Pets
The Best Dog Winter Coats: 4 Compared (and One to Skip)
We compared four insulated dog coats on what their makers publish: waterproof rating, insulation, closure, harness access, leg coverage and how each one is sized.
The short version
The Ruffwear Powder Hound Waterproof Insulated Jacket is the best overall: a 10,000 mm waterproof shell with taped seams, 250 g of recycled insulation in the back and belly panels, stretch sleeves and leash portals for wearing it over a harness. The Kurgo Loft Dog Jacket is the value pick, a reversible, water-resistant everyday jacket with a 2-way zipper for reaching the harness or collar and a lifetime guarantee against manufacturing defects. The Hurtta Expedition Parka II suits owners of short-haired, lean or long-bodied dogs who walk in real cold, since Hurtta states a 30 F to -15 F range and sells the coat in many back-length sizes, but it takes careful measuring and its belly flap covers less than a full jacket. Skip the Canada Pooch Eco+ True North Parka: it is sold as the brand's warmest parka, yet the page lists only a water-resistant shell, a velcro closure, no harness opening and no fill weight or temperature rating. Best for: Powder Hound for wet snow and active dogs, Loft for mild winters on a budget.
Our picks at a glance
- Ruffwear Powder Hound Waterproof Insulated Jacket - Buy. A sleeved, fully waterproof insulated jacket with the most complete spec sheet in the group.
- Kurgo Loft Dog Jacket - Buy. A cheap, reversible, water-resistant everyday jacket that works with a harness underneath.
- Hurtta Expedition Parka II - It depends. A heavily adjustable parka with a stated temperature range, sized by back length.
- Canada Pooch Eco+ True North Parka - Skip. Marketed as the brand's warmest parka, but the page backs that up with almost no specs.
The verdict in 30 seconds
What mattered most
- Weather protection
- Insulation stated
- Temperature range
- Closure
- Harness access
- Leg coverage
A dog winter coat has two jobs: keep the core warm and keep the insulation dry, because wet fill stops working. Most listings say warm and water-resistant and stop there, so the useful split is between makers that publish a water column, a fill weight or a temperature range and makers that do not. We picked a fully waterproof sleeved jacket, a cheap reversible everyday jacket, an adjustable parka with a stated temperature range, and a popular fashion parka that leaves the key numbers off its page.

A sleeved, fully waterproof insulated jacket with the most complete spec sheet in the group.
Best for: Active dogs that walk in wet snow, sleet or wind and need to wear the coat over a harness.
- The shell is 70 denier nylon ripstop rated at 10,000 mm with taped seams and a PFAS-free PU finish.
- Ruffwear lists 250 g of 100% recycled polyester insulation in the back and belly panels, where core heat is lost.
- Chest and back leash portals let it go on over most harnesses, and a light loop takes the Beacon safety light.
- It sits in the premium tier, the most expensive coat here at most sizes.
- The articulated StormSleeves mean more work getting legs in than a step-over coat.
- Sizing runs on chest girth only, from XXS to XL, so very small or very large dogs may fall outside the chart.
- Ruffwear does not publish a temperature rating.

A cheap, reversible, water-resistant everyday jacket that works with a harness underneath.
Best for: Dogs that need a light insulating layer for cool, mostly dry walks on a tight budget.
- Every colour is reversible, so one jacket gives two looks.
- A 2-way zipper gives access to the harness or collar without taking the jacket off.
- It is machine washable on gentle, and Kurgo backs it with a lifetime guarantee against manufacturing defects.
- It is water-resistant, not waterproof, and Kurgo gives no rating.
- Kurgo names the fill (polytech) but not its weight, so warmth is hard to compare.
- There are no sleeves or leg loops listed, and the chart notes that back coverage varies.
- The size run stops at XL, which tops out at a 45 in chest.

A heavily adjustable parka with a stated temperature range, sized by back length.
Best for: Short-haired, lean or long-bodied dogs walking in hard cold, with an owner willing to measure carefully.
- Hurtta states a use range of 0 C to -25 C (30 F to -15 F); none of the other three coats publish one.
- The Houndtex TPU shell has a water column of at least 10,000 mm, and the page lists 140 g wadding (120 g in sizes 23 to 27) plus a 135 g knit lining.
- It adjusts at the neckline, collar and back length, with leg loops and a snap-closed harness opening on sizes 28 to 80.
- Size is set by back length, so a wrong measurement means a poor fit, and Hurtta advises sizing up when in between.
- It uses a belly flap and belt, not a full zip body with sleeves, so the chest and legs are less covered than in the Powder Hound.
- The page is inconsistent in places: one section says critical seams are taped and another says all seams are.
- Smaller sizes 23 to 25 get a leash loop instead of the harness opening.

Marketed as the brand's warmest parka, but the page backs that up with almost no specs.
Best for: Nobody who needs verifiable weather protection; the other three publish more for similar or less money.
- The shell, fill and lining are recycled polyester, with graphene blended into the fill.
- A fleece lining and heavyweight insulation are listed.
- The range runs from size 8 to 28, and it is machine washable cold on gentle.
- The shell is described only as water-resistant, with no rating, so wet snow can reach the fill.
- No fill weight or temperature range is given to support the warmest claim.
- It closes with dual velcro, and the page lists no harness opening or leash portal.
- Sleeves come only on sizes 8 to 16, so larger dogs get no leg coverage.
| Criteria | Ruffwear Powder Hound Waterproof Insulated Jacket Top pick | Kurgo Loft Dog Jacket | Hurtta Expedition Parka II | Canada Pooch Eco+ True North Parka |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Verdict | Buy it | Buy it | It depends | Skip it |
| Best for | Active dogs that walk in wet snow, sleet or wind and need to wear the coat over a harness. | Dogs that need a light insulating layer for cool, mostly dry walks on a tight budget. | Short-haired, lean or long-bodied dogs walking in hard cold, with an owner willing to measure carefully. | Nobody who needs verifiable weather protection; the other three publish more for similar or less money. |
| Price tier | $$$ · premium | $ · budget | $$ · mid-range | $$ · mid-range |
| Weather protection | Waterproof, 10,000 mm, taped seams | Water-resistant, no rating | At least 10,000 mm, seams taped | Water-resistant, no rating |
| Insulation stated | 250 g recycled polyester, back and belly | Polytech fill, weight not stated | 140 g wadding (120 g small sizes) plus 135 g lining | Recycled polyester and graphene, weight not stated |
| Temperature range | Not stated | Not stated | 30 F to -15 F (0 C to -25 C) | Not stated |
| Closure | Full-length YKK Vislon zipper | Hook and loop side adjusters | Belly flap with buckle belt | Dual velcro |
| Harness access | Chest and back leash portals | 2-way zipper to harness or collar | Snap-closed opening, sizes 28 to 80 | None listed |
| Leg coverage | Stretch StormSleeves | None listed | Back leg loops | Sleeves on sizes 8 to 16 only |
| Sized by | Chest girth, XXS to XL | Neck and chest, XS to XL | Back length, sizes 23 to 80 | Chest girth and back length, sizes 8 to 28 |
| Visibility | Reflective accents, light loop | Reflective accents | Reflective trim both sides | None listed |
Which one is right for you?
- Active dogs that walk in wet snow, sleet or wind and need to wear the coat over a harness. Buy it Ruffwear Powder Hound Waterproof Insulated Jacket
- Dogs that need a light insulating layer for cool, mostly dry walks on a tight budget. Buy it Kurgo Loft Dog Jacket
- Short-haired, lean or long-bodied dogs walking in hard cold, with an owner willing to measure carefully. It depends Hurtta Expedition Parka II
- Nobody who needs verifiable weather protection; the other three publish more for similar or less money. Skip it Canada Pooch Eco+ True North Parka
How we judged the field
Five things decide whether a dog coat earns its place. Weather protection comes first, because insulation that gets wet stops insulating, so we looked for a published water column and taped seams. Second is stated insulation: a fill weight or a temperature range tells you more than the word warm. Third is coverage, meaning sleeves, belly panels and leg loops that keep the coat from riding up. Fourth is harness access, since most dogs walk on a harness and a coat without a leash opening forces you to choose. Fifth is sizing, because each maker measures differently and a coat that gapes at the chest loses heat fast.
The field splits into technical outdoor makers that publish ratings and fashion brands that rely on adjectives. We picked Ruffwear and Hurtta from the first group because both publish a 10,000 mm water column, Kurgo as a cheap everyday option with useful harness access, and Canada Pooch as the popular parka whose page leaves out the numbers that matter. For wet but mild weather, our dog raincoat comparison covers lighter shells, and our dog boot comparison handles paws.
The Ruffwear Powder Hound Waterproof Insulated Jacket is the most complete package here. Its shell is 70 denier nylon ripstop rated at 10,000 mm, with a PFAS-free PU finish and taped seams, and Ruffwear lists 250 g of fully recycled polyester insulation in the back and belly panels, which is where a dog loses most of its core heat. The jacket closes with a full-length YKK Vislon zipper, and the stretch StormSleeves cover the front legs so the coat stays put and seals in warmth while the dog runs. Chest and back leash portals let it go on over most harnesses, and a light loop takes Ruffwear’s Beacon light for dark evenings. The trade-offs are price, a fiddlier fit around the legs than a step-over coat, and no stated temperature rating. Sizing is by chest girth from XXS to XL, and Ruffwear says to size up when in between. It is for owners whose winter means wet snow and long walks, and who want one coat that handles both.
The Kurgo Loft Dog Jacket is the value pick because it covers the basics for a fraction of the price. It is built from Microtomic ripstop with a polytech fill, and every colour is reversible, so you get two looks from one jacket. The detail that sets it apart from cheap puffers is a 2-way zipper that opens to reach the harness or collar, which makes it easy to clip on without lifting the coat. Two hook and loop side adjusters tighten the fit, reflective accents help at dusk, and it machine washes on gentle. Kurgo backs it with a lifetime guarantee against manufacturing defects and a 45-day return window. The limits are real: it is water-resistant, not waterproof, Kurgo gives no fill weight, and there are no sleeves or leg loops. Its chart sizes by neck and chest and notes that back coverage varies. It is for dogs that need a light layer on cool, mostly dry walks, and for owners who want to try a coat before spending more.
The Hurtta Expedition Parka II is the warmest-documented coat in the group, and the one that rewards careful sizing. Hurtta states a use range of 0 C to -25 C (30 F to -15 F) and lists 140 g wadding (120 g in sizes 23 to 27) over a 135 g knit lining, inside a Houndtex TPU shell with a water column of at least 10,000 mm. It adjusts at the neckline, collar and back length, uses a belt and belly flap to stay in place, and back leg loops stop the hem lifting in wind. Sizes 28 to 80 get a snap-closed harness opening, while sizes 23 to 25 get a leash loop. The catch is fit: the coat is sized by back length, some sizes also come in XS versions that Hurtta describes for dachshunds and other long-bodied dogs, and Hurtta says to size up when in between. It covers the chest and legs less fully than a sleeved jacket. It is for short-haired or lean dogs in hard cold, with an owner who will measure first.
The Canada Pooch Eco+ True North Parka is a popular, good-looking coat that the brand calls its warmest parka, but the product page gives you little to check that against. It lists a water-resistant shell, a fleece lining, heavyweight insulation and fill made from recycled polyester blended with graphene, and the whole coat is over 90% recycled material. What is missing is the useful part. There is no water rating, no fill weight and no temperature range, so the warmest label rests on adjectives. It closes with dual velcro, and the page lists no harness opening or leash portal, so a harness-walking dog needs a workaround. Sleeves come only on sizes 8 to 16, which leaves larger dogs without leg coverage. The brand’s own sizing chart puts chest girth ahead of back length and advises sizing up. Small dogs on short, dry city walks will be fine in it, but most buyers get more protection, and more verifiable claims, from the three coats above.
Ruffwear Powder Hound Waterproof Insulated Jacket vs Kurgo Loft Dog Jacket: which should you buy?
The Powder Hound and the Loft solve different winters. The Powder Hound is a waterproof, sleeved jacket with a stated 250 g of insulation and over-harness leash portals, built for wet snow, wind and long outings. The Loft is a light, reversible, water-resistant layer with a handy 2-way harness zipper, built for cool, mostly dry walks around the block. The Powder Hound sits in the premium tier and the Loft in the budget tier.
Choose by weather first, then by dog. If your winter brings slush, sleet or deep wet snow, or your dog is short-haired and out for an hour or more, the Powder Hound’s waterproof shell and sleeves are worth the price. If your cold is mostly dry and walks are short, or you are not sure your dog will tolerate a coat, start with the Loft and upgrade only if it falls short.
What to look for
- A published water rating: a water column such as 10,000 mm, plus taped seams, beats an unrated water-resistant claim when snow is wet.
- Stated insulation: a fill weight in grams or a temperature range tells you how warm the coat is; the word warmest does not.
- Harness access: look for leash portals, a zip opening or a snap-closed slot so the coat works over the harness your dog already wears.
- Coverage that stays put: sleeves, belly panels or leg loops keep the coat from riding up and keep heat at the core.
- The maker’s own size chart: each brand measures differently, by chest girth, neck and chest, or back length, so measure for the coat you are buying.
- Visibility: reflective trim or a light loop matters on short winter days, when many walks happen in the dark.
Our final take
For most dogs in real winter weather, the Ruffwear Powder Hound is the coat to buy: waterproof, insulated where it counts, sleeved, and easy to use over a harness. On a budget or in a drier climate, the Kurgo Loft gives a reversible, harness-friendly layer at a fraction of the cost. The Hurtta Expedition Parka II is the pick for thin-coated dogs in serious cold if you will take the time to measure back length properly. Pass on the Canada Pooch Eco+ True North Parka unless your walks are short and dry, because its page offers no water rating, no fill weight and no harness opening to back up its warmest claim.
Questions, answered
Does my dog actually need a winter coat?
It depends on the coat your dog already has. Hurtta's own page points to short-haired dogs, dogs without an undercoat, senior dogs and dogs cooling down after hard exercise as the ones that benefit most. Thick double-coated breeds often manage without one on ordinary walks. Watch for shivering, lifting paws or slowing down in the cold, and ask your vet if your dog is old, very small or has a health condition.
Is water-resistant good enough for a winter coat?
For dry cold, often yes. In wet snow, sleet or slush, a water-resistant shell can let moisture through to the insulation, and damp fill holds far less heat. Ruffwear and Hurtta both publish a 10,000 mm water column with taped seams, while Kurgo and Canada Pooch say water-resistant without a number. If your winters are wet more than cold, a waterproof shell matters more than extra fill.
How do I measure my dog for a coat?
Measure with the dog standing. Chest girth goes around the widest part of the rib cage, just behind the front legs, and back length runs from the base of the neck to the base of the tail. Each maker sizes differently: Ruffwear uses chest girth, Kurgo uses neck and chest, and Hurtta uses back length. Use the chart for the exact coat you are buying, and when between sizes, Ruffwear and Hurtta both suggest going up.
Can my dog wear a winter coat over a harness?
Only if the coat has a way to reach the leash ring. The Powder Hound has chest and back leash portals, the Loft has a 2-way zipper for harness or collar access, and the Expedition Parka II has a snap-closed opening on sizes 28 to 80. The Canada Pooch page lists no opening, so you may end up clipping to a collar under the coat. Put the harness on first and check that the coat does not pull it out of position.
How should I wash a dog winter coat?
Follow the label for your coat, because the makers differ. Ruffwear says cold water, gentle cycle, mild detergent and hang to dry. Hurtta allows a 40 C wash but says no tumble drying and no fabric softener. Kurgo and Canada Pooch both say gentle cycle and air dry. Let the coat dry fully before the next walk, since damp insulation will not keep your dog warm.
Deciding between the top two? See our head-to-head: Ruffwear Powder Hound Waterproof Insulated Jacket vs Kurgo Loft Dog Jacket.





