and turn them down in winter to stretch a weak day’s charge. Power comes from a 0.5W monocrystalline panel and a replaceable 3.2V 600mAh battery, with SUNVIE claiming 8 to 12 hours or more after a 6 to 8 hour charge. The light spreads across about a 3-foot radius, which is right for a walkway rather than a lawn. The page does not state a warranty length, and they come only in 4 and 6 packs in one finish. Buy them for a path you want to look good and stay lit.

XMCOSY+ High Lumens Solar Pathway Lights

Buy it

The XMCOSY+ High Lumens Solar Pathway Lights are the value pick, with materials close to the SUNVIE’s. XMCOSY lists an anti-rust coated stainless steel body, a bubble glass shade that throws a star pattern on the ground and an IP65 rating. Inside is the largest battery here by capacity, a 1000mAh 1.2V rechargeable AA, charged by a 0.55W polycrystalline panel, and XMCOSY claims 8 to 16 hours of light. A switch chooses 10 or 25 lumens rather than a stepless dial. The limits are modest: 25 lumens is below the SUNVIE’s top setting, the ground spikes are ABS plastic rather than metal, and this listing offers one warm white color in a 6 pack. XMCOSY backs the set with a one-year limited warranty. Buy it if you want metal and glass lights with a proper weather rating for less, and you are happy with a slightly softer glow.

Linkind SP3 Solar Pathway Lights

It depends

The Linkind SP3 is the pick if brightness matters most. Linkind rates it at up to 200 lumens, covering a 2 meter diameter, which is five times the SUNVIE’s top setting. It has three modes, including low and high, four height options from the included stake sections and automatic dusk-to-dawn operation, with a 1-year warranty. The trade-offs are build and paperwork. The body is ABS plastic, and Linkind labels its IP54 rating splash-proof, a step below the IP65 lights here. The spec table on the same page also lists 850 lumens, which conflicts with the 200 lumen headline, and Linkind gives no battery capacity or runtime. That much light can also look harsh along a narrow path. Choose it for an open lawn, a driveway edge or a dark corner where you want real visibility on a budget, and accept that it may not last as long as the metal options.

Ring Smart Lighting Solar Pathlight

It depends

The Ring Smart Lighting Solar Pathlight is a different kind of light. Ring lists up to 80 lumens, adjustable, at 3500K, and it brightens when its motion sensor detects movement up to 120 degrees and 15 feet away, or glows on a dusk-to-dawn schedule. It is rated IP66, the highest here, and runs on an 18650 lithium-ion battery that can also be charged over Micro USB if the panel falls behind. In the Ring app it can link with Ring cameras and doorbells. The catches are the ecosystem and cost. Ring says you need a Ring Bridge or compatible hub unless your area has Amazon Sidewalk coverage, the lights are sold one at a time or in kits, and the warranty is one year. Choose it if you already use Ring and want path lights that react to people rather than just glowing.

Moonrays Black Stake Light (26245)

It depends

The Moonrays Black Stake Light (26245) is the simple, documented budget choice. Moonrays lists a matte black plastic body with a glass lens, one warm white LED rated at 15 lumens and one AA 600mAh Ni-MH rechargeable battery that powers it for up to 8 hours on a full charge. It stands just over 17 inches tall, comes with a 12 month warranty and has a user guide on the product page. That makes it five times brighter than the Gigalumi Grid on paper, at a similar style of fixed stake light. What is missing matters, though. The product page lists no IP or weather rating, the 8 hour runtime is shorter than the SUNVIE and XMCOSY+ claims, and there is no dimmer or mode switch. Choose it for a short path or flower border where you want a clean glass stake light and standard AA batteries you can swap easily.

Gigalumi Grid Solar Pathway Lights

Skip it

The Gigalumi Grid Solar Pathway Lights are sold in packs of up to 16, and their own listing shows why we would skip them for path lighting. Gigalumi rates each light at 3 lumens, which is enough to mark an edge with a warm dot but not to light the ground in front of your feet. Each runs on a 1.2V 100mAh AAA Ni-MH battery, a tenth of the capacity in the XMCOSY+, charged in 5 to 6 hours for a stated runtime of more than 8 hours. The weather rating is IP44, below the IP65 and IP66 lights here, and the warranty is 6 months. The lantern-style grid does cast a pretty pattern, and the large packs cover long borders cheaply. But if the goal is seeing where you are walking, the Moonrays stake light offers five times the rated output and the XMCOSY+ more than eight times. Skip it unless you only want decoration.

Sources

Specs in this review come from these pages.

SUNVIE Solar Pathway Lights (SPL-YAWC) vs XMCOSY+ High Lumens Solar Pathway Lights: which should you buy?

The SUNVIE and XMCOSY+ lights are close cousins: both use stainless steel and glass, both are rated IP65, and both run dusk to dawn. The SUNVIE is brighter at its top setting, 40 lumens against 25, uses a monocrystalline panel and metal stakes, and lets you dim smoothly. The XMCOSY+ has the bigger 1000mAh battery, a longer runtime claim and a stated one-year warranty.

Choose the SUNVIE for a front walkway where looks and the extra brightness matter, or where winter dimming will help a shaded spot. Choose the XMCOSY+ for longer runs of path or borders where you want sturdy lights in bulk and 25 lumens is enough.

Who should buy which

  • Front walkway that should look good: the SUNVIE Solar Pathway Lights (SPL-YAWC). Stainless steel, glass, IP65 and a 10 to 40 lumen dimmer cover looks and winter runtime.
  • Long borders on a budget: the XMCOSY+ High Lumens Solar Pathway Lights. It pairs metal and glass with IP65 and a 1000mAh battery in a 6 pack.
  • Open lawn or dark driveway edge: the Linkind SP3 Solar Pathway Lights. Its 200 lumen headline rating is the brightest here.
  • Ring camera owner: the Ring Smart Lighting Solar Pathlight. It brightens on motion and works in the Ring app.
  • Short flower border: the Moonrays Black Stake Light (26245). A simple 15 lumen glass stake light on a standard AA battery.

What to look for

  • Rated lumens: Under 10 lumens marks a path; 25 to 40 lumens starts to light it.
  • Battery capacity: More mAh means more stored energy for long winter nights; check whether the battery is replaceable.
  • IP rating: Look for IP65 or higher for lights that sit in wet beds and sprinkler zones.
  • Materials: Stainless steel and glass hold up and look better over time than thin plastic and acrylic.
  • Brightness control: A dimmer or low mode lets you trade brightness for runtime when the sun is weak.
  • Warranty length: A one-year warranty signals more confidence than six months or none stated.

Our final take

If you want path lights that actually light a path and still look good next year, buy the SUNVIE Solar Pathway Lights. The XMCOSY+ set is the value choice with similar metal and glass construction and IP65. The Linkind SP3 is the brightest option for open areas if you accept plastic, the Ring pathlight suits Ring households who want motion lighting, and the Moonrays stake light is a tidy budget pick for short borders. Pass on the Gigalumi Grid if you need to see where you are walking. Whatever you choose, give new lights a full day of sun before judging them.

Questions, answered

How many lumens does a solar path light need?

It depends on whether you want to mark a path or light it. Lights in the 3 to 15 lumen range, like the Gigalumi Grid and Moonrays stake light, mostly mark an edge. Around 25 to 40 lumens, as on the XMCOSY+ and SUNVIE, puts usable light on the ground near each fixture. Brighter models like the 80 lumen Ring or 200 lumen Linkind light a wider circle but can look harsh along a narrow walkway.

Why do solar path lights get dim in winter?

Shorter days and a lower sun mean less charge, while longer nights ask for more runtime. That is why dimmable lights help: SUNVIE suggests turning its dial down to 10 lumens on cloudy winter days. Place lights where the panel sees direct sun for most of the day, and keep the panel clean. A light rated for 8 hours in summer may run much less in December.

Can I replace the batteries in solar path lights?

Usually, and it is the cheapest way to revive tired lights. SUNVIE describes its 600mAh battery as replaceable, and the Moonrays and XMCOSY+ lights use standard AA rechargeable cells. Replace like with like: the same chemistry, size and voltage the maker lists. The Ring pathlight uses an 18650 lithium-ion cell and can also be charged over Micro USB.

What IP rating should solar path lights have?

For lights that sit in garden beds through rain and sprinklers, look for IP65 or higher. The SUNVIE and XMCOSY+ list IP65 and the Ring lists IP66. Linkind's IP54 is a splash-proof rating, and the Gigalumi's IP44 is lower still. If a maker lists no rating, as on the Moonrays page, you cannot compare its weather resistance.

Are solar path lights a good alternative to low-voltage landscape lighting?

They are easier to install and cost nothing to run, but they are dimmer and less consistent than wired lights. Solar suits paths in full sun where trenching for cable is not practical. For decks, eaves or patios, a powered option like the smart strips in our LED strip light comparison gives steadier light. Many gardens use solar for borders and wired or plug-in lights near the house.

Want the background first? Read Solar Path Lights, Explained - every spec in plain English Read the guide

Deciding between the top two? See our head-to-head: SUNVIE Solar Pathway Lights (SPL-YAWC) vs XMCOSY+ High Lumens Solar Pathway Lights.