Beauty & Grooming

The Best Microcurrent Face Devices: 6 Compared (and One to Skip)

We compared six at-home microcurrent facial devices on published current output, intensity control, FDA status as each maker states it, gel requirements, contraindications and warranty.

RBE top pick

BEAR 2

The BEAR 2 has the widest published intensity range, a stated 680 uA ceiling, a long battery life and a waterproof body. The MINI+ costs less, keeps the routine simple and comes from the brand most people know, at the cost of a lower 335 uA maximum and only three intensities.

BEAR 2 - our top pick

The short version

The FOREO BEAR 2 is the best overall pick: FOREO publishes up to 680 uA, 10 intensity levels, a 90 g waterproof body, up to 300 minutes per charge and a 2-year limited warranty, and calls it FDA-cleared. The NuFACE MINI+ is the value pick, an FDA-cleared (per NuFACE) device with three intensities, a 335 uA RMS maximum and the simplest routine here. The ZIIP HALO suits app lovers who want a different waveform per treatment, the MyoLift Mini suits people who want salon-style probes and a screen, and the Bio-Therapeutic bt-sculpt GEN2 suits buyers who want preset programs from a professional brand. Skip the Solawave 4-in-1 Wand if microcurrent is what you are after: its maker lists galvanic current, not microcurrent. Every device here needs a conductive gel or serum, and every maker that publishes contraindications lists pregnancy and implanted electronic devices such as pacemakers. Best for: most buyers (FOREO BEAR 2), first-timers on a budget (NuFACE MINI+), guided app routines (ZIIP HALO).

Our picks at a glance

  1. FOREO BEAR 2 - Buy. A light, waterproof two-sphere toner with 10 intensity levels, a published 680 uA ceiling and a 300-minute battery.
  2. NuFACE MINI+ Starter Kit - Buy. NuFACE's smaller, cheaper FDA-cleared device: three intensities, a simple routine and the same activator-gel system as the TRINITY+.
  3. ZIIP Beauty ZIIP HALO - It depends. An app-driven device that sends a different microcurrent and nanocurrent waveform for each treatment, with four gels in the box.
  4. 7E Wellness (MyoLift) MyoLift Mini - It depends. A pro-style unit with an LCD screen and wired probe applicators, sold to estheticians and home users alike.
  5. Bio-Therapeutic bt-sculpt GEN2 - It depends. A handheld from a professional microcurrent maker with four probes on two channels, two preset programs and five power levels.
  6. Solawave 4-in-1 Radiant Renewal Skincare Wand - Skip. A popular red light wand that often shows up in microcurrent searches, but its maker lists galvanic current, not microcurrent.

The verdict in 30 seconds

What mattered most

  • Contact design
  • Published max current
  • Intensity control
  • FDA status (maker wording)
  • Conductive medium
  • Water resistance
New to microcurrent face devices? Our plain-English Microcurrent Face Devices, Explained guide decodes every spec first.

Microcurrent face devices push a very small electrical current (millionths of an ampere) through a conductive gel, usually via two metal spheres glided over the face and neck. They differ more than they look: some publish their maximum current and some publish nothing, some need an app, and warranties run from one to two years. We compared five microcurrent devices from five brands, plus one popular wand that gets lumped in with them but is not one. Every spec and safety note comes from the maker's own page or manual.

RBE top pick
BEAR 2
FOREO
BEAR 2
Buy it

A light, waterproof two-sphere toner with 10 intensity levels, a published 680 uA ceiling and a 300-minute battery.

Best for: Buyers who want the most adjustable, best-documented two-sphere device and do not mind using an app.

$$$ · premium
Why we like it
  • FOREO publishes the numbers most rivals skip: up to 680 uA of microcurrent, a 90 g body, a 520mAh battery and up to 300 minutes of use per charge.
  • Ten intensity levels split into a default Beginner Mode (1 to 5) and an app-unlocked Pro Mode (6 to 10), plus four microcurrent types.
  • The maker lists it as 100% waterproof silicone with a 2-year limited warranty, and its Anti-Shock System 2.0 measures skin resistance 200 times per second.
Know before buying
  • Pro Mode, guided routines and most settings live in the FOREO app.
  • FOREO says it must be used with a conductive serum and recommends its own SUPERCHARGED Serum 2.0, a recurring cost.
  • The manual caps use at 3 minutes per area per session and says the long-term effects of microcurrent are unknown.
  • No attachments for the eye and lip area; that is a separate BEAR 2 eyes & lips device.
Check price on Amazon Read our detailed assessment
MINI+ Starter Kit
NuFACE
MINI+ Starter Kit
Buy it

NuFACE's smaller, cheaper FDA-cleared device: three intensities, a simple routine and the same activator-gel system as the TRINITY+.

Best for: First-time microcurrent buyers who want a recognised, FDA-cleared device at a lower price and a routine they can follow without an app.

$$ · mid-range
Why we like it
  • NuFACE calls the MINI+ FDA-cleared and says it uses the same technology as its larger TRINITY+.
  • The routine is short and clearly spelled out: 5 minutes a day, 5 days a week for 60 days, then 2 to 3 times a week.
  • At a stated 142 g with a 4-hour full charge and a 20-minute auto shut-off, it is easy to live with, and NuFACE lists a 2-year warranty and 60-day returns.
Know before buying
  • Its manual lists a 335 uA RMS maximum, the lowest published ceiling among the two-sphere devices here (TRINITY+ is 600 uA).
  • Only three intensity levels and no boost button or swappable attachments.
  • The manual says to keep it away from water, so it is not a shower device.
  • NuFACE says to always apply a NuFACE Microcurrent Activator, so gel is an ongoing purchase.
Check price on Amazon Read our detailed assessment
ZIIP HALO
ZIIP Beauty
ZIIP HALO
It depends

An app-driven device that sends a different microcurrent and nanocurrent waveform for each treatment, with four gels in the box.

Best for: Buyers who like guided, app-led routines and want variety rather than one toning program.

$$$ · premium
Why we like it
  • The ZIIP app sends a unique waveform for each treatment, so routines target different concerns instead of one fixed current.
  • Without the app it defaults to a 4-Minute Facial that uses both microcurrent and nanocurrent.
  • The box includes four 30 ml gels (Firm, Refresh, Glow, Clear), and ZIIP lists a 2-year warranty on manufacturing issues.
Know before buying
  • The product page does not state FDA clearance, and it publishes no current output, intensity levels or weight.
  • Most of the value is in the app; the device alone runs one preset routine.
  • ZIIP says makeup and SPF block the waveforms and facial hair acts as a blocker, so skin prep matters.
  • It must not be submerged, and a full charge takes up to 4 hours.
Find it on Amazon Read our detailed assessment
MyoLift Mini
7E Wellness (MyoLift)
MyoLift Mini
It depends

A pro-style unit with an LCD screen and wired probe applicators, sold to estheticians and home users alike.

Best for: Buyers who want screen-based control and the probe style that salons use, and who will learn the technique.

$$$ · premium
Why we like it
  • 7E Wellness calls it FDA-cleared and says it suits both at-home users and estheticians.
  • Two named waveforms, Educate (tightening) and Erase (relaxing), with intensity up to 400 microamps per the maker's FAQ.
  • Devices carry a 2-year warranty with online registration, and the kit includes a 4 oz Restore Gel.
Know before buying
  • Wired probes on a lead wire are slower to handle than a one-piece sphere device.
  • Battery, lead wire and probes carry only a 6-month warranty, and 7E recommends replacing the probes every 1 to 1.5 years.
  • The product page's FAQ section describes a different device (the MyoLift MD), so the Mini's own details are spread across the separate FAQ page.
Check price on Amazon Read our detailed assessment
bt-sculpt GEN2
Bio-Therapeutic
bt-sculpt GEN2
It depends

A handheld from a professional microcurrent maker with four probes on two channels, two preset programs and five power levels.

Best for: Buyers who want salon-brand lineage and preset programs at a mid-range tier, and who will read the included instruction guide.

$$ · mid-range
Why we like it
  • Four stainless steel probes deliver two energy channels across four pathways, which covers more skin per pass than a two-contact head.
  • Two preset programs (LIFT and SKIN) and five power levels keep it simple, and auditory feedback signals proper skin contact.
  • The maker publishes a full spec block: IP24 water resistance, a 3.7 V 470 mAh battery, 250 g weight and 173 x 51 x 53 mm.
Know before buying
  • The public page lists no contraindications and no conductive-medium instructions; the spec sheet sits behind a login.
  • Bio-Therapeutic's page calls it "FDA approved", wording that differs from the "FDA-cleared" the other makers use, and the page gives no clearance details.
  • Only a one-year limited warranty, half what FOREO, NuFACE, ZIIP and 7E offer.
Check price on Amazon Read our detailed assessment
We'd skip it
4-in-1 Radiant Renewal Skincare Wand
Solawave
4-in-1 Radiant Renewal Skincare Wand
Skip it

A popular red light wand that often shows up in microcurrent searches, but its maker lists galvanic current, not microcurrent.

Best for: Nobody shopping for microcurrent; if red light is what you want, see our LED mask and red light device comparisons instead.

$ · budget
Why we like it
  • Solawave calls it FDA-cleared and pairs 630nm red light (14 LEDs) with warmth, galvanic current and massage vibration.
  • It costs well under the two-sphere devices here and is HSA/FSA eligible per the maker.
  • Small, rechargeable with a magnetic cord, and comes with a 60-day money-back guarantee.
Know before buying
  • Solawave's own technology list names Galvanic Current, described as a mild current that interacts with the skin's surface layer, not microcurrent toning.
  • A single small head with no two-sphere design, so it does not do the gliding muscle-toning routine the other devices are built for.
  • Its own copy gives two different routines: 3-minute treatments per area 5 times weekly in one place, 12 minutes 3 to 5 times per week in another.
  • Only a 1-year warranty.
See our pick instead See it at Amazon anyway Read our detailed assessment
Criteria BEAR 2 Top pick Buy it Buy MINI+ Starter Kit Buy it Buy ZIIP HALO It depends Buy MyoLift Mini It depends Buy bt-sculpt GEN2 It depends Buy 4-in-1 Radiant Renewal Skincare Wand Skip it Buy
Best forBuyers who want the most adjustable, best-documented two-sphere device and do not mind using an app.First-time microcurrent buyers who want a recognised, FDA-cleared device at a lower price and a routine they can follow without an app.Buyers who like guided, app-led routines and want variety rather than one toning program.Buyers who want screen-based control and the probe style that salons use, and who will learn the technique.Buyers who want salon-brand lineage and preset programs at a mid-range tier, and who will read the included instruction guide.Nobody shopping for microcurrent; if red light is what you want, see our LED mask and red light device comparisons instead.
Price tier$$$ · premium$$ · mid-range$$$ · premium$$$ · premium$$ · mid-range$ · budget
Contact designTwo spheresTwo spheresTwo globesWired probesFour probes, two channelsSingle head (red light wand)
Published max currentUp to 680 uA335 uA RMSNot publishedUp to 400 microampsNot publishedNot applicable (galvanic)
Intensity control10 levels (6 to 10 via app)3 levelsSet per app treatmentAdjustable, two waveforms5 power levels, 2 programsNot published
FDA status (maker wording)FDA-clearedFDA-clearedNot stated on pageFDA-cleared"FDA approved"FDA-cleared
Conductive mediumConductive serum requiredNuFACE activator alwaysZIIP Gel, generous layerConductive gel (Restore Gel incl.)Not stated on public pageWater-based gel or serum
Water resistance100% waterproofKeep away from waterDo not submergeNot publishedIP24Not published
Battery / chargeUp to 300 min per charge4 hr full chargeUp to 4 hr chargeRechargeable; indicator on screen3.7 V 470 mAhMagnetic charging cord
Warranty2-year limited2-year2-year2-year (probes 6 months)1-year limited1-year

Which one is right for you?

How we judged the field

Five things separate these devices. First, published output: a maker that states its maximum current (FOREO, NuFACE, 7E Wellness) lets you compare strength; one that does not leaves you guessing. Second, intensity control, because the makers tell you to lower intensity if you feel the current, so more steps means a better fit. Third, regulatory status, which we report only in each maker’s own words. Fourth, the practical costs and limits: conductive gel requirements, water resistance and battery. Fifth, the safety documentation, meaning whether the maker publishes contraindications where you can read them before you buy, plus the warranty.

The field splits into one-piece two-sphere devices (FOREO, NuFACE, ZIIP), probe-style devices with roots in salon equipment (MyoLift, Bio-Therapeutic), and light-based wands that get searched alongside microcurrent. We picked one device per brand, choosing the model each brand sells for home face toning, and added the Solawave wand as the skip because it is commonly bought as a microcurrent tool when its maker lists galvanic current instead. LED masks and red light panels are covered in our separate comparisons, so none of those products appear here.

FOREO BEAR 2

Buy it

The FOREO BEAR 2 wins because FOREO documents it better than anyone else in the category and the numbers hold up. The maker states up to 680 uA of microcurrent, four microcurrent types (Advanced, Lifting, Tapping and Sculpting), five T-Sonic massage patterns and an Anti-Shock System 2.0 that measures skin resistance 200 times per second. Intensity runs from 1 to 5 in the default Beginner Mode, with levels 6 to 10 unlocked in the app. The body weighs a stated 90 g, the battery is rated for up to 300 minutes per charge, and FOREO calls it 100% waterproof with a 2-year limited warranty. The trade-offs: you need the FOREO app for Pro Mode and guided routines, FOREO says it must be used with a conductive serum and points you to its own, and the manual caps use at 3 minutes per area. The manual also lists who should not use it, including anyone with an implanted medical device, epilepsy or cancer, and says safety in pregnancy has not been established. It is the pick for buyers who want the most control and the clearest spec sheet.

NuFACE MINI+ Starter Kit

Buy it

The NuFACE MINI+ is the value pick and the easiest device here to start with. NuFACE calls it FDA-cleared and says it uses the same technology as the larger TRINITY+, in a body that weighs a stated 142 g. The routine is written out plainly: 5 minutes a day, 5 days a week for 60 days, then 2 to 3 times a week, with 24 hours between sessions and a 20-minute auto shut-off. There are three intensity levels and a 4-hour full charge. The catch is output: NuFACE’s manual lists a 335 uA RMS maximum for the MINI+, against 600 uA for the TRINITY+ and FOREO’s stated 680 uA for the BEAR 2. It also has no boost button or attachments, and the manual says to keep it away from water. NuFACE says to always use its Microcurrent Activator, and its contraindications include pacemakers and other implanted electronics, pregnancy, seizures, active cancer and recent surgery. NuFACE lists a 2-year warranty and 60-day returns. It suits first-time buyers who want a well-known device and a routine with no app required.

ZIIP Beauty ZIIP HALO

It depends

The ZIIP HALO takes a different approach: the ZIIP app sends a unique waveform to the device for each treatment, so instead of one toning program you get routines aimed at different concerns. Without the app it defaults to a 4-Minute Facial that combines microcurrent and nanocurrent. The box includes four 30 ml gels, and ZIIP lists a 2-year warranty on manufacturing issues. What it does not publish matters too: the product page states no FDA status, no current output, no intensity levels and no weight, so you cannot compare its strength with the BEAR 2 or MINI+. ZIIP says makeup and SPF block its waveforms and facial hair acts as a blocker, so prep counts. Its contraindications cover pregnancy, breastfeeding, seizures, cancer, cardiac pacemakers and other implanted electronic devices, and users under 18. It must not be submerged and takes up to 4 hours to charge. It is a good fit for people who enjoy guided, app-led routines and variety, and a poor fit for anyone who wants a device that works fully without a phone.

7E Wellness (MyoLift) MyoLift Mini

It depends

The MyoLift Mini from 7E Wellness looks and works more like salon equipment than the others: a box with an LCD screen and applicator probes on a lead wire. 7E calls it FDA-cleared and says it suits both at-home users and estheticians. Per the maker’s FAQ it has two waveforms, Educate for tightening and Erase for relaxing, and intensity goes up to 400 microamps. The kit includes a 4 oz Restore Gel, and 7E sells a gentler ReNu Conductive Gel for sensitive skin. Devices carry a 2-year warranty with online registration, but the battery, lead wire and probes are covered for only 6 months, and 7E recommends replacing the probes every 1 to 1.5 years. The FAQ lists who is not a candidate, including pregnancy, pacemakers, metal implants or screws, heart surgery in the past year, epilepsy, diabetes and Retin-A use. One annoyance: the FAQ block on the Mini’s own product page describes the professional MyoLift MD. It suits buyers who want screen-based control and will put in the time to learn probe technique.

Bio-Therapeutic bt-sculpt GEN2

It depends

The Bio-Therapeutic bt-sculpt GEN2 comes from a brand known for professional microcurrent equipment, and its public spec block is unusually complete. It uses four stainless steel probes across two energy channels, which the maker says covers more skin per pass than single-channel devices. You get two preset programs, LIFT and SKIN, five power levels and auditory feedback that confirms skin contact. Bio-Therapeutic lists IP24 water resistance, a 3.7 V 470 mAh battery, a 250 g weight and a one-year limited warranty, and frames results around use three times per week. The gaps are in the safety paperwork: the public page lists no contraindications and no conductive-medium instructions, and the spec sheet requires a login. The page also calls it “FDA approved”, which is not the “FDA-cleared” wording the other makers use, and gives no further detail. It suits buyers who want preset programs from a pro brand at a mid-range price and who will read the instruction guide in the box before first use.

Solawave 4-in-1 Radiant Renewal Skincare Wand

Skip it

The Solawave 4-in-1 Radiant Renewal Skincare Wand is a well-known, low-cost device that shoppers often lump in with microcurrent wands, and that is the reason to skip it here. Solawave’s own technology list is red light at 630nm from 14 LEDs, therapeutic warmth, facial massage vibration and galvanic current, which it describes as a mild current that interacts with the skin’s surface layer. Microcurrent is not on that list, and the single small head is not built for the two-contact gliding routine the other devices use. Solawave calls the wand FDA-cleared, says to use it with a water-based gel or serum, and lists who should avoid it, including people who are pregnant, under 18, prone to seizures or photosensitivity, taking light-sensitizing medications, or with an implanted device such as a pacemaker. Its copy gives two different routines (3 minutes per area 5 times weekly, and 12 minutes 3 to 5 times per week), and the warranty is 1 year. If light therapy is what you want, our LED mask and red light device reviews are the better place to look.

Sources

Specs in this review come from these pages.

FOREO BEAR 2 vs NuFACE MINI+ Starter Kit: which should you buy?

The BEAR 2 and MINI+ are both two-sphere devices that both makers call FDA-cleared, with activator gel and 2-year coverage, so the choice comes down to strength, control and price. The BEAR 2 publishes a higher ceiling (up to 680 uA against 335 uA RMS), offers ten intensity steps against three, is waterproof and lighter at 90 g against 142 g, and runs up to 300 minutes per charge. It costs more and puts its upper intensity range and guided routines behind the FOREO app.

Pick the MINI+ if you want the simplest path: press a button, follow NuFACE’s 5-minutes-a-day schedule, and skip the app entirely. Pick the BEAR 2 if you know you want headroom to turn intensity up over time, plan to use it in a steamy bathroom, or want the more detailed spec sheet. If you like NuFACE but want more power, the TRINITY+ lists 600 uA and swappable attachments at a price close to the BEAR 2.

Who should buy which

  • Most buyers: the FOREO BEAR 2. It has the widest published intensity range and the most complete spec sheet of any device here.
  • First-time users on a tighter budget: the NuFACE MINI+ Starter Kit. NuFACE spells out a short daily routine and the device works without an app.
  • People who want guided app routines: the ZIIP Beauty ZIIP HALO. The app sends a different waveform for each treatment, with four gels included.
  • Salon-style probe users: the 7E Wellness (MyoLift) MyoLift Mini. It pairs an LCD screen with wired probes and two named waveforms up to 400 microamps.
  • Fans of preset programs: the Bio-Therapeutic bt-sculpt GEN2. Two programs, five power levels and contact feedback keep it simple, with an IP24 rating.

What to look for

  • Published current: A stated maximum, like FOREO’s 680 uA or NuFACE’s 335 uA RMS, gives you a fair way to compare strength across brands.
  • Intensity steps: Makers tell you to lower intensity if you feel the current, so more levels make it easier to find a comfortable setting.
  • FDA wording: Read the exact phrase the maker uses; “FDA-cleared”, “FDA approved” and silence are three different statements.
  • Gel cost: Every device here needs a conductive gel or serum, usually the maker’s own, so factor in refills.
  • Contraindications you can read: Prefer makers who publish their full list before you buy, especially if you have any implanted device or are pregnant.
  • Warranty split: Check whether probes, leads and batteries carry shorter coverage than the device itself, as they do with MyoLift.

Our final take

For most people the FOREO BEAR 2 is the one to buy: it has the highest published current here, ten intensity levels, a waterproof 90 g body, a long battery life and a 2-year warranty. If that is more device than you need, the NuFACE MINI+ gives you an FDA-cleared (per NuFACE) device with a simple daily routine for less money, though with a lower stated output. The ZIIP HALO, MyoLift Mini and bt-sculpt GEN2 each make sense for a specific buyer: app fans, probe users and preset-program fans respectively. Whatever you pick, budget for gel and read the maker’s contraindication list first. Skip the Solawave wand if microcurrent is the goal.

Questions, answered

Do I really need a conductive gel with a microcurrent device?

Yes, according to every maker here that addresses it. FOREO says microcurrent devices like the BEAR 2 must be used with a conductive serum, NuFACE says to always apply a NuFACE Microcurrent Activator, and ZIIP says to apply a generous layer of ZIIP Gel. The gel carries the current between the device and your skin; NuFACE's manual says that if you feel the current or a tingle, you should add more activator or lower the intensity. Budget for gel as an ongoing cost, since each maker steers you toward its own formula.

Who should not use a microcurrent face device?

The makers' lists overlap heavily. NuFACE says not to use its devices with a history of epilepsy or seizures, after recent surgery, with active cancer, if pregnant, with an electronic implanted device such as a pacemaker, defibrillator, neurostimulator or ECG monitor, or under 18. ZIIP and 7E Wellness give similar lists, and 7E adds metal implants or screws, heart surgery in the past year, diabetes and Retin-A use. FOREO says not to use the BEAR 2 with any implanted medical device and that its safety during pregnancy has not been established. If any of these apply, the makers say to consult your healthcare provider first.

What does FDA-cleared mean on these devices?

FOREO, NuFACE, 7E Wellness and Solawave each describe their device as FDA-cleared, and we report that exactly as they state it. Clearance is a regulatory path for devices and is not the same as approval, which is why Bio-Therapeutic's use of "FDA approved" on its bt-sculpt GEN2 page stands out. ZIIP's HALO product page does not state an FDA status at all. Both NuFACE and FOREO list the intended use as facial and neck stimulation for over-the-counter cosmetic use.

How often and how long should I use one?

Follow the schedule your device's maker gives, because they differ. NuFACE says 5 minutes a day, 5 days a week for the first 60 days, then 2 to 3 times a week, with 24 hours between sessions. FOREO says not to use the BEAR 2 for more than 3 minutes at a time per area. ZIIP recommends 3 to 5 times per week, up to 6 on a short-term plan, and Bio-Therapeutic frames its expectations around use three times per week.

Is a microcurrent device the same as an LED mask or red light wand?

No. Microcurrent devices deliver a small electrical current through gel, while LED masks and red light devices deliver light at set wavelengths. Some products mix the two, such as NuFACE's red light attachment for the TRINITY+, and some wands mix light with a different kind of current, like the Solawave wand's galvanic current. If light therapy is what you want, our LED face mask and red light therapy device comparisons cover those products.

Want the background first? Read Microcurrent Face Devices, Explained - every spec in plain English Read the guide

Deciding between the top two? See our head-to-head: FOREO BEAR 2 vs NuFACE MINI+ Starter Kit.