Outdoors & Fitness
The Best Hammock Straps: 4 Compared (and One to Skip)
Three of these four put a weight capacity in their spec lists. The fourth publishes loop counts and lengths and leaves the number that decides whether you hit the ground out of its specs.
The short version
The ENO Atlas is the pick for most people: a stated 400 lb capacity in 1000D polyfilament webbing, 9 feet per strap with 15 attachment points, and a width that tapers from 1.5 inches down to 0.75 to spread load on the bark. The Kammok Python 10 UL is the one to take if you carry the straps rather than leave them in a car, because Kammok states 3 ounces and a 300 lb capacity, with a variable width design that widens at the tree end. The Wise Owl Talon XL suits a specific buyer: 10 feet per strap, 38 connection loops and triple stitching at each tension point, though Wise Owl's spec list gives no capacity. Skip the Grand Trunk Straps for most people: they state 400 lb and 12 ounces, but stay 1 inch wide at the tree and weigh more than the Atlas on paper. Best for: anyone who would rather read a capacity than assume one.
Our picks at a glance
- ENO Atlas Hammock Straps - Buy. A stated 400 lb capacity, tied for the highest here, on a daisy chain with 15 attachment points and a width that tapers toward the hammock end.
- Kammok Python 10 UL - Buy. Three ounces for a stated 300 lb capacity, using a woven construction that removes the stitching bulk from the loops.
- Wise Owl Outfitters Talon XL Hammock Tree Straps - It depends. The most adjustment points here and the widest tree contact, from a maker that documents the stitching carefully and keeps a capacity out of its spec list.
- Grand Trunk Straps - Skip. A competent pair of 10 foot polyfilament straps with a stated 400 lb capacity, but a uniform 1 inch width and a heavier stated weight than the ENO Atlas.
The verdict in 30 seconds
What mattered most
- Published weight capacity
- Published strap weight
- Stated length per strap
- Stated width
- Attachment points
- Material named
Hammock straps are the part of a hammock system nobody researches and everybody trusts. They hold your entire weight a couple of feet off the ground, usually with a shock load every time you get in, and the specification that covers that is a stated weight capacity. Three of the four put one in their specs. The fourth leads on the number of adjustment loops, which is a convenience feature, and leaves load out of its spec list. We compared four brands on what each is willing to put in writing.

A stated 400 lb capacity, tied for the highest here, on a daisy chain with 15 attachment points and a width that tapers toward the hammock end.
Best for: General hammock use where the straps travel by car and you want the highest published capacity.
- ENO states a capacity of 400 lbs, or 181 kg, level with Grand Trunk for the highest spec-sheet figure in this comparison.
- 1000D polyfilament webbing, a named material rather than a generic description.
- Stated dimensions of 9 feet by 1.5 inches tapering to 0.75 inches, so the wide end sits against the bark and the narrow end carries the carabiner.
- 15 attachment points per strap in a daisy chain, which is enough to fine-tune a hang without sliding anything.
- An XL version exists in the same line at 13 feet 6 inches, for trees that are further apart than you planned.
- A stated 9 ounces, heavier than the ultralight Kammok, which matters if the straps live in a pack.
- Polyfilament webbing holds water and takes a while to dry once it has been rained on.
- The 9 foot length is short for wide-spaced trees, which is why the XL exists.
- No stated breaking strength, only a working capacity.
Own the ENO Atlas Hammock Straps? Tell us how it held up.
Thanks. Counted, and shown once enough owners have weighed in.

Three ounces for a stated 300 lb capacity, using a woven construction that removes the stitching bulk from the loops.
Best for: Backpackers and bikepackers carrying the suspension rather than driving it to the trailhead.
- Kammok states 3 ounces and a capacity of 300 lb, so both halves of the weight question are answered.
- The Nanoweave construction eliminates extra stitching and bulk, which is where a conventional daisy chain adds both.
- Woven with SpiraLine, an ultra-high molecular weight polyethylene fibre that Kammok describes as 15 times stronger than steel.
- A variable width design that widens at the end of each strap, putting the broad section against the tree.
- Packs into its own 15D ripstop stuff sack with a Sil/PU and DWR finish.
- The only premium-tier straps here.
- 300 lb is below the ENO figure, which matters for heavier users or a two-person hammock.
- Thin webbing is less comfortable to handle and tension than a wide flat strap.
- The strength claim is expressed as a comparison to steel rather than as a breaking strength in pounds.
Own the Kammok Python 10 UL? Tell us how it held up.
Thanks. Counted, and shown once enough owners have weighed in.

The most adjustment points here and the widest tree contact, from a maker that documents the stitching carefully and keeps a capacity out of its spec list.
Best for: Car camping and backyard use where the extra length and adjustment matter more than a published load rating.
- 38 connection loops, 19 on each strap, which is more adjustment than anything else in this comparison.
- Stated dimensions of 10 feet by 1 inch per strap, longer than the standard ENO Atlas.
- Triple stitched at each connection and tension point, which Wise Owl calls out specifically.
- Extra-wide coverage that Wise Owl describes as very tree-friendly.
- No weight capacity in the spec list; the only figure is a 500 pound claim in a product image caption.
- No strap weight published either, so it cannot be compared against the 3 ounce figure from Kammok.
- Nylon ripstop is named as the material but no denier is given.
- More loops than most people will ever use, at the cost of more stitching to inspect.
Own the Wise Owl Outfitters Talon XL Hammock Tree Straps? Tell us how it held up.
Thanks. Counted, and shown once enough owners have weighed in.

A competent pair of 10 foot polyfilament straps with a stated 400 lb capacity, but a uniform 1 inch width and a heavier stated weight than the ENO Atlas.
Best for: An occasional backyard hang where the load is well inside anything a 1 inch webbing strap would worry about.
- 36 adjustment points, 18 on each side, which is ample for dialling in a hang.
- 10 feet per strap, giving 20 feet of total span to work with.
- Grand Trunk states 400 lbs, or 181 kg, and 12 ounces, in high tenacity polyfilament webbing with triple stitching.
- Grand Trunk suggests other anchor points such as a vehicle roof rack, which is a fair use case.
- 1 inch wide at the tree, narrower than the 1.5 inch section on the ENO Atlas at the same stated 400 lb.
- A stated 12 ounces, heavier than the 9 ounces ENO lists for the Atlas.
- No webbing denier given.
- Offers little the ENO Atlas does not, and two fewer adjustment points than the similar Wise Owl Talon XL.
Amazon had no buyable listing for this when we last checked. The link still works if it returns.
See our pick instead Find it on Amazon anyway Read our detailed assessmentOwn the Grand Trunk Straps? Tell us how it held up.
Thanks. Counted, and shown once enough owners have weighed in.
| Criteria | Atlas Hammock Straps Top pick Buy it Buy | Python 10 UL Buy it Buy | Talon XL Hammock Tree Straps It depends Buy | Trunk Straps Skip it |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Best for | General hammock use where the straps travel by car and you want the highest published capacity. | Backpackers and bikepackers carrying the suspension rather than driving it to the trailhead. | Car camping and backyard use where the extra length and adjustment matter more than a published load rating. | An occasional backyard hang where the load is well inside anything a 1 inch webbing strap would worry about. |
| Price tier | $$ · mid-range | $$$ · premium | $ · budget | $ · budget |
| Published weight capacity | 400 lb (181 kg) | 300 lb | Not in spec list (image caption says 500 lb) | 400 lb (181 kg) |
| Published strap weight | 9 oz; XL stated at 13 oz | 3 oz | Not published | 12 oz |
| Stated length per strap | 9 ft | 10 ft | 10 ft | 10 ft |
| Stated width | 1.5 in tapering to 0.75 in | Variable, widening at the tree end | 1 in | 1 in |
| Attachment points | 15 per strap | 20 per strap | 19 per strap, 38 total | 18 per side, 36 total |
| Material named | 1000D polyfilament webbing | SpiraLine UHMWPE fibre, Nanoweave construction | Nylon ripstop, no denier given | High tenacity polyfilament webbing |
| Tree protection approach | Width tapers so the wide end meets the bark | Variable width, widening at each end | Extra-wide coverage | Described as tree-friendly |
| Longer option in the same line | Atlas XL at 13 ft 6 in | Python 15 and Python Extenders | Not stated | Not stated |
Which one is right for you?
- General hammock use where the straps travel by car and you want the highest published capacity. Buy it ENO Atlas Hammock Straps
- Backpackers and bikepackers carrying the suspension rather than driving it to the trailhead. Buy it Kammok Python 10 UL
- Car camping and backyard use where the extra length and adjustment matter more than a published load rating. It depends Wise Owl Outfitters Talon XL Hammock Tree Straps
- An occasional backyard hang where the load is well inside anything a 1 inch webbing strap would worry about. Skip it Grand Trunk Straps
How we judged the field
Five things decide a hammock strap and only one of them is about convenience. The first is published weight capacity, because the straps are the part of the system that fails toward the ground and because the load in them is higher than your body weight once the hang angle is taken into account. The second is strap weight, which decides whether the suspension is something you carry or something that lives in a car boot. The third is length, since the most common disappointment in this category is arriving somewhere the trees are further apart than your straps reach. The fourth is width at the tree, which is both a bark question and a rules question at managed sites. The fifth is the number of attachment points, which is the feature the packaging leads on and the least important of the five.
Most of the field answers the first of those. ENO and Grand Trunk publish 400 lb and Kammok publishes 300 lb, each on the product page, alongside named materials: 1000D polyfilament webbing for ENO, high tenacity polyfilament for Grand Trunk, and a SpiraLine fibre in a Nanoweave construction for Kammok. Wise Owl publishes loop counts, lengths and widths in careful detail, keeps capacity out of its spec list, and publishes no strap weight. It is worth saying plainly that an unstated capacity is not evidence of a weak strap. It is evidence that you are being asked to take the most safety-relevant property on trust, in a category where three competitors decided not to ask that.
ENO Atlas Hammock Straps
Buy itThe Atlas is the strap we would put under most hammocks, and the case for it is a number. ENO states a capacity of 400 lbs or 181 kg, level with Grand Trunk for the highest spec-sheet figure in this comparison, in 1000D polyfilament webbing. The dimensions are stated too: 9 feet long, 1.5 inches wide tapering to 0.75, which is a deliberate piece of design rather than a manufacturing convenience. The wide section is the part that goes around the trunk, spreading the load on the bark, and the narrow end is the part your carabiner clips into, where width would only add bulk. Fifteen attachment points per strap is enough adjustment that you will never wish for more. The limits are practical. At a stated 9 ounces it is heavier than the ultralight Kammok, polyfilament holds water and dries slowly, and 9 feet runs out on wide-spaced trees, which is precisely why ENO sells the Atlas XL at 13 feet 6 inches. If the straps live in a car, none of that matters much.
Kammok Python 10 UL
Buy itThe Python 10 UL is the one to buy if you are carrying the suspension. Kammok states 3 ounces and a 300 lb capacity, which is the combination that makes it interesting: plenty of straps are light and plenty state a capacity, and rather fewer do both. The construction is the argument. Kammok’s Nanoweave approach removes the extra stitching and bulk that a conventional sewn daisy chain needs, and the webbing is woven with Spiraline, which the company describes as fifteen times stronger than steel. The variable width design widens at the end of each strap so the broad part meets the bark, the same reasoning as the ENO taper arrived at from the other direction. It packs into a coated stuff sack. The costs are price, which sits in the premium tier, and a capacity 100 lb below the Atlas, which is worth attention for heavier users or anyone hanging a two-person hammock.
Wise Owl Outfitters Talon XL Hammock Tree Straps
It dependsThe Talon XL is the most thoroughly described strap here on everything except the thing that matters most. Wise Owl states 10 feet by 1 inch per strap, 38 connection loops split 19 a side, triple stitching at each connection and tension point, and extra-wide coverage for the bark. That is more detail than most budget brands offer, and the triple stitching call-out is a direct response to where daisy chains actually wear. It is also a budget option and, at 10 feet, longer than the standard ENO Atlas, which solves the wide-tree problem the Atlas has. What it does not have is a capacity in its spec list, beyond a 500 pound claim in an image caption, or a published strap weight. For a backyard or car-camping hang, with an adult well inside any sensible margin, that is a gap you can live with knowingly. For anything closer to the limit, you are guessing, and the point of this review is that you do not have to guess with the other three.
Grand Trunk Straps
Skip itThe Trunk Straps are perfectly reasonable and we would still buy something else. Grand Trunk publishes 36 adjustment points across two 10 foot straps, 1 inch webbing, and compatibility with almost any hammock, plus the sensible observation that a vehicle roof rack works as an anchor. It also states 400 lb, 12 ounces and high tenacity polyfilament webbing with triple stitching. Set against the ENO Atlas, which states the same 400 lb, it is heavier on paper at 12 ounces against 9 and stays 1 inch wide at the tree where the Atlas widens to 1.5 inches. Set against the Wise Owl Talon XL, a similar shape, it gives you two fewer adjustment points. There is nothing wrong with these straps. There is simply no question to which they are the best answer.
Sources
Specs in this review come from these pages.
- ENO Atlas Hammock Straps product page with capacity and dimensions (eaglesnestoutfittersinc.com)
- ENO Helios Ultralight Hammock Straps product page, the lighter option in the same line (eaglesnestoutfittersinc.com)
- Kammok Python 10 UL product page with weight and capacity (kammok.com)
- Wise Owl Outfitters Talon XL Hammock Tree Straps product page (wiseowloutfitters.com)
- Grand Trunk Straps product page (grandtrunk.com)
ENO Atlas Hammock Straps vs Kammok Python 10 UL: which should you buy?
The Atlas and the Python 10 UL are the two to choose between, and the deciding question is whether you carry the straps. If they live in a car, the ENO is the straightforward pick: 400 lb published, 1000D polyfilament webbing, and a 1.5 inch section against the bark that is both kinder to the tree and more likely to satisfy a site that specifies a minimum strap width. Fifteen attachment points is all the adjustment anybody needs and the whole thing sits a price tier below the Kammok.
If the straps go in a pack, the Python 10 UL changes the maths. Three ounces against a conventional webbing pair is a real saving on a trip where you are also carrying the hammock, and Kammok states both the weight and the capacity. The trade is 300 lb against 400, a higher price, and thin webbing that is less pleasant to handle when you are tensioning it. Buy the ENO for capacity, durability and value. Buy the Kammok when the grams are the point and 300 lb is comfortably above your loaded weight.
What to look for
- Find the published capacity first: it is a safety-relevant figure and not every maker puts one in its specs; the spec-sheet figures here are 400 lb and 300 lb.
- Remember the hang angle multiplies the load: a flatter hang puts more tension in each strap than your body weight alone.
- Check the total length against real trees: 9 feet is standard and runs out often enough that makers sell longer versions and extenders.
- Look at width at the tree end: an inch is the common minimum at managed sites, and tapering or variable-width designs put the wide part on the bark.
- Treat loop count as a convenience feature: beyond about a dozen per strap the increments are smaller than you can feel.
- Inspect the stitching, not the webbing: daisy chains fail at the sewn loops, which is why triple stitching at tension points is worth calling out.
Our final take
This is a category where the marketing leads on the least important number. Loop counts are printed large and one maker here leaves capacity out of its specs, which is the wrong way round for a part that holds a person off the ground. ENO’s Atlas is the sensible default because it states 400 lb, names its webbing and shapes its width around the tree. Kammok’s Python 10 UL is the answer when you carry the straps, and it tells you both what it weighs and what it holds. The Grand Trunk states the Atlas’s 400 lb without its taper, and the Wise Owl is probably fine, and probably is doing a lot of work in that sentence.
Questions, answered
How much weight do hammock straps actually need to hold?
More than you weigh, because of how you get in. Sitting down into a hammock applies a shock load well above your static weight, and the angle of the suspension multiplies the tension in the straps: the flatter the hang, the higher the force at each end. A shallow hang can put more than your full body weight into each strap. That is why a published capacity matters, and why the 400 lb and 300 lb figures here are worth reading before you assume any strap is fine.
Why do some brands publish a capacity and others do not?
A capacity figure is voluntary on these product pages. ENO and Grand Trunk state 400 lb and Kammok states 300 lb. Wise Owl describes its straps in detail, giving lengths, widths and loop counts, and leaves a load rating out of the spec list; the only figure is a 500 pound claim in an image caption. That does not make the strap weak, and plenty of people use them without incident. It does mean you are being asked to judge a safety-relevant part on adjectives, which is a different proposition from judging it on a number.
What makes a strap tree-friendly?
Width, mostly. A narrow line cuts into bark and can girdle a tree over repeated use, which is why many parks require straps at least an inch wide and ban rope suspension. All four straps here are an inch or wider at the tree, and two go further: ENO tapers the Atlas from 1.5 inches at the tree end down to 0.75, and Kammok widens the Python at each end for the same reason. Wider contact spreads the pressure, and it is worth checking local rules, because some sites specify a minimum strap width.
How many adjustment loops do I need?
Fewer than the marketing suggests. Loop count decides how finely you can tune the hang, and beyond about a dozen per strap the increments are smaller than you can feel. ENO gives 15 per strap, Grand Trunk 18, Wise Owl 19 and Kammok 20. What matters more is total length, because the common failure is arriving at a site where the trees are further apart than your straps reach. That is why ENO sells a 13 foot 6 inch XL and Kammok sells extenders.
Do straps wear out, and how would I tell?
They do, mainly from ultraviolet light and abrasion rather than from load. Webbing left on a porch all summer degrades, and the fibres that hold a daisy chain together are the stitching at each loop. Inspect the stitching at the tension points before each season, look for fuzzing or broken threads at the loops you use most, and check the webbing where it passes over bark for cuts. Wise Owl calling out triple stitching at each connection point is a response to exactly this wear pattern.
Deciding between the top two? See our head-to-head: ENO Atlas Hammock Straps vs Kammok Python 10 UL.



