Pets

The Best Heated Pet Beds: 4 Compared (and One to Skip)

We compared heated beds for dogs and cats on safety listing, wattage, how the thermostat behaves, cord protection, and how easy each one is to clean.

RBE top pick

K&H Thermo-Snuggly Sleeper

The Thermo-Snuggly Sleeper does the boring things right: low wattage, a preset thermostat aimed at pet body temperature, MET listing on the finished product, and a cover and pillow that both wash. It just stops at 30 by 22 inches. The API Large Heated Pet Bed picks up where that ends, at 28 by 43 inches, 12 watts and cULus listed, with only 24 volts reaching the heater. It is the size answer, not the specification answer, because Miller never publishes a target temperature.

Thermo-Snuggly Sleeper Heated Pet Bed - our top pick

The short version

The K&H Thermo-Snuggly Sleeper is the pick for most indoor cats and dogs up to about 50 pounds: 6 watts, MET listed to UL 499, dual preset thermostats aimed at about 102°F, and a cover and pillow you can actually put in the washing machine. If your dog is bigger than that, the API Large Heated Pet Bed from Miller Manufacturing is the runner-up and the only other bed here whose maker publishes both a wattage and a safety listing on the same page: 12 watts, 24 volts to the heater, cULus listed, and 28 by 43 inches. It gives up a published target temperature to get there. The Furhaven ThermaNAP is the pick if you want no cord at all, and it suits crates, travel, and homes that are already warm, but it adds no heat of its own and Furhaven publishes no temperature figure. Skip the Farm Innovators Heated Pet Mat unless you are heating a doghouse or kennel: its own instruction sheet calls it an outdoor product and says not to use it on carpet or furniture, and it draws far more power than an indoor bed. Read the manufacturer's page for the exact model and size you are buying, because a brand listing one bed does not mean every bed in the line is listed. Best for: getting a genuinely warm, genuinely certified bed under an older or thin-coated pet without turning your living room into a fire-safety question.

Our picks at a glance

  1. K&H Pet Products Thermo-Snuggly Sleeper Heated Pet Bed - Buy. A 6 watt bolstered indoor bed with dual preset thermostats, MET listing, and a cover and pillow that both go in the wash.
  2. API (Miller Manufacturing) Large Heated Pet Bed (12PB-L) - Buy. A 28 by 43 inch cULus listed flat bed that runs the heater on 24 volts and fits the big dogs the bolstered beds leave out.
  3. Furhaven ThermaNAP Faux Fur Self-Warming Pet Bed Mat - It depends. A quarter-inch faux fur mat with no electrical parts that traps and returns your pet's own body heat.
  4. Farm Innovators Heated Pet Mat (HM-80M) - Skip. A rigid ABS plastic kennel mat that the manufacturer's own instructions tell you to keep off carpet and furniture.

The verdict in 30 seconds

What mattered most

  • Heat source
  • Safety listing
  • Target temperature
  • Cord
  • Indoor or outdoor
  • Cleaning
New to heated pet beds? Our plain-English Heated Pet Beds, Explained guide decodes every spec first.

A heated pet bed is one of the few pet products where the electrical paperwork matters more than the plush. Most of them are small resistive heaters that sit under a sleeping animal for months at a time, so the questions worth asking are who tested the finished product, what temperature it targets, and what happens when a dog decides the cord looks interesting. We looked at four different answers: a low-watt bolstered bed for cats and small dogs, a big low-voltage flat bed for the large dogs that bolstered beds do not fit, a no-power self-warming mat, and a hard-surface kennel mat that a lot of people buy for the wrong room. Wattage, sizes, and certification claims here come from each manufacturer's own product page or manual.

Thermo-Snuggly Sleeper Heated Pet Bed
K&H Pet Products
Thermo-Snuggly Sleeper Heated Pet Bed
Buy it

A 6 watt bolstered indoor bed with dual preset thermostats, MET listing, and a cover and pillow that both go in the wash.

Best for: An indoor cat or a dog up to roughly 50 pounds that wants walls to lean against and an owner who wants the whole thing washable.

$$ · mid-range
Why we like it
  • Draws only 6 watts in both the medium and large size, so it costs almost nothing to leave on.
  • MET listed to UL 499 as a finished product rather than just using listed parts.
  • Cover and inner pillow are both machine washable once you pull the heater out.
Know before buying
  • Indoor use only, so it is not an option for a garage, porch, or doghouse.
  • No on/off switch, so unplugging is the only way to turn it off.
  • K&H does not describe the cord as steel wrapped on this model the way it does on its outdoor beds.
  • Only two sizes, topping out at 30 by 22 inches, which rules out big dogs.
Large Heated Pet Bed (12PB-L)
API (Miller Manufacturing)
Large Heated Pet Bed (12PB-L)
Buy it

A 28 by 43 inch cULus listed flat bed that runs the heater on 24 volts and fits the big dogs the bolstered beds leave out.

Best for: A large or long dog, or an older one that wants to stretch right out, in a garage, basement, or cold room where a 30 by 22 inch bed is simply too small.

$$$ · premium
Why we like it
  • cULus listed with 12 watts, 24 volts and 60 Hz printed on Miller's own product page, which almost nothing else in this category does.
  • At 28 by 43 inches it is far larger than any complete K&H indoor bed, so it actually fits a retriever or a shepherd.
  • The heating pad sits between three separate foam layers, so you move it up for more warmth or down for gentle heat instead of turning a dial up.
  • Only 24 volts reaches the heater, which lowers the shock risk at the pet's end.
Know before buying
  • Miller publishes no target surface temperature, only 'thermostatically controlled', so there is no 102°F figure to check it against.
  • The listing is stated as cULus without saying whether it covers the bed, the transformer, or both, which is the standard question with any low-voltage design.
  • Cord length and cord protection are not in the specifications, although the product photo shows a coiled protector on the lead.
  • One size only, so a cat or a terrier is buying 28 by 43 inches whether it needs it or not.
  • The cover is described as washable faux suede with a fleece top, but Miller does not say machine washable.
ThermaNAP Faux Fur Self-Warming Pet Bed Mat
Furhaven
ThermaNAP Faux Fur Self-Warming Pet Bed Mat
It depends

A quarter-inch faux fur mat with no electrical parts that traps and returns your pet's own body heat.

Best for: A healthy pet in an already-heated home, a crate or carrier where a cord is a bad idea, or a determined cord chewer.

$ · budget
Why we like it
  • No cord, no plug, and nothing to certify, which removes the chew and outlet questions entirely.
  • Fully machine washable rather than wipe-clean, and thin enough to fold into a crate or a car.
  • Two sizes, 22 by 17 inches and 36 by 24 inches, cover most cats and mid-sized dogs.
Know before buying
  • It generates no heat of its own, so it can only slow the loss of what the pet already produces.
  • Furhaven publishes no surface temperature, so there is no number to compare against a heated bed.
  • At a quarter inch thick it offers essentially no cushioning for sore joints.
  • A pet that lies on it only briefly never gets the benefit, because the warmth builds up over time.
We'd skip it
Heated Pet Mat (HM-80M)
Farm Innovators
Heated Pet Mat (HM-80M)
Skip it

A rigid ABS plastic kennel mat that the manufacturer's own instructions tell you to keep off carpet and furniture.

Best for: A doghouse, barn, or kennel with a hard concrete floor, and nowhere else.

$$ · mid-range
Why we like it
  • Thermostatically controlled to a stated 100 to 105°F, with a red indicator light that confirms it is running.
  • Heavy anti-chew cord protector, which is more than most indoor beds offer.
  • Weather-resistant ABS shell survives a doghouse or kennel far better than a fabric bed.
Know before buying
  • The instruction sheet calls it an outdoor product and says in capitals not to use it on carpet or furniture.
  • It is a hard plastic slab, so comfort depends entirely on the thin fleece cover in the box.
  • Farm Innovators lists 70 watts for this medium size and 100 watts for the large, an order of magnitude more than a low-watt indoor bed.
  • You cannot add your own blanket or liner; the maker says other covers stop it working properly.
Criteria Thermo-Snuggly Sleeper Heated Pet Bed Large Heated Pet Bed (12PB-L) ThermaNAP Faux Fur Self-Warming Pet Bed Mat Heated Pet Mat (HM-80M)
Verdict Buy it Buy it It depends Skip it
Best forAn indoor cat or a dog up to roughly 50 pounds that wants walls to lean against and an owner who wants the whole thing washable.A large or long dog, or an older one that wants to stretch right out, in a garage, basement, or cold room where a 30 by 22 inch bed is simply too small.A healthy pet in an already-heated home, a crate or carrier where a cord is a bad idea, or a determined cord chewer.A doghouse, barn, or kennel with a hard concrete floor, and nowhere else.
Price tier$$ · mid-range$$$ · premium$ · budget$$ · mid-range
Heat source6 W electric heater, removable12 W electric heater, 24 V to the padNone, reflects body heatElectric mat, 70 W in this size
Safety listingMET listed to UL 499cULus listedNo electrical parts to listCSA mark on packaging art, not stated in specs
Target temperatureAbout 102°F once the pet lies downNot published, thermostat onlyNot published100 to 105°F per manufacturer
Cord5.5 ft, steel wrap not claimedLength and protection not statedNoneHeavy anti-chew cord protector
Indoor or outdoorIndoor onlyIndoor onlyIndoor, crate, travelOutdoor, hard flat surface only
CleaningCover and pillow machine washableWashable cover, method not statedFully machine washableDamp cloth only, do not immerse
Sizes26 x 20 in and 30 x 22 inOne size, 28 x 43 in22 x 17 in and 36 x 24 in13 x 19, 17 x 24 and 24 x 29 in
On/off controlNone, unplug to stopNot stated, unplug to stopNot applicableNone, unplug to stop

Which one is right for you?

How we judged the field

Five things decide whether a heated pet bed is worth owning. First, certification: has the finished product been tested by a lab that OSHA recognises as a Nationally Recognized Testing Laboratory, against a real standard such as UL 499 for electric heating appliances, or does the listing only cover a component like the power adapter? Second, target temperature: a bed built around a preset thermostat aimed at roughly 102°F, which is normal dog and cat body temperature, behaves very differently from a pad with a dial that tops out far higher and leaves it to the animal to move away. Third, wattage, which tells you how hard the thing is working and whether it is designed for a living room or a kennel. Fourth, the cord, because it is the single part a pet can destroy. Fifth, cleaning, since a bed that cannot go in a washing machine will not stay pleasant through a winter.

The first two of those, a named lab and a published wattage, knocked out most of the category before we got to comfort. A great many heated pads are sold by brands with no manufacturer website at all, and their certification language is usually about a part rather than the product: a widely sold budget pad advertises a ‘UL approved heating wire’, which says the wire was tested, not the pad. Others turned out not to be electric at all once we looked, and one name we chased, Lectro-Kennel, is a K&H brand rather than a competitor. Two makers cleared the bar with wattage and a listing on their own product page for the exact model: K&H, and Miller Manufacturing under its API brand. That is the finding, not an accident of shortlisting, and it is worth knowing before you buy from a name you have not heard of.

So the field here is two low-watt indoor beds from two different manufacturers, sized for opposite ends of the dog population, plus a cordless self-warming mat that is genuinely useful for some buyers and oversold to others, plus one outdoor kennel mat included as the mistake to avoid.

K&H Pet Products Thermo-Snuggly Sleeper Heated Pet Bed - buy

The Thermo-Snuggly Sleeper is what a heated bed should look like when nobody is trying to impress you with features. K&H rates both sizes at 6 watts, which is less than a night light, and the heat comes from an internal preset dual thermostat rather than a control you set. Unoccupied, the surface sits around 15°F above room temperature; once your pet lies down, the manufacturer targets about 102°F. It is MET listed to UL 499 as a complete product, and K&H’s stance is that these beds are built for 24/7 operation. The practical win is cleaning: the cover comes off and the inner pillow washes too once you remove the heater, which matters more than it sounds by February. The trade-offs are real. Indoor only, no on/off switch, no steel-wrapped cord claim on this model, and only two sizes topping out at 30 by 22 inches. If your dog is over about 50 pounds you need to look elsewhere. For a cat or a small-to-medium dog that likes leaning on a bolster, this is the default answer.

API (Miller Manufacturing) Large Heated Pet Bed (12PB-L) - buy

The API Large Heated Pet Bed is the answer to the one thing the Thermo-Snuggly Sleeper cannot do, which is fit a big dog. It is a flat 28 by 43 inch bed in washable faux suede with a fleece top, sold by Miller Manufacturing under its API brand, and Miller prints the numbers that matter on the product page: 12 watts, 24 volts, 60 Hz, cULus listed. The bed plugs into a normal 120 volt outlet but only 24 volts reaches the heater, which is a sensible design for something a dog sleeps on. The comfort trick is that the pad is not fixed in place: there are three separate foam layers, and you slide the heater into the top one for more warmth or the bottom one for gentle background heat. That is a better idea than a dial, because there is no setting to leave too high. What you give up is precision. Miller says ‘thermostatically controlled’ and stops, so unlike K&H there is no stated target you can hold it to, and ‘cULus listed’ is not broken out into what the mark covers, which is exactly the question worth asking about any low-voltage product where the mains electronics sit in a transformer. Cord length and cord protection are not in the specifications either, though the product photo clearly shows a coiled protector on the lead. And it comes in one size, so this is a bed you buy because you need the footprint. If you do, it is the only other bed here whose maker will tell you both what it draws and who tested it.

Furhaven ThermaNAP Faux Fur Self-Warming Pet Bed Mat - it depends

The ThermaNAP is the honest no-power option, and how well it works depends almost entirely on your house. Furhaven describes it as capturing body heat and radiating it back using an insulating polyester fiber batting core, with a faux fur sleeping surface, in two sizes: 22 by 17 inches and 36 by 24 inches. There is no cord, no plug, and nothing to certify, which quietly solves the two biggest problems with the rest of the category, chewing and outlet placement. It is fully machine washable rather than wipe-clean, and at a quarter inch thick it folds into a crate, a carrier, or a car footwell. What it cannot do is add energy. It slows the loss of heat your pet is already producing, so a thin-coated senior in a cold room will not get what a 6 watt heater would give it, and Furhaven publishes no surface temperature you could compare. The quarter-inch profile also means no meaningful cushioning. Buy it for crates, travel, chewers, and warm homes, not as a substitute for real heat.

Farm Innovators Heated Pet Mat (HM-80M) - skip

The Farm Innovators Heated Pet Mat is a competent product bought by the wrong people. It is high-impact ABS plastic, thermostatically controlled to a stated 100 to 105°F, with a red indicator light and a heavy anti-chew cord protector. It ships with a thin faux lambskin fleece cover. Farm Innovators lists 70 watts for this 17 by 24 inch medium and 100 watts for the 24 by 29 inch large. The problem is the gap between the product page, which says indoor or outdoor use on a hard flat surface, and the instruction sheet, which opens by calling it an outdoor product and warns in capitals not to use it on carpet or furniture. The company also says not to add your own blanket or liner, because anything other than the supplied fleece stops it working properly. So you get a rigid slab that cannot be softened, cannot be washed, and is not meant for the room most people want to put it in. If you are heating a doghouse, kennel, or barn floor, it is a sensible buy. For an indoor dog or cat, it is the wrong tool.

K&H Pet Products Thermo-Snuggly Sleeper Heated Pet Bed vs API (Miller Manufacturing) Large Heated Pet Bed (12PB-L): which should you buy?

The choice between the Thermo-Snuggly Sleeper and the API Large Heated Pet Bed is mostly a question about the size of your animal, and only secondarily about specs. Both are indoor, both are low wattage, and both carry a listing named on the maker’s own page for the exact model: MET to UL 499 on the K&H, cULus on the API. That shared floor is the reason both are ‘buy’.

Above that floor they diverge. K&H tells you more: 6 watts, a dual preset thermostat aimed at about 102°F, a 5.5 foot cord, a removable heater, and a cover and inner pillow that both go through a washing machine. It gives you a bolster to lean on, and it stops at 30 by 22 inches. Miller tells you less: 12 watts, 24 volts to the pad, cULus, and no temperature figure, no cord length, and no machine-wash claim. What it gives you instead is 28 by 43 inches of bed and the ability to move the heater between foam layers.

So buy the Sleeper if your pet is a cat or a dog under about 50 pounds. Buy the API bed if it is not, or if your dog sleeps stretched out rather than curled. If your dog fits both, take the Sleeper, because a published target temperature and a washable cover are worth more over a winter than surplus floor area.

What to look for

  • Listing on the finished product: look for a mark from a lab OSHA recognises as an NRTL, applied to the bed itself, not just to a component or the plug pack. ‘UL approved heating wire’ is a claim about the wire.
  • A stated target temperature: the good beds aim at roughly 102°F, normal dog and cat body temperature, rather than advertising how hot they can get.
  • Published wattage per size: a maker that prints watts for every size is telling you it engineered each one; vague ‘low wattage’ language tells you nothing.
  • Cord protection you can see: steel wrapping or a heavy anti-chew sleeve matters more than any other build detail if your pet has form.
  • Indoor versus outdoor rating: an outdoor mat is built for a concrete kennel floor and its instructions often forbid carpet and furniture, so match the product to the room.
  • A cleaning plan you will actually follow: a removable heater plus a machine-washable cover beats a bed you can only wipe or spot clean over a full winter of muddy paws.

Our final take

Heated pet beds are a small, well-solved problem that marketing keeps complicating. Two things separate a good buy from a bad one: a safety listing on the finished appliance, and a thermostat aimed at body temperature rather than at the highest number that would look impressive on a box. K&H’s Thermo-Snuggly Sleeper does both at 6 watts and washes properly, which is why it is our pick. For a dog too big for it, the API Large Heated Pet Bed is the one other bed we found whose maker publishes both a wattage and a listing for the exact model, and it is worth knowing how short that list is. If you want no cord at all, Furhaven’s ThermaNAP is a real option with real limits. Check the exact model and size on the maker’s own page before you buy, because a brand certifying one bed does not certify the catalogue, and a certified component is not a certified bed.

Questions, answered

Is it safe to leave a heated pet bed plugged in all the time?

K&H states its heated beds and pads are designed for 24/7 operation and can be left plugged in all day when installed per the instructions. That answer only applies to a product that has been certified as a finished appliance, which is the whole point of looking for a listing mark. K&H also passes on the advice to unplug the bed if you are away for an extended period, the same as any other appliance. Whatever you buy, inspect the cord at the start of each cold season and stop using it if the insulation is nicked or the plug is discoloured.

Why do these beds not feel warm when I touch them?

Most low-watt pet beds are not pressure sensitive, but they are designed to sit only about 10 to 15°F above room temperature when nobody is on them. The surface only climbs toward the roughly 102°F target once an animal lies down and its body insulates the heater. K&H's own test is to put a pillow on the bed for about 20 minutes and then feel underneath, where it should be warm rather than hot. A bed that feels hot to your bare hand in an empty room is behaving differently from that, and it is worth checking what temperature the maker actually claims.

Do I need a heated bed if my house is heated?

Often not. A young, healthy, well-coated pet in a room you keep comfortable is generally fine with a normal insulated bed, and a self-warming mat is a reasonable upgrade there. The case for a powered bed gets stronger with age, thin or short coats, small body size, illness or recovery, and rooms that get cold overnight. If you are considering one because your animal seems stiff or sore, talk to your vet first rather than treating warmth as the fix. Warmth can make a stiff animal more comfortable, but it does not diagnose anything.

What about dogs and cats that chew cords?

Take the risk seriously, because a chewed mains cord is a very different problem from a chewed toy. Outdoor-rated beds tend to have the best protection: K&H uses a steel-wrapped cord on the Lectro-Soft line, and Farm Innovators fits a heavy anti-chew protector. Indoor beds are often less well armoured, so route the cord behind furniture, along a wall, or through a length of rigid conduit. For a pet with a real chewing habit, a self-warming mat with no cord at all is the honest answer, or a bed placed where the plug run is completely inaccessible.

Are extension cords a problem with heated pet beds?

K&H says MET requires manufacturers to print a do-not-use-with-extension-cord statement on every MET listed item, because the lab cannot test every cord on the market in combination with the product. The practical reading is that an extension cord should be a temporary measure, not a permanent part of the setup. Plan the bed's location around a real outlet before you buy, and check the cord length: K&H publishes 5.5 feet on its indoor beds, while Miller does not publish a figure for the API bed at all. If the only spot your pet likes is far from an outlet, a self-warming mat sidesteps the problem entirely.

Want the background first? Read Heated Pet Beds, Explained - every spec in plain English Read the guide