Office & Desk
The Best 2027 Planners: 4 Compared (and One to Skip)
We compared four dated 2027 paper planners on layout, paper, binding, size and what each maker actually publishes about the book.
The short version
The Hobonichi Techo 2027 Cousin (English edition) is the best overall: 544 pages in an A5 book with a page per day, vertical weekly pages and monthly calendars, on thin Tomoe River paper with a stitched binding that opens flat. The Leuchtturm1917 Weekly Planner & Notebook 2027 is the simpler pick, with the week on the left, a ruled notes page on the right, a hardcover, a pocket and holidays for 58 countries printed in. The Passion Planner Weekly 2027 suits goal-setters who will use its core values, roadmap, habit and reflection pages, but that guided material is wasted bulk if you only want a calendar. Skip the Erin Condren 7x9 Coiled LifePlanner: it costs the most here, extra pages are paid add-ons, and the maker publishes neither page count nor book weight. Best for: Hobonichi if you write daily, Leuchtturm if you plan by the week.
Our picks at a glance
- Hobonichi Techo 2027 Cousin (English, A5) - Buy. A 544-page A5 book with a page per day, vertical weekly pages and monthly calendars, stitched to open flat.
- Leuchtturm1917 Weekly Planner & Notebook 2027 (Medium A5) - Buy. The calendar week on the left and a ruled notes page on the right, in a hardcover A5 book that opens flat.
- Passion Planner Weekly 2027 - It depends. A guided goal-setting weekly planner with hourly columns, habit trackers and monthly reflections on 120 GSM paper.
- Erin Condren 7x9 Coiled Weekly LifePlanner - Skip. The well-known customizable coil planner, but it costs the most here and leaves key specs unpublished.
The verdict in 30 seconds
What mattered most
- Layout
- Dated range
- Size
- Paper
- Binding
- Cover
A paper planner lives or dies on one decision: whether its layout matches how you actually plan. A page per day suits people who write a lot, a week per spread suits people who mostly schedule, and guided goal pages only earn their space if you fill them in. Paper weight, binding and size then decide whether you enjoy writing in it for twelve months. We compared a daily A5 book, a weekly planner with a notes page, a guided goal-setting planner and the coil-bound best-seller that many first-time buyers start with.

A 544-page A5 book with a page per day, vertical weekly pages and monthly calendars, stitched to open flat.
Best for: People who want one book for scheduling, notes and journaling, and who will write most days.
- Hobonichi publishes a full page map: 377 daily pages, 106 vertical weekly pages, 32 pages of monthly calendars from December 2026 to March 2028, a yearly index and 6 memo pages.
- Thread-stitch binding lets the book open flat at 180 degrees without holding the pages down.
- Thin Tomoe River paper keeps a 544-page A5 book to about 445 g and 18 mm thick, with a 3.7 mm grid that works for text, lists and sketches.
- Hobonichi itself warns that some inks may bleed through or dry slowly on Tomoe River paper and suggests testing pens or using a pencil board.
- The book is designed to be used with a cover, which is sold separately and can cost more than the book.
- The English edition's calendars do not list holidays.
- It ships from a Japanese store priced in yen, so delivery time and import costs vary by country.

The calendar week on the left and a ruled notes page on the right, in a hardcover A5 book that opens flat.
Best for: People who plan by the week and want room for notes beside the schedule in a durable hardcover.
- Every spread pairs the full week with a ruled notebook page, so plans and notes stay together without a separate notebook.
- Official holidays for 58 countries, moon phases, a 3-year overview for 2026 to 2028 and a project plan page are printed in.
- Thread-bound hardcover with a gusseted pocket, 2 page markers, an elastic band, detachable sheets and a labelling sticker set, so no separate cover is needed.
- Seven days share one page, so each day gets only a few lines.
- The A5 size uses 80 g/m² paper; only the large Master size gets 100 g/m².
- Leuchtturm1917 does not publish a page count or book weight on the product page.
- No hourly timeline is listed, which matters if your days are appointment-heavy.

A guided goal-setting weekly planner with hourly columns, habit trackers and monthly reflections on 120 GSM paper.
Best for: Goal-setters who will actually work through the guided roadmap and reflection pages each month.
- The weekly spread has vertical daily columns with hourly slots plus separate personal and work to-do lists.
- 120 GSM paper is the highest gsm figure published in this group, and the book adds 20 blank and 20 dotted pages, a fabric back pocket and two ribbons.
- Three sizes (5.8 x 8.3, 6.9 x 9.8 and 7.8 x 11 in), Sunday or Monday start, and free printable PDF samples to try the layout first.
- Core values, vision board, roadmap, habit tracker and monthly reflection pages take up space you will not use if you only want a calendar.
- The maker's spec table lists roughly 1 to 1.1 lb for the Small, about the same as the much thicker 544-page Hobonichi.
- The binding method is not stated on the product page.
- The cover is a faux leather softcover rather than a hardcover.

The well-known customizable coil planner, but it costs the most here and leaves key specs unpublished.
Best for: Only buyers who specifically want its custom cover and sticker-led style and accept paying extra for it.
- Four weekly layouts (vertical, horizontal, hourly or dashboard) and three interior themes.
- Thick 80 lb paper, a laminate cover and a plated aluminum coil, made in the USA.
- Comes with 4 metallic sticker sheets, a double-sided pocket folder, a snap-in ruler and tabs.
- It is the most expensive planner in this comparison, and extra lined, goal-setting or budget pages are paid add-ons.
- Erin Condren does not publish a page count or book weight, so you cannot compare how much planner you get.
- Coil binding can snag or bend in a bag and adds bulk at the spine compared with a stitched book.
- Paper is listed only as 80 lb, a US basis weight that does not convert neatly to the gsm figures other makers publish.
| Criteria | Hobonichi Techo 2027 Cousin (English, A5) Top pick | Leuchtturm1917 Weekly Planner & Notebook 2027 (Medium A5) | Passion Planner Weekly 2027 | Erin Condren 7x9 Coiled Weekly LifePlanner |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Verdict | Buy it | Buy it | It depends | Skip it |
| Best for | People who want one book for scheduling, notes and journaling, and who will write most days. | People who plan by the week and want room for notes beside the schedule in a durable hardcover. | Goal-setters who will actually work through the guided roadmap and reflection pages each month. | Only buyers who specifically want its custom cover and sticker-led style and accept paying extra for it. |
| Price tier | $$ · mid-range | $$ · mid-range | $$ · mid-range | $$$ · premium |
| Layout | Page per day plus vertical weekly | Week left, notes right | Vertical weekly with hourly slots | Choice of 4 weekly layouts |
| Dated range | Jan to Dec 2027 daily | Jan to Dec 2027 | Jan to Dec 2027 | 12 to 18 months, dated |
| Size | A5, 148 x 210 mm | A5, 145 x 210 mm (4 other sizes) | Small, Medium or Large | 7 x 9 in |
| Paper | Tomoe River, thin | 80 g/m² (A5) | 120 GSM bamboo | 80 lb |
| Binding | Thread-stitched, opens flat | Thread-bound, opens flat | Not stated | Aluminum coil |
| Cover | Paper, cover sold separately | Hardcover or softcover | Faux leather softcover | Laminate |
| Published weight | About 445 g | Not published | About 1 to 1.1 lb (Small) | Not published |
| Price tier | $$ · mid-range | $$ · mid-range | $$ · mid-range | $$$ · premium |
Which one is right for you?
- People who want one book for scheduling, notes and journaling, and who will write most days. Buy it Hobonichi Techo 2027 Cousin (English, A5)
- People who plan by the week and want room for notes beside the schedule in a durable hardcover. Buy it Leuchtturm1917 Weekly Planner & Notebook 2027 (Medium A5)
- Goal-setters who will actually work through the guided roadmap and reflection pages each month. It depends Passion Planner Weekly 2027
- Only buyers who specifically want its custom cover and sticker-led style and accept paying extra for it. Skip it Erin Condren 7x9 Coiled Weekly LifePlanner
How we judged the field
Five things decide whether a planner gets used past February. Layout comes first: daily, weekly, or a mix, and whether it has an hourly timeline. Paper is second, because a page that shows every stroke from the other side is tiring to write on. Binding is third: a stitched book that opens flat is easier to write in than one you have to hold open. Size and weight come next, since a planner you leave at home stops being useful. Last is how much of the book is guided content, which helps some people and wastes pages for others.
The field splits into three groups. Daily books give the most writing room. Weekly books keep the schedule compact. Guided planners add goal and reflection exercises. We picked the most complete daily book, a weekly with built-in notes pages, a well-specified guided planner and the coil-bound best-seller, then compared them on what each maker publishes. Where a maker leaves out page count or weight, we say so.
The Hobonichi Techo 2027 Cousin is an A5 book with 544 pages: 377 daily pages from January 1 to December 31, 106 vertical weekly pages, 32 pages of monthly calendars from December 2026 to March 2028, a yearly index and memo pages. Each daily page has a to-do list, a 24-hour timetable and a 3.7 mm grid, and each spread carries a short quote and a mini calendar. Thin Tomoe River paper keeps the book to about 445 g and 18 mm, and a thread-stitch binding lets it open flat at 180 degrees. The trade-offs are real. Hobonichi warns that some inks may bleed through or dry slowly, so wet fountain pens need testing. The book is meant to live in a cover, which is sold separately, and the English edition lists no holidays. It ships from Japan, so plan ahead. It is the one to buy if you want a single book for your schedule, notes and diary.
The Leuchtturm1917 Weekly Planner & Notebook 2027 puts all seven days on the left page and a ruled notes page on the right, so meeting notes and to-dos sit next to the week they belong to. It runs January to December 2027 and adds a 3-year overview, moon phases, official holidays for 58 countries and a project plan page. The book is thread-bound to open flat and comes in five sizes; the Medium A5 is 145 x 210 mm with 80 g/m² paper, a hardcover, a gusseted pocket, two page markers, an elastic band and detachable sheets. The limits are space and missing data. Seven days on one page means a few lines each, no hourly timeline is listed, and Leuchtturm does not list a page count or weight. If you already like the Leuchtturm notebook format from our notebooks comparison, this is the same build with a calendar inside. It suits people who plan by the week.
The Passion Planner Weekly 2027 is built around goal-setting. Before the calendar starts you get a core values exercise, a vision board, the Passion Roadmap, four pages of monthly habit trackers and a yearly overview with room for quarterly goals. Each weekly spread has vertical daily columns with hourly slots, separate personal and work to-do lists and open space for notes, and each month ends with guided reflection questions. Paper is 120 GSM bamboo paper, the highest gsm figure listed here, and the book adds 20 blank and 20 dotted pages, a fabric pocket, two ribbons and five sticker sheets. It comes in Small, Medium and Large with Sunday or Monday starts, and the maker offers free printable samples. The catch is that the guided pages only pay off if you do them; otherwise they are bulk. The maker’s specs list about 1 to 1.1 lb for the Small, and the binding method is not stated. Buy it if you want a planner that prompts you to set and review goals.
The Erin Condren 7x9 Coiled Weekly LifePlanner is the planner many people picture first, with a laminate cover, colorful tabs, a choice of vertical, horizontal, hourly or dashboard weekly layouts and three interior themes. It is made in the USA on 80 lb paper and comes with sticker sheets, a pocket folder and a snap-in ruler. The problem is value and transparency. It is the most expensive planner in this group, extra lined, goal-setting or budget pages cost more, and Erin Condren publishes neither a page count nor a book weight, so you cannot see how much planner you are paying for. The 80 lb paper figure is a US basis weight that is hard to compare with the gsm numbers other makers give. The coil adds bulk at the spine and can snag or bend in a bag. Most people get a better-specified book from the Leuchtturm or Passion Planner. Skip it unless the custom cover is the main reason you are buying.
Hobonichi Techo 2027 Cousin (English, A5) vs Leuchtturm1917 Weekly Planner & Notebook 2027 (Medium A5): which should you buy?
The Hobonichi Cousin and the Leuchtturm Weekly Planner & Notebook solve different problems. The Cousin gives every day its own A5 page plus vertical weekly pages and monthly calendars, so it doubles as a journal and a desk planner. It is thicker, needs a cover, and its thin paper asks you to check your pens. The Leuchtturm is a weekly book with a notes page beside each week, a hardcover and holidays printed in, so it is ready to use out of the box and lighter on decisions.
Choose by how much you write. If most days produce a paragraph of notes, a list and a few appointments, the Cousin’s daily page will fill and the Leuchtturm’s single line per day will feel cramped. If you mostly track meetings and deadlines and jot the odd note, the Leuchtturm keeps the whole week in one glance and the book stays slim. Fountain pen users should lean Leuchtturm unless they are happy testing inks on Tomoe River paper.
What to look for
- Layout first: decide between daily, weekly or both before looking at covers, because the layout decides whether you keep using it.
- Hourly timeline: if your days are full of appointments, pick a layout with time slots, like the Hobonichi daily pages or Passion Planner weekly columns.
- Paper weight in gsm: heavier paper resists show-through but adds weight; check the figure for your size, since it can differ between formats.
- Binding that opens flat: thread-stitched or thread-bound books lie flat for writing; coil books open flat too but add bulk at the spine.
- Published page count and weight: makers that list them let you compare how much planner you are buying; missing numbers are a warning sign.
- Start date: check when the monthly and weekly pages begin, since some 2027 books start in late December 2026.
Our final take
Buy the Hobonichi Techo 2027 Cousin if you want one book that handles your schedule, notes and a daily record, and you are happy to add a cover and test your pens on thin paper. Buy the Leuchtturm1917 Weekly Planner & Notebook 2027 if you plan by the week and want a hardcover with a notes page beside every week and holidays already printed. The Passion Planner is worth it only if you will use its goal and reflection pages. Skip the Erin Condren Coiled LifePlanner: it costs the most, charges extra for added pages and does not tell you how many pages or how much weight you are getting.
Questions, answered
Should I get a daily or a weekly planner?
Count how much you write on a typical day. If it is a few appointments and a short to-do list, a weekly spread like the Leuchtturm or Passion Planner keeps the whole week in view and the book thinner. If you also take notes, keep a diary or paste things in, a page per day like the Hobonichi Cousin gives you room without a second notebook. The Cousin also includes weekly pages, so it covers both styles at the cost of a thicker book.
Will my fountain pen bleed through planner paper?
It depends on the paper and the ink. Hobonichi says some inks may bleed through or dry slowly on its thin Tomoe River paper and suggests testing first. Heavier paper like Passion Planner's 120 GSM resists show-through better but makes the book heavier. If you use wet inks, try a page at the back of the book before writing in your January pages.
Is A5 a good size for a planner?
A5 is about 148 by 210 mm, roughly the size of a hardcover novel. It is the most common size because it gives enough writing room while still fitting in most bags. Two of our picks are A5, and Passion Planner's Small is the same 5.8 by 8.3 inch footprint. If the planner will stay on a desk, a larger size gives you more space per day.
Do I need a cover for the Hobonichi Techo?
Hobonichi says the techo is designed to be used with a cover, and sells a wide range made to fit the Cousin. The book itself has a paper cover, so a cover protects it over a year of daily use. You can use it without one, but budget for a cover if you want it to survive being carried. The Leuchtturm comes as a hardcover and needs nothing extra.
When should I buy a 2027 planner?
Dated 2027 planners are on sale now, and popular colors and sizes can sell out before January. The Hobonichi Cousin's weekly pages start on December 28, 2026, and its monthly calendars start in December 2026, so it is usable before New Year. If you are starting mid-year, look for an undated or mid-year edition rather than a January-start book.
Deciding between the top two? See our head-to-head: Hobonichi Techo 2027 Cousin (English, A5) vs Leuchtturm1917 Weekly Planner & Notebook 2027 (Medium A5).





