Beauty & Grooming

The Best Electric Nail Drills: 6 Compared (and One to Skip)

Six electric nail drills and e-files for home manicures, compared on published speed, torque, power source, handpiece weight and how much each maker tells you, plus the one listing that never states its RPM.

RBE top pick

Medicool TurboFile Pro

The Medicool TurboFile Pro earns the top spot by publishing what others leave out: 30,000 RPM, 2.0 Ncm of torque, forward and reverse, and handpiece weight, all in a mid-range desktop unit. The MelodySusie SC320F gives up the cord and the torque figure in exchange for a budget-tier rechargeable design with stepless speed.

Medicool TurboFile Pro - our top pick

The short version

The Medicool TurboFile Pro is our pick: a corded 30,000 RPM desktop unit with forward and reverse, a handpiece under 4 oz by one of Medicool's two figures, and a printed torque rating of 2.0 Ncm. The MelodySusie SC320F is the value pick, a rechargeable 30,000 RPM drill with stepless speed and a stated 4000mAh battery. The DND Portable Nail Drill and Kupa Manipro Passport Next suit committed users who want salon-style cordless power and will pay for it. The Beurer MP 64 suits natural nails, since it tops out at 4,400 rpm. Skip the PELCAS 10-Speed Nail File with LCD: its listing gives no RPM, rates it at 3W and calls it professional. Best for: home users doing regular gel or dip work, who should start with the TurboFile Pro.

Our picks at a glance

  1. Medicool TurboFile Pro - Buy. A corded 30,000 RPM desktop e-file with a published 2.0 Ncm torque rating and a light handpiece.
  2. MelodySusie SC320F Rechargeable Nail Drill - Buy. A budget-tier rechargeable 30,000 RPM drill with stepless speed, a 4000mAh battery and several kit options.
  3. DND Gel DND Portable Nail Drill - It depends. A brushless 35,000 RPM cordless unit from a gel brand, with a large screen and 10 hours of stated battery life.
  4. Kupa Manipro Passport Next Complete - It depends. A professional-minded cordless e-file with a 5 oz handpiece, charging dock, belt clip and one-year warranty.
  5. Beurer MP 64 Manicure/Pedicure Set - It depends. A slow, gentle all-in-one pen for natural nails and hard skin, with 10 attachments and a 3-year guarantee.
  6. PELCAS 10-Speed Nail File with LCD - Skip. A budget pen file sold as professional, with no RPM on its listing and a 3W rated working power.

The verdict in 30 seconds

What mattered most

  • Max speed
  • Published torque
  • Power
  • Stated battery life
  • Speed control
  • Forward and reverse
New to electric nail drills? Our plain-English Electric Nail Drills, Explained guide decodes every spec first.

An electric nail drill speeds up shaping, gel prep and cuticle work, but the spec sheets are hard to compare. Speed is printed everywhere, torque almost nowhere, and some listings leave out basics. We compared six across corded and cordless designs, from a low-speed natural nail set to salon-grade battery units, using each maker's own pages. The gap between what makers publish and what they imply turned out to matter as much as the numbers.

RBE top pick
Medicool TurboFile Pro
Medicool
Medicool TurboFile Pro
Buy it

A corded 30,000 RPM desktop e-file with a published 2.0 Ncm torque rating and a light handpiece.

Best for: Home users doing regular gel, dip or acrylic work at a fixed table who want the clearest published specs.

$$ · mid-range
Why we like it
  • Medicool prints the numbers buyers need: 30,000 RPM, 2.0 Ncm of torque, variable speed, and forward and reverse.
  • The handpiece weighs 3.8 oz on the product page and 4.0 oz on Medicool's comparison chart, either way among the lighter ones here.
  • It has a built-in handpiece cradle and digital RPM display, and it accepts all 3/32 bits.
Know before buying
  • It runs from the mains with no battery, so it stays on a table near an outlet.
  • Only one diamond bit and one mandrel bit are included, so sanding bands and any other bits are an extra purchase.
  • There is no foot pedal, so speed changes happen at the dial on the control unit.
  • Its two published handpiece weights do not match, a small but real inconsistency.
Check price on Amazon Read our detailed assessment
MelodySusie SC320F Rechargeable Nail Drill
MelodySusie
MelodySusie SC320F Rechargeable Nail Drill
Buy it

A budget-tier rechargeable 30,000 RPM drill with stepless speed, a 4000mAh battery and several kit options.

Best for: First-time drill owners who want cordless convenience and a ready-made kit at a budget tier.

$ · budget
Why we like it
  • MelodySusie's spec panel lists 30,000 RPM, stepless speed and a 4000mAh battery rated for 8 to 12 hours.
  • The control box runs without a wall outlet and the set comes in several kits, including a Beginner Kit and a Dust-Free Kit.
  • The maker's usage guide includes a step for changing rotation direction, and the display shows the current direction.
Know before buying
  • No torque figure appears in the product text or spec panel.
  • Handpiece weight and bit shank size are not stated in the product text we could read.
  • The handpiece stays cabled to the rechargeable box, so cordless here means no wall outlet, not no cable.
  • Low Heat, Low Noise and Super Light are spec panel labels with no measurements behind them.
Check price on Amazon Read our detailed assessment
DND Portable Nail Drill
DND Gel
DND Portable Nail Drill
It depends

A brushless 35,000 RPM cordless unit from a gel brand, with a large screen and 10 hours of stated battery life.

Best for: Experienced home users or part-time techs who want high speed and a brushless motor, and can live with a thin spec sheet.

$$$ · premium
Why we like it
  • DND states a true 35,000 RPM from a brushless motor, the fastest published figure here.
  • Auto overload protection, forward and reverse operation and a TFT digital display are all listed.
  • DND lists a built-in lithium-ion battery with 10 hours of life, plus an acetone-resistant control box.
Know before buying
  • Premium tier, a large step up for occasional home use.
  • Torque, handpiece weight, shank size, warranty and box contents are not published on the product page.
  • No bits are listed as included, so budget for them unless the seller confirms otherwise.
Find it on Amazon Read our detailed assessment
Kupa Manipro Passport Next Complete
Kupa
Kupa Manipro Passport Next Complete
It depends

A professional-minded cordless e-file with a 5 oz handpiece, charging dock, belt clip and one-year warranty.

Best for: Serious hobbyists and mobile techs who want a pro-style portable system and a clear warranty.

$$$ · premium
Why we like it
  • Kupa lists 10 to 12 hours of battery life and a quick charge of about 2 hours.
  • The Companion handpiece weighs 5 oz, runs at 30,000 RPM and uses standard 3/32 bits in a locking chuck.
  • The contents list is complete: control box, charging dock, belt clip, holster and manual, with a limited one-year warranty.
Know before buying
  • It sits at the top of this field on price and is built with the professional nail technician in mind.
  • No bits appear in the contents list, so they are an added cost.
  • Kupa says High Torque but gives no number to compare.
Find it on Amazon Read our detailed assessment
Beurer MP 64 Manicure/Pedicure Set
Beurer MP 64 Manicure/Pedicure Set
It depends

A slow, gentle all-in-one pen for natural nails and hard skin, with 10 attachments and a 3-year guarantee.

Best for: Natural-nail users who want gentle shaping and buffing, not gel removal.

$$ · mid-range
Why we like it
  • Three speeds of 3,200, 3,800 and 4,400 rpm (plus or minus 15 percent) keep it far from salon-drill territory.
  • Ten sapphire and felt attachments, a nail dust cap, an LED light and rotation in both directions are included.
  • Beurer gives a 3-year guarantee, the longest published here, plus a 20-minute automatic switch-off.
Know before buying
  • At 4,400 rpm it sits far below every 30,000 RPM drill here, so do not expect it to do the work of one on gel or acrylic.
  • Battery runtime is 2 hours and charging takes 3 hours.
  • Speed moves in three fixed steps, not continuously.
  • We confirmed these specs on Beurer's global page, so check the listing for your country before buying.
Find it on Amazon Read our detailed assessment
We'd skip it
PELCAS 10-Speed Nail File with LCD
PELCAS
PELCAS 10-Speed Nail File with LCD
Skip it

A budget pen file sold as professional, with no RPM on its listing and a 3W rated working power.

Best for: Nobody who wants to compare specs; the MelodySusie SC320F sits in the same tier and publishes its speed.

$ · budget
Why we like it
  • The kit is generous on paper, with 10 bits, 60 sanding bands, a clear dust shield and a cleaning brush.
  • It charges over USB-C, with a 2000mAh battery rated for 5 hours of work after a 3 hour charge.
  • It has an LED light and forward and reverse rotation, and PELCAS offers 12-month replacement support.
Know before buying
  • The listing gives ten speed levels but no RPM for any of them, so its speed cannot be compared with anything else here.
  • PELCAS lists rated working power of 3W while calling it a professional file for acrylic nails and thick toenails.
  • The spec list reads Weight: 270 lbs while the description says 0.27 lbs, a basic error on the maker's own page.
  • The same tool is pictured on acrylic nails, thick toenails, dead skin and dog nails, a broad pitch with no torque or RPM figure to support it.
See our pick instead See it at Amazon anyway Read our detailed assessment
Criteria Medicool TurboFile Pro Top pick Buy it Buy MelodySusie SC320F Rechargeable Nail Drill Buy it Buy DND Portable Nail Drill It depends Buy Kupa Manipro Passport Next Complete It depends Buy Beurer MP 64 Manicure/Pedicure Set It depends Buy PELCAS 10-Speed Nail File with LCD Skip it Buy
Best forHome users doing regular gel, dip or acrylic work at a fixed table who want the clearest published specs.First-time drill owners who want cordless convenience and a ready-made kit at a budget tier.Experienced home users or part-time techs who want high speed and a brushless motor, and can live with a thin spec sheet.Serious hobbyists and mobile techs who want a pro-style portable system and a clear warranty.Natural-nail users who want gentle shaping and buffing, not gel removal.Nobody who wants to compare specs; the MelodySusie SC320F sits in the same tier and publishes its speed.
Price tier$$ · mid-range$ · budget$$$ · premium$$$ · premium$$ · mid-range$ · budget
Max speed30,000 RPM30,000 RPM35,000 RPM30,000 RPM4,400 rpmNot published
Published torque2.0 NcmNot publishedNot published"High Torque", no figureNot publishedNot published
PowerMains, 100-240VRechargeable, 4000mAhRechargeable lithium-ionRechargeable, charging dockRechargeable lithium-ionRechargeable, 2000mAh
Stated battery lifeNo battery8-12 hours10 hours10-12 hours2 hours5 hours
Speed controlVariableSteplessDialVariable3 fixed speeds10 levels
Forward and reverseYesYesYesYesYesYes
Handpiece weight3.8 oz or 4.0 oz, per MedicoolNot publishedNot published5 oz325 g listed weight0.27 lb pen, per description
Warranty1 yearNot on product pageNot published1 year limited3 years12-month replacement

Which one is right for you?

How we judged the field

Five things decide whether a nail drill suits home use. Speed range comes first, because a drill should work well low down the dial, not just reach a big number. Torque comes next, since it shows how well the bit keeps turning under pressure. Power source decides where you can work. Handpiece weight affects fatigue and control over ten fingers. Disclosure is the fifth: a maker that publishes torque, shank size and warranty lets you judge before buying. This review compares published specs and maker claims; it does not report hands-on testing.

The field splits into four groups. Corded desktop units stay at a table. Rechargeable box drills cut the wall tie but keep a cabled handpiece. Salon-style portables add cost for pro hardware. Pen tools are slower and simpler. We chose one strong option from each group and a budget pen as the skip. Kiara Sky’s portable drill was left out because its listing says for professional use only, and we excluded the COSLUS CX42 because its product text listed no specs to verify. For hand tools, our nail clipper review covers trimming, and our gel manicure kit review covers full gel systems.

Medicool TurboFile Pro

Buy it

The Medicool TurboFile Pro wins because it tells you what it is. Medicool states 30,000 RPM, variable speed control, forward and reverse, and 2.0 Ncm of torque, and it is the one maker here to print a torque figure. The handpiece is listed at 3.8 oz on the product page and 4.0 oz on Medicool’s own comparison chart, a small mismatch, but both make it light for a corded unit. All 3/32 bits fit, which keeps replacement bits simple, and the unit takes 100 to 240 volts. The comparison chart also shows a built-in cradle and digital RPM display, with no foot pedal and no battery. The trade-offs are the outlet and the starter kit, since you get just one diamond bit and one mandrel bit, so sanding bands are a separate buy. Medicool’s gallery shows a one-year warranty badge. For anyone doing their own gel, dip or acrylic at a set table, it is the best-documented choice here and the one we would start with.

MelodySusie SC320F Rechargeable Nail Drill

Buy it

The MelodySusie SC320F is the value pick because it covers the main home needs at a budget tier. Its spec panel lists 30,000 RPM, stepless speed, a 4000mAh rechargeable battery and 8 to 12 hours of use, and the maker’s usage guide includes a step for changing rotation direction. MelodySusie also sells it in several kits, including a Beginner Kit with ceramic bits, a Dust-Free Kit and a Full Set, so you can buy what you need at once. The gaps are mostly about disclosure. We found no torque figure, handpiece weight or shank size in the product text or spec panel, and labels like Low Noise and Super Light come without measurements. Cordless also needs a plain reading here: the handpiece stays cabled to the box, which you can clip on or set down. It frees you from the wall, not from the cable. For a first drill, especially one that moves between rooms, it is the easiest place to begin.

DND Gel DND Portable Nail Drill

It depends

The DND Portable Nail Drill comes from a gel brand and aims higher than most home tools. DND states a true 35,000 RPM, a brushless motor and bearings for quiet running and reliability, auto overload protection, forward and reverse, a large TFT display and an acetone-resistant control box. Battery life is listed at 10 hours from a built-in lithium-ion battery, and it works on 100 to 240 volts. On paper that is the fastest drill in this group and the most feature-rich at the box. The issue is what the page leaves out. Torque, handpiece weight, shank size, warranty and box contents are all absent, which is a lot to leave unsaid at a premium tier. Speed alone is a weak reason to spend this much at home, since most careful work happens well below the top of the dial. It suits an experienced user who already knows what a brushless drill offers and who can confirm the missing details with the seller first.

Kupa Manipro Passport Next Complete

It depends

The Kupa Manipro Passport Next Complete takes the opposite approach to DND on paperwork. Kupa lists the full contents: Companion handpiece, Next portable control box, charging system and dock, stainless belt clip, handpiece holster and manual. The Companion weighs 5 oz, runs at 30,000 RPM and takes standard 3/32 bits in a locking chuck. Kupa also gives 10 to 12 hours of battery life, about 2 hours to charge, variable speed, a forward and reverse button, automatic 110/220 volt switching and a limited one-year parts and labor warranty. Its control box and dock are described as acetone resistant. The catch is fit. Kupa says it was manufactured with the professional nail technician in mind, the price sits at the top of this field, no bits appear in the contents list, and High Torque comes with no figure. Most home users will never need all this. For a serious hobbyist or a mobile tech who values a documented system and a stated warranty, the extra cost has a clear purpose.

Beurer MP 64 Manicure/Pedicure Set

It depends

The Beurer MP 64 is a different kind of tool, and judging it against 30,000 RPM drills misses the point. It is a cordless pen with three speeds of 3,200, 3,800 and 4,400 rpm, each plus or minus 15 percent, and it rotates in both directions. Beurer includes ten attachments in sapphire and felt, a nail dust cap and an LED light, and lists use on hands, feet, nails and hard skin. It charges by USB-C in 3 hours, runs for 2 hours and switches off automatically after 20 minutes. The 3-year guarantee is the longest published here, and the whole unit weighs 325 g by Beurer’s figure. The limits follow from that speed. It is not built like a salon e-file, and buyers planning gel or acrylic work should look higher up this list. The speeds also move in steps. Check your country’s listing too, since we confirmed these specs on Beurer’s global page. For natural nails and light upkeep, it is a tidy, well-guaranteed option.

PELCAS 10-Speed Nail File with LCD

Skip it

The PELCAS 10-Speed Nail File with LCD looks like a bargain, and its kit is generous: 10 bits, 60 sanding bands, a clear dust shield, a brush and USB-C charging. It offers forward and reverse, an LED light, a 2000mAh battery rated for 5 hours, and 12-month replacement support. The problem is what the listing asks you to believe. It offers ten speed levels and never says how fast any of them is, so you cannot compare it with a single other drill here. It lists rated working power of 3W, yet the gallery calls it a professional nail file. The maker’s spec list reads Weight: 270 lbs while the description says 0.27 lbs, and that is a basic error for a product page to carry. The gallery then pitches one tool at acrylic nails, thick toenails, dead skin and dog nails. A broad pitch with no RPM or torque behind it is a poor basis for a purchase. The MelodySusie SC320F sits in the same tier and states its speed, so buy that instead.

Sources

Specs in this review come from these pages.

Medicool TurboFile Pro vs MelodySusie SC320F Rechargeable Nail Drill: which should you buy?

The TurboFile Pro and SC320F share a 30,000 RPM ceiling and forward and reverse, so the choice comes down to where and how you work. The TurboFile Pro is the better-documented tool, with a printed 2.0 Ncm torque rating, a stated handpiece weight, 3/32 bit compatibility and a built-in cradle. It needs an outlet and a table, and it comes with just two bits, so you will add sanding bands and likely a few more bits.

The SC320F costs less and moves with you, and its kits arrive ready to use. You give up a published torque rating and the clear bit and handpiece details. Choose the TurboFile Pro if you work at the same table and do gel, dip or acrylic often enough to care about performance under pressure. Choose the SC320F if this is your first drill, if your setup moves around, or if you want the bits and bands in one box.

Who should buy which

  • Regular home gel or dip user: the Medicool TurboFile Pro. It pairs a published 2.0 Ncm torque rating with a light handpiece and 3/32 bit compatibility at a fixed table.
  • First-time drill owner: the MelodySusie SC320F Rechargeable Nail Drill. It comes in beginner-friendly kits with stepless speed and a rechargeable box at a budget tier.
  • Experienced user who wants top speed: the DND Gel DND Portable Nail Drill. It lists a true 35,000 RPM and a brushless motor, provided you confirm the unpublished details first.
  • Mobile tech or serious hobbyist: the Kupa Manipro Passport Next Complete. It has a full contents list, a charging dock, a belt clip and a limited one-year warranty.
  • Natural nails only: the Beurer MP 64 Manicure/Pedicure Set. Its three speeds top out at 4,400 rpm, with ten attachments and a 3-year guarantee.

What to look for

  • Published torque: A figure in Ncm tells you more about working power than a big RPM number, so favor makers that print one.
  • Fine speed control: Stepless or variable adjustment helps you stay low and precise, which matters more than the top speed.
  • A stated shank size: A 3/32 shank opens up a wide range of bits, and a page that names it saves guesswork.
  • Handpiece weight: You hold this part for all ten nails, so a light, published figure is a real comfort signal.
  • What cordless really means: Many rechargeable drills keep a cable between box and handpiece, so read the design before you buy.
  • Warranty on the page: A stated term such as Kupa’s one year or Beurer’s three years is easier to rely on than a footer link.

Our final take

Buy the Medicool TurboFile Pro if you work at a table and want the clearest specs, including the torque rating most rivals leave out. Buy the MelodySusie SC320F if you want a budget-tier rechargeable drill and a kit that gets you started. The DND Portable and Kupa Passport Next make sense only for committed users, and Kupa is the better documented of the two. The Beurer MP 64 suits natural nails and light upkeep. Skip the PELCAS 10-Speed Nail File with LCD, since a drill listing with no RPM, 3W of rated power and a 270 lb typo gives you too little to trust.

Questions, answered

What RPM do I need for a home manicure?

It depends on the job, and a higher maximum does not mean you should use it. The Beurer MP 64 stops at 4,400 rpm and is meant for nails and hard skin, while the drills aimed at gel and acrylic here reach 30,000 to 35,000 RPM. A high ceiling gives you room, but most control comes from working lower down the dial. Choose a drill with fine speed adjustment and start at the slow end, as each maker's instructions direct. The drill in the Beetles kit from our gel manicure kit review tops out at 12,000 RPM, which gives you another reference point.

Is torque more important than RPM?

Torque describes how well a drill holds its speed when the bit meets resistance, so it is the better sign of working power. RPM alone tells you how fast the bit spins with nothing slowing it down. The trouble is that few makers publish it. In this group, Medicool prints 2.0 Ncm for the TurboFile Pro, Kupa says only High Torque, and the rest give no figure on the pages we read. A published number is worth favoring because you can compare it.

Should I buy a corded or cordless nail drill?

Choose by where you work. A corded desktop unit such as the TurboFile Pro has no battery to charge or wear out, but it stays near an outlet. Rechargeable units such as the SC320F, DND Portable and Kupa Passport Next free you from the wall, though the handpiece usually still runs on a cable to a box. Pen-style tools such as the Beurer MP 64 have no separate box at all. If you do your nails at one table, corded is simple and dependable.

What does forward and reverse actually do?

It changes which way the bit spins. That lets you work both sides of a nail without changing your grip, and it lets left-handed users match the direction that suits them. All six products here offer it, so it is a standard feature in this field and not a reason to pay more. Check that the control is easy to reach, since you may switch it often.

Can I use any bit in any nail drill?

Not automatically, so check shank size first. Medicool says all 3/32 bits fit the TurboFile Pro, and Kupa says the Companion handpiece takes standard 3/32 bits in a locking chuck. DND and MelodySusie do not state a shank size in the product text we read, so confirm it before you buy extras. Beurer sells a replacement attachment set for the MP 64. Buying a matched set from the maker is the safest route when the size is not stated.

Want the background first? Read Electric Nail Drills, Explained - every spec in plain English Read the guide

Deciding between the top two? See our head-to-head: Medicool TurboFile Pro vs MelodySusie SC320F Rechargeable Nail Drill.