Ski & Snowboard
The Best Kids Skis: 4 Compared (and One to Skip)
We compared four junior skis on sizing information, flex, length range, binding details and how long a child can stay on them, using only what each maker publishes.
The short version
The Atomic Maverick J is our top pick for kids roughly 8 to 12 who ski the whole mountain: a Bend-X flex zone underfoot, full per-length specs and three age-banded packages so a family can move up within one line. The Elan Maxx Red Jr Shift is the value pick and the easiest to size, with nine lengths from 70 to 150 cm, a skier-height band for each and a stated 0.75 to 4.5 release range on the EL 4.5 binding. The Blizzard Rustler Team depends on your kid: it is a wood-core freeride ski for strong teens, sold without a binding, and too much ski for most children. Skip the K2 Indy Youth unless it is cheap and in stock locally: its maker page carries an adult size chart, one set of dimensions for every length and blank core and flex fields. Whatever you buy, a certified ski shop has to mount the binding and set the release value for your child. Best for: Atomic Maverick J for progressing all-mountain kids, Elan Maxx Red for learners and value.
Our picks at a glance
- Atomic Maverick J 130-150 + C 5 GW - Buy. A soft, rockered all-mountain junior ski with a flex zone underfoot, sold in three age-banded packages with a junior binding included.
- Elan Maxx Red Jr Shift + EL 4.5 GW - Buy. The easiest ski here to size correctly: nine lengths from 70 to 150 cm, a skier-height chart for each, and a stated 0.75 to 4.5 release range.
- Blizzard Rustler Team - It depends. A wood-core junior freeride ski for strong teens, sold without a binding, that is far more ski than most kids need.
- K2 Indy Youth + FDT JR 4.5 - Skip. A perfectly skiable beginner ski that gives parents less sizing and spec information than the Elan in the same price tier.
The verdict in 30 seconds
What mattered most
- Lengths offered
- Binding included
- Release range stated by maker
- Waist width
- Turn radius
- Profile
Kids' skis are a short-lived purchase: most children move up a size every season or two, so the right pair is the one that fits now, turns easily and comes with a junior binding a shop can set properly. The field splits into soft learner packages, all-mountain packages for kids who ski the whole hill, and adult-style freeride skis for strong teens. We picked two packages worth buying, one specialist ski that suits a narrow group, and one popular beginner package we would pass on. For the rest of the kit, see our guides to kids ski helmets and kids snowsuits.

A soft, rockered all-mountain junior ski with a flex zone underfoot, sold in three age-banded packages with a junior binding included.
Best for: Kids aged 8 to 12 who are past their first lessons and are starting to ski the whole mountain.
- Atomic's Bend-X flex zone underfoot is designed to let light skiers and kids bend the ski without needing adult strength.
- Atomic publishes tip, waist, tail and radius for every length, from 10.5 m at 130 cm to 13.5 m at 150 cm.
- The same model comes as 70-90, 100-120 and 130-150 packages, so a family can move up within one line as a child grows.
- A screwed-in stainless steel tip protector can be replaced rather than retiring the ski when the tip gets chewed up.
- It sits at the top of the price range here for a ski a child may outgrow in one or two seasons.
- The package page does not print the release range or skier weight range of the included C 5 GW binding, so you need the shop to confirm it.
- Atomic lists the same 1780 g per-ski weight under every length, labelled as the 140 cm figure, so per-length weights are not published.
- Several sizes were showing as sold out on Atomic's own US store at the time of checking.

The easiest ski here to size correctly: nine lengths from 70 to 150 cm, a skier-height chart for each, and a stated 0.75 to 4.5 release range.
Best for: Families buying a first or second pair who want clear sizing and a lower price than the premium pick.
- Elan prints a skier-height band for every length (for example 110 cm for skiers 110 to 125 cm tall), which takes the guesswork out of sizing.
- Nine lengths from 70 to 150 cm cover a first-timer through a tall pre-teen in one model.
- Elan lists the binding release range as 0.75 to 4.5 for the EL 4.5 version, and offers an EL 7.5 version for bigger kids.
- U-Flex construction and an Early Rise Rocker profile are aimed squarely at light skiers learning to turn.
- Elan does not publish a ski weight for any length.
- The package targets learners, so a strong, fast kid will move past it sooner than past the Atomic.
- Elan's own page does not list an age range or a skier weight range, so you size by height and let the shop handle the binding.
- Stock on Elan's own store was showing as unavailable at the time of checking, so you may need a dealer.

A wood-core junior freeride ski for strong teens, sold without a binding, that is far more ski than most kids need.
Best for: Confident teens in a freeride program or who ski off-piste most days, with a shop fitting a suitable binding.
- Full woodcore and a fiberglass sandwich build with full ABS sidewalls, closer to an adult ski than any other pick here.
- Rockered tip and tail with camber underfoot and a 90 mm waist at 148 cm suit soft snow and off-piste terrain.
- Five lengths from 132 to 164 cm, with radius stated for each, from 10 m to 14 m.
- It is sold flat: Blizzard lists a suggested binding (Marker Royal Family, 100 mm brake) rather than including one, so the total cost climbs.
- Blizzard lists 2460 g at 148 cm, a lot of ski for a light child to steer, and does not say whether that is per ski or per pair.
- Blizzard's ability scale for it covers intermediate to expert skiers, not beginners.
- Lengths start at 132 cm, so it does not fit small children at all.

A perfectly skiable beginner ski that gives parents less sizing and spec information than the Elan in the same price tier.
Best for: Only worth it if your local shop has one in the right length at a clearance price and will size and set it for you.
- Catch Free Rocker, a gradual rise in tip and tail, is meant to keep beginners from catching an edge.
- Comes with a Marker FDT JR binding (4.5 or 7.0, plus a large-plate 4.5 option), unmounted.
- K2 states plainly that bindings must be mounted, adjusted and tested by an authorized retailer before use.
- The size chart on K2's page starts at a 100 lb (45 kg), 4 ft 6 in skier and recommends 124 cm or longer, which gives no guidance for the 76 to 112 cm sizes most young kids need.
- K2 lists one set of dimensions (96-70-86) and one radius (3.0 m at 76 cm) for the whole range and leaves core, profile and flex fields blank.
- Six lengths topping out at 136 cm, rated beginner to intermediate only, so it has a shorter useful life than the Elan or Atomic.
- The page does not state the binding's release range.
| Criteria | Atomic Maverick J 130-150 + C 5 GW Top pick | Elan Maxx Red Jr Shift + EL 4.5 GW | Blizzard Rustler Team | K2 Indy Youth + FDT JR 4.5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Verdict | Buy it | Buy it | It depends | Skip it |
| Best for | Kids aged 8 to 12 who are past their first lessons and are starting to ski the whole mountain. | Families buying a first or second pair who want clear sizing and a lower price than the premium pick. | Confident teens in a freeride program or who ski off-piste most days, with a shop fitting a suitable binding. | Only worth it if your local shop has one in the right length at a clearance price and will size and set it for you. |
| Price tier | $$$ · premium | $$ · mid-range | $$$ · premium | $$ · mid-range |
| Lengths offered | 130, 140, 150 cm (also 70-90 and 100-120 packages) | 70 to 150 cm in 10 cm steps | 132, 140, 148, 156, 164 cm | 76, 88, 100, 112, 124, 136 cm |
| Binding included | Yes, C 5 GW (L 6 GW version also sold) | Yes, EL 4.5 GW (EL 7.5 GW version also sold) | No, sold flat | Yes, Marker FDT JR 4.5 or 7.0, unmounted |
| Release range stated by maker | Not on package page | 0.75 to 4.5 (EL 4.5) | Not applicable, no binding | Not stated |
| Waist width | 68 mm | 69 to 67 mm by length | 90 mm at 148 cm | 70 mm (one figure for all lengths) |
| Turn radius | 10.5 to 13.5 m | 2.5 to 13.1 m | 10 to 14 m | 3.0 m at 76 cm only |
| Profile | All Mountain Rocker 10/90/0 | Early Rise Rocker | Rockered tip and tail, camber underfoot | Catch Free Rocker |
| Core | Densolite foam | Synflex | Full woodcore | Full composite |
| Sizing guidance on maker page | Ages 8 to 12; tip to mid-forehead for ages 6 to 12 | Skier height band per length | Ability scale only | Adult chart starting at 100 lb / 45 kg |
Which one is right for you?
- Kids aged 8 to 12 who are past their first lessons and are starting to ski the whole mountain. Buy it Atomic Maverick J 130-150 + C 5 GW
- Families buying a first or second pair who want clear sizing and a lower price than the premium pick. Buy it Elan Maxx Red Jr Shift + EL 4.5 GW
- Confident teens in a freeride program or who ski off-piste most days, with a shop fitting a suitable binding. It depends Blizzard Rustler Team
- Only worth it if your local shop has one in the right length at a clearance price and will size and set it for you. Skip it K2 Indy Youth + FDT JR 4.5
How we judged the field
Five things decide whether a kids’ ski works. First, the right length, which depends on height, weight and ability, so a clear maker chart matters. Second, flex: children are light and need a ski they can actually bend. Third, the binding: whether one is included, what release range the maker states, and that a certified shop mounts and sets it. Fourth, the length range, because a model that spans many sizes is easier to keep buying as a child grows. Fifth, how much the maker publishes, since a spec sheet with blank fields leaves parents guessing.
The field splits three ways. Learner packages such as the Elan Maxx Red and K2 Indy are soft and rockered. All-mountain packages such as the Atomic Maverick J add a little more stability for kids who ski the whole mountain. Freeride skis such as the Blizzard Rustler Team are built for strong teens and sold flat. We picked the best all-mountain package, the clearest value package, one specialist ski and one popular package that gives parents too little to go on.
Atomic Maverick J 130-150 + C 5 GW
Buy itThe Atomic Maverick J is the pick for kids aged 8 to 12 who have moved past the beginner slopes. Atomic builds it around Bend-X, a flex zone underfoot designed so light skiers can bend the ski, on a Densolite foam core with Dura Cap construction and an All Mountain Rocker 10/90/0 profile. Atomic publishes every number per length: the 130 cm ski has a 10.5 m radius and 109/68/90 mm shape, rising to 13.5 m at 150 cm. The same ski comes in 70-90 cm (ages 3 to 5) and 100-120 cm packages, and with a C 5 GW or L 6 GW binding. The trade-offs are price, a package page that leaves out the binding’s release range, and a per-ski weight of 1780 g that Atomic repeats for every length while labelling it the 140 cm figure. Ask the shop to confirm the packaged binding’s release range before mounting. It is for progressing kids who ski the whole mountain.
Elan Maxx Red Jr Shift + EL 4.5 GW
Buy itThe Elan Maxx Red Jr Shift is the value pick and the easiest ski in the group to size. Elan lists nine lengths from 70 to 150 cm and a skier-height band for each one, so a 120 cm ski is for children 120 to 135 cm tall and a 140 cm ski for 140 to 155 cm. The EL 4.5 GW binding is listed with a 0.75 to 4.5 release range, and an EL 7.5 GW version is offered for bigger kids. Construction is U-Flex with a Synflex core, Full Power Cap and an Early Rise Rocker, with radius running from 2.5 m at 70 cm to 13.1 m at 150 cm. Elan does not list a ski weight, an age range or a skier weight range, so you size by height and let the shop set the binding by weight. Compared with the Atomic it is more of a learner’s ski and a strong kid may want more stability sooner. For a first or second pair at a lower price, it is the one to buy.
Blizzard Rustler Team
It dependsThe Blizzard Rustler Team is a junior version of a freeride ski, and it is built like one. Blizzard uses a full woodcore in a Fluxform Freeride fiberglass sandwich with full ABS sidewalls, a rockered tip and tail with camber underfoot, and a 118.5/90/108.5 mm shape at 148 cm. It comes in 132, 140, 148, 156 and 164 cm, with radius rising from 10 m to 14 m. That makes it a real tool for a strong teen in soft snow, but a poor fit for most children. It is sold without a binding: Blizzard suggests a Marker Royal Family binding with a 100 mm brake, which a shop must choose, mount and set for your child, adding to the cost. Blizzard lists 2460 g at 148 cm without saying per ski or per pair, and its ability scale runs from intermediate to expert. Buy it for a confident teen who skis off-piste or in a freeride program; skip it for anyone still learning.
K2 Indy Youth + FDT JR 4.5
Skip itThe K2 Indy Youth is not a bad ski, which is why so many end up in rental and family garages. K2 gives it a Catch Free Rocker, a gradual rise in tip and tail, full composite construction, and a Marker FDT JR binding in 4.5, 4.5 Large Plate or 7.0 versions, shipped unmounted with a clear note that an authorized retailer must mount, adjust and test it. The problem is how little the maker page helps a parent. The only size chart shown starts at a 100 lb (45 kg), 4 ft 6 in skier and recommends 124 cm or longer, which says nothing about the 76 to 112 cm sizes small kids need. K2 lists one shape (96-70-86) and one radius (3.0 m at 76 cm) for every length and leaves the core, profile and flex fields blank. Lengths stop at 136 cm and the ability rating is beginner to intermediate. The Elan does the same job with nine lengths and a height chart, usually for less. Pass unless a local shop has one cheap in the right size.
Sources
Specs in this review come from these pages.
Atomic Maverick J 130-150 + C 5 GW vs Elan Maxx Red Jr Shift + EL 4.5 GW: which should you buy?
The Atomic Maverick J and Elan Maxx Red overlap more than their prices suggest. Both are soft, rockered junior packages with a binding included, both come in sizes from toddler to pre-teen, and both need a certified shop to mount and set the binding. The Atomic adds a Bend-X flex zone underfoot, a replaceable steel tip protector and the most complete per-length spec sheet here, and Atomic positions it as an all-mountain ski for kids who are past the basics.
Choose the Elan if your child is in their first few seasons, if you want to size straight from a height chart, or if you are buying a new pair every year and want to keep the cost down. Choose the Atomic if your child is roughly 8 to 12, skis the whole mountain and wants a ski Atomic pitches at all-mountain skiing rather than first turns, and you are happy to pay more for it.
What to look for
- Size by the maker’s chart: Elan prints a height band per length and Atomic gives a tip-to-forehead rule; ignore charts that start at adult weights.
- A stated release range: Look for the binding’s range on the maker page, such as 0.75 to 4.5, so you know it can be set for your child’s weight.
- Shop mounting: Bindings must be mounted, adjusted and tested by a certified ski shop on your child’s own boots, and rechecked as they grow.
- Soft flex and rocker: Kids are light, so look for a soft junior construction and an early-rise or rockered tip that keeps turns easy.
- A wide length range: A model offered from 70 to 150 cm lets you move up a size every season without relearning a new ski.
- Boot compatibility: Check whether your child’s boots are GripWalk or standard alpine sole and tell the shop, since GW bindings name GripWalk support.
Our final take
For most families, the Atomic Maverick J is the kids’ ski to buy once a child is skiing the whole mountain: it is soft where it needs to be, Atomic publishes every number per length, and the same line runs from toddler to pre-teen. If your child is still learning, or you just want to spend less on a ski they will outgrow, the Elan Maxx Red is the smarter buy and the easiest to size. The Blizzard Rustler Team belongs only under strong teens who ski off-piste. The K2 Indy skis fine but gives parents too little to size it with. Whatever you choose, have a certified shop mount and set the binding.
Questions, answered
What length ski should my child get?
Use the maker's own chart first. Elan prints a height band for each Maxx Red length, such as a 110 cm ski for skiers 110 to 125 cm tall. Atomic's guidance for ages 6 to 12 is that the ski tip should reach the middle of the child's forehead, and that beginners usually do better on shorter skis. Going longer to buy growing room makes skis harder to turn, so for most kids buying for this season beats buying for next. A shop can fine-tune the choice by weight and ability.
Can I mount and adjust kids' ski bindings myself?
No. The binding's release value depends on the child's weight, height, age, boot sole length and ability, and it has to be set and tested on the child's own boots. K2 says plainly that all bindings must be mounted, adjusted and tested by an authorized retailer before use. Take the skis and the boots to a certified ski shop, and have the setting checked again whenever your child grows, changes boots or moves up in ability.
What does the 4.5 or 7.5 in a junior binding name mean?
It usually points to the top of the binding's release scale. Elan lists the EL 4.5 GW as 0.75 to 4.5, and Atomic lists its standalone Colt 5 GW C binding at 0.75 to 4.5 for skiers of 10 to 45 kg. Higher-numbered versions such as Elan's EL 7.5 or K2's FDT JR 7.0 are for heavier or stronger kids. The shop picks the actual setting, not you, but the range tells you whether a binding can be set correctly for your child at all.
Are twin-tip or freeride skis a good idea for kids?
For most children, no. A ski like the Blizzard Rustler Team has a full wood core, a 90 mm waist at 148 cm and starts at 132 cm, which is a lot to steer for a light skier. It makes sense for strong teens who spend their days off-piste or in a freeride program. Learners and intermediate kids progress faster on a softer, narrower all-mountain package.
Do kids' skis need GripWalk boots?
Not necessarily. GW in a binding name refers to GripWalk compatibility, and Atomic says its Colt 5 GW C works with both GripWalk boots and standard alpine-sole boots. Check the sole marking on your child's boots and tell the shop which you have. A certified technician confirms the boot and binding are compatible when they mount and test the binding.
Deciding between the top two? See our head-to-head: Atomic Maverick J 130-150 + C 5 GW vs Elan Maxx Red Jr Shift + EL 4.5 GW.





