Pets
The Best Cat Nail Caps: 4 Compared (and One to Skip)
We compared four vinyl claw covers on size range, what is actually in the box, how many front-paw applications a pack buys, and what the makers and the veterinary bodies say about wear time and safety.
The short version
Soft Claws, sold under the Soft Paws name as well, is the pick: four cat sizes with published weight and age guidance, forty caps and two tubes of adhesive for four front-paw applications, and the clearest published answers on wear time, retraction and indoor-only use. Purrdy Paws is the value pick and matches the same four sizes, the same four to six week wear window and the same twenty, forty or hundred cap kits, with a much larger colour range and a free size exchange. The Purrdy Paws hundred-count value pack is the one that depends: right for a multi-cat house or someone already two rounds in, wrong as a first purchase when you do not yet know your cat's size or whether they will tolerate caps at all. Skip the Whisker City forty-count from PetSmart, because it comes in only two sizes, 6 to 8 pounds and 9 to 13 pounds, which leaves kittens and large-breed cats with nothing that fits, and fit is the single thing that decides whether caps stay on. None of these replace a tall scratching post or routine claw trimming, which is what actually addresses the behaviour. And none of them are for a cat that goes outdoors, because a capped claw is a blunted defence. Best for: indoor cats whose scratching is damaging furniture or people despite decent scratching surfaces, where the owner is willing to redo the caps every month or so.
Our picks at a glance
- Soft Paws / Soft Claws Soft Claws Nail Caps for Cats, 40 ct - Buy. The original vinyl claw cover, with the widest published sizing guidance and the clearest instructions in the category.
- Purrdy Paws Soft Nail Caps for Cats, 40 Count Kit - Buy. The same four sizes and the same four to six week wear window for less, plus a colour range nobody else matches.
- Purrdy Paws Soft Nail Caps for Cats, 100 Count Value Pack - It depends. One hundred caps and five tubes of adhesive: excellent if you already know your size and your cat, a gamble if you do not.
- Whisker City Cat Nail Caps, 40 Count - Skip. Generous on adhesive, stingy on sizes, and the sizes are the part that decides whether caps work.
The verdict in 30 seconds
What mattered most
- Caps per pack
- Adhesive included
- Front-paw applications per pack
- Cat sizes offered
- How size is set
- Material as stated
Cat nail caps are small hollow vinyl covers glued over the tip of each claw so the cat can still scratch without shredding the sofa or your forearms. Both the American Veterinary Medical Association and the Feline Veterinary Medical Association name nail caps as one of the non-surgical alternatives veterinarians should discuss with owners instead of declawing. They are also a management tool rather than a fix, and they come with real conditions: indoor cats only, a fresh set every four to six weeks, and a weekly look at the claws underneath. We compared four packs that are on sale right now, and the whole thing turns on one unglamorous spec, which is whether the maker offers a size that actually fits your cat.

The original vinyl claw cover, with the widest published sizing guidance and the clearest instructions in the category.
Best for: A first-time buyer who wants the best odds that the caps fit and stay on, and who values instructions that spell out the limits.
- Four cat sizes, with published guidance by weight and age from kitten through 14 pounds and up.
- Kit holds 40 caps, 2 tubes of adhesive, applicator tips and instructions, which the maker rates at four front-paw applications and roughly four to six months of use.
- The maker documents the awkward parts, including indoor-only use, weekly claw checks and what to do if a cap has not shed after six weeks.
- Costs more per cap than the direct-selling competition.
- Sold under two names, Soft Paws and Soft Claws, which makes shopping and price comparison confusing.
- The adhesive sets fast, so a wriggling cat can leave you with a wasted cap and glue on your fingers.
- Colour choice is broad but the packaging and product photography look dated next to newer brands.

The same four sizes and the same four to six week wear window for less, plus a colour range nobody else matches.
Best for: Someone who has decided to try nail caps and wants the lowest-risk way in, or who wants a specific colour.
- Four cat sizes with the same weight guidance as the original, and a free size exchange if the first cap does not fit snugly.
- Sold in 20, 40 and 100 cap kits, each with a matching number of adhesive tubes, so you can start small.
- The maker publishes over 30 colours, including glow-in-the-dark and glitter finishes.
- The 20-cap starter kit is only two front-paw applications, so it runs out fast.
- Sold mainly direct from the brand, so you cannot pick one up on the way home.
- The maker warns that overfilling a cap pushes adhesive onto the skin, which can cause irritation.
- Product photography is branded artwork rather than clear shots of what is in the box.

One hundred caps and five tubes of adhesive: excellent if you already know your size and your cat, a gamble if you do not.
Best for: A multi-cat household, or a single-cat owner who has already run two or three cycles and knows the size and the routine work.
- 100 vinyl caps with 5 tubes of adhesive, which the maker's own numbers put at ten front-paw applications.
- Cheapest way to buy per cap once you are past the trial stage.
- Some colour options add a tube of the brand's gel adhesive alongside the standard tubes.
- You commit to one size before you know whether that size fits, and the maker says caps that keep falling off are almost always too large.
- Ten applications is roughly a year of front-paw wear, which is a long time to hold open cyanoacrylate tubes.
- A growing kitten will outgrow the size long before the pack runs out.
- Plenty of cats never settle with caps at all, and this is the format that makes that discovery expensive.

Generous on adhesive, stingy on sizes, and the sizes are the part that decides whether caps work.
Best for: Almost nobody as a considered purchase, though it is defensible if your cat sits squarely in the 9 to 13 pound band and you want to start tonight.
- Includes 3 adhesive tubes and 3 applicator tips for 40 caps, more glue per cap than the specialist kits.
- Throws in a nail file, which is a fair nod to the trimming step people skip.
- Stocked in PetSmart stores, so you can start the same day rather than waiting on a delivery.
- Only two sizes exist, marked 6 to 8 pounds and 9 to 13 pounds, so kittens and cats of 14 pounds and up have nothing that fits.
- The product listing does not state how long a set lasts or when to replace it, which is the one instruction that matters for the cat's welfare.
- You still get 40 caps, the same as a specialist kit, so the narrower fit range buys you nothing in quantity.
- Sold in one retail chain only, so a mid-cycle top-up depends on that chain having your size in stock.
| Criteria | Soft Claws Nail Caps for Cats, 40 ct Top pick | Purrdy Paws Soft Nail Caps for Cats, 40 Count Kit | Purrdy Paws Soft Nail Caps for Cats, 100 Count Value Pack | Whisker City Cat Nail Caps, 40 Count |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Verdict | Buy it | Buy it | It depends | Skip it |
| Best for | A first-time buyer who wants the best odds that the caps fit and stay on, and who values instructions that spell out the limits. | Someone who has decided to try nail caps and wants the lowest-risk way in, or who wants a specific colour. | A multi-cat household, or a single-cat owner who has already run two or three cycles and knows the size and the routine work. | Almost nobody as a considered purchase, though it is defensible if your cat sits squarely in the 9 to 13 pound band and you want to start tonight. |
| Price tier | $$ · mid-range | $ · budget | $$ · mid-range | $$ · mid-range |
| Caps per pack | 40 | 40 (20 and 100 also sold) | 100 | 40 |
| Adhesive included | 2 tubes | 2 tubes | 5 tubes, plus a gel tube on some colours | 3 tubes |
| Front-paw applications per pack | 4, per the maker | 4, per the maker | 10, per the maker | 4, by the same arithmetic |
| Cat sizes offered | Kitten, small, medium, large | Kitten, small, medium, large | Kitten, small, medium, large | Small and medium only |
| How size is set | Test-fit a cap dry, with weight and age guides from under 5 lb to 14 lb and up | Test-fit a cap dry, same weight bands, free exchange if wrong | Test-fit a cap dry, same weight bands | By weight printed on the pack: 6 to 8 lb or 9 to 13 lb |
| Material as stated | Non-toxic vinyl | Soft vinyl | Soft vinyl | Durable, nontoxic vinyl resin |
| Maker's stated wear time | About 4 to 6 weeks | About 4 to 6 weeks | About 4 to 6 weeks | Not stated on the product listing |
| Also in the box | Applicator tips and instructions | Applicator tips and instructions | Applicator tips and instructions | Nail file and 3 applicator tips |
Which one is right for you?
- A first-time buyer who wants the best odds that the caps fit and stay on, and who values instructions that spell out the limits. Buy it Soft Paws / Soft Claws Soft Claws Nail Caps for Cats, 40 ct
- Someone who has decided to try nail caps and wants the lowest-risk way in, or who wants a specific colour. Buy it Purrdy Paws Soft Nail Caps for Cats, 40 Count Kit
- A multi-cat household, or a single-cat owner who has already run two or three cycles and knows the size and the routine work. It depends Purrdy Paws Soft Nail Caps for Cats, 100 Count Value Pack
- Almost nobody as a considered purchase, though it is defensible if your cat sits squarely in the 9 to 13 pound band and you want to start tonight. Skip it Whisker City Cat Nail Caps, 40 Count
How we judged the field
Five things separate a nail cap pack that works from one that annoys everybody involved. Fit comes first: both makers who publish an answer say caps that keep falling off are almost always too large, so a brand offering four cat sizes with real weight and age guidance beats one offering two. Second is what is actually in the box, because caps without enough adhesive and applicator tips are half a product, and the honest unit is not caps but front-paw applications, which is caps divided by ten. Third is whether the maker states a wear interval, since the whole safety case for caps rests on replacing them every four to six weeks and checking the claws underneath weekly. Fourth is disclosure of material and adhesive. Fifth is whether the maker is straight about the limits, in particular that caps are for indoor cats only because they blunt a claw the cat may need.
The field splits three ways. There are the two specialist brands that sell direct, publish size charts and answer the awkward questions in writing. There are retailer house brands, which are convenient and cheaper to reach but tend to cut the size range down to whatever moves in volume. And there are bulk multipacks, which look like the value option and are only value once you already know your size and that your cat tolerates caps. We took one specialist as the overall pick, the other as the value pick, one bulk pack to show when that format makes sense, and one store brand to show what gets cut.
Soft Paws / Soft Claws Soft Claws Nail Caps for Cats, 40 ct - buy
Soft Claws is the original design, sold under the Soft Paws name as well, and the two are the same product from the same company. The kit holds 40 vinyl caps, 2 tubes of the maker’s cold-bonding adhesive, applicator tips and instructions, which the maker rates at four complete front-paw applications and roughly four to six months for one cat. Sizes run kitten, small, medium and large, with published guidance of under 5 pounds for kitten, 6 to 8 for small, 9 to 13 for medium and 14 and up for large, and the instruction to test-fit a cap dry before you open the glue. What sets it apart is not the plastic, which is much the same everywhere, but the documentation: it tells you that caps are for indoor cats because a cat’s defences are blunted, that you should check the claws weekly for a nail curling toward the pad, and what to do when a cap has not shed after six weeks. You pay more per cap for that. It is the right first purchase for someone who wants to get sizing right on the first try.
Purrdy Paws Soft Nail Caps for Cats, 40 Count Kit - buy
Purrdy Paws is the value pick and it is not a knockoff of the sizing so much as a match for it. The same four cat sizes, the same published weight bands, the same four to six week wear window tied to natural claw shedding, and the same instruction to test-fit a cap dry before gluing. Kits come as 20 caps with one adhesive tube, 40 with two, or 100 with five, all including applicator tips and instructions, so a cautious buyer can spend very little to find out whether this is going to work. The colour range is the real differentiator, with more than thirty options including glow-in-the-dark and glitter finishes, which sounds frivolous until you realise a visible cap is a cap you notice has fallen off. The brand also offers a free size exchange if the first cap does not fit snugly, which takes most of the risk out of guessing. Downsides are minor: no shelf presence, and artwork instead of honest photos of the kit contents. Best for someone ready to commit to the routine but not to a premium price.
Purrdy Paws Soft Nail Caps for Cats, 100 Count Value Pack - it depends
The hundred-count Purrdy Paws pack is the same caps in a quantity that changes the decision. One hundred vinyl caps and five tubes of adhesive works out at ten front-paw applications by the maker’s own arithmetic, which is close to a year of continuous front-paw wear on one cat, and some colour options add a tube of the brand’s gel adhesive. Per cap it is comfortably the cheapest thing here. The problem is everything you have to already know for that to be true. You need to know the size, and the maker states plainly that caps which keep falling off are almost always too large. You need to know your cat will settle with them, which plenty of cats do not. And a kitten will outgrow the size long before you reach cap number one hundred. Buy this after two or three successful cycles, or if you have three cats and the sizes are already settled. Buying it first is how people end up with ninety unused caps in a drawer.
Whisker City Cat Nail Caps, 40 Count - skip
Whisker City is PetSmart’s house-brand take, and it is more generous than the specialists in one respect and much worse in the one that matters. The pack holds 40 nail caps, 3 adhesive tubes, 3 applicator tips and a nail file, and the packaging describes the material as durable, nontoxic vinyl resin. Three tubes for 40 caps is more glue per cap than a specialist kit gives you, and including a file is a fair acknowledgement that people skip the trimming step. But it exists in only two sizes, printed on the pack as 6 to 8 pounds and 9 to 13 pounds. There is nothing for a kitten and nothing for a cat of 14 pounds and up, which rules out large-breed cats entirely, and fit is the whole ballgame with nail caps. The listing also states no wear interval, so a first-time buyer gets no prompt to replace at four to six weeks or to check the claws weekly. It is a reasonable emergency purchase for an average-sized cat and a poor considered one.
Soft Paws / Soft Claws Soft Claws Nail Caps for Cats, 40 ct vs Purrdy Paws Soft Nail Caps for Cats, 40 Count Kit: which should you buy?
Soft Claws and Purrdy Paws are closer than the price gap implies. Both offer four cat sizes across the same weight bands, both put the wear window at four to six weeks tied to natural claw shedding, both tell you to test-fit a cap dry before opening the adhesive, and both state in writing that caps are for indoor cats only because they blunt a defence the cat may need. The caps themselves are vinyl in both cases and the application procedure is identical: trim, fill the cap about a third full, slide it on, hold the cat’s attention for a few minutes while the glue sets. If you put a clear cap from each brand side by side on a medium cat, you would struggle to tell them apart.
So choose on the edges. Take Soft Claws if this is your first attempt and you want the most complete written guidance in the category, including what to do when a cap has not come off after six weeks and why a weekly claw check matters. Its instructions are the closest thing to a manual anyone in this category provides, and that is worth something when the failure modes are silent. Take Purrdy Paws if you want to spend the least to find out whether your cat will accept caps at all, since the 20-cap kit is two applications and the free size exchange means a wrong guess costs you postage rather than a pack. If you already know the size and you have three cats, skip straight to the hundred-count.
What to look for
- Size range, not cap count: four sizes with published weight and age bands beats a bigger pack in two sizes, because a cap that is slightly too large will not bond and will be off within days.
- Front-paw applications, not caps: divide the cap count by ten to get the number your cat actually needs, so a 40-cap kit is four applications and roughly four to six months of front-claw wear.
- Adhesive tubes per cap: two tubes for 40 caps is the specialist norm, and any kit that ships fewer is quietly assuming you will buy glue separately.
- A stated wear interval: if the maker does not print four to six weeks somewhere, you are being sold the caps without the one instruction that keeps the claws underneath healthy.
- An honest indoor-only warning: the brands worth trusting say outright that caps blunt a cat’s defences and should not go on a cat with outdoor access.
- A test-fit instruction: any maker telling you to try a cap dry before opening the adhesive is telling you the truth about how fit-sensitive this product is.
Our final take
Nail caps earn their place as a management tool, not a solution. The AVMA lists them among the alternatives to declawing alongside scratching surfaces tall enough for a full stretch and claw trims every one to two weeks, and those two do the actual behavioural work. Caps buy you a quiet month while the rest of it takes hold, or a way to keep a cat in a home where thin skin or a landlord makes scratching a real problem. Get the size right, redo them every four to six weeks, look at the claws weekly, and keep them off any cat that goes outside. Soft Claws for a first attempt, Purrdy Paws to save money, and take the size question to your vet if you are unsure.
Questions, answered
Are nail caps actually accepted by vets, or is that just marketing?
Both of the big US bodies name them. The Feline Veterinary Medical Association, formerly the American Association of Feline Practitioners, strongly opposes elective declawing and lists "considering temporary synthetic nail caps" among the alternatives it says veterinarians should counsel owners about. The AVMA strongly discourages elective onychectomy and its own alternatives page lists nail caps, replaced every four to six weeks, alongside scratching surfaces, nail trims every one to two weeks, positive reinforcement training and pheromone products. What neither body does is call caps a cure. They sit in a list of management options, and the AVMA is explicit that punishment does not work and that appropriate scratching surfaces come first. Talk to your vet before you start, especially if your cat has skin problems, arthritis or a history of not tolerating handling.
How often do I really have to replace them?
Every four to six weeks is the figure both makers publish and the figure the AVMA uses on its alternatives page. Caps come off on their own as the cat sheds the outer sheath of the claw, which is the same process that leaves those little claw husks around a scratching post. Because the shedding is uneven, you usually lose one or two caps at a time rather than a whole paw at once, and both makers tell you to check the claws at least weekly and re-glue the gaps. That weekly check is not busywork. Cat claws grow in a curve, and a claw left too long under a cap can start to curl toward the paw pad, which is the failure mode you are checking for.
My cat chews them off and swallows them. Is that dangerous?
Both makers say no. Soft Paws states the caps are non-toxic and that if swallowed they pass through the digestive system, and that the dried adhesive is inert once cured. Purrdy Paws states that neither the vinyl cap nor the glue causes issues if ingested. Treat those as manufacturer statements rather than published trial data, because we could not find an independent veterinary body that has published its own view on swallowed caps. A cap is still a small foreign object, so if your cat swallows several, or if you see vomiting, appetite loss or straining, call your vet rather than waiting it out. Uncured adhesive is a separate issue: Purrdy Paws warns that overfilling a cap pushes glue onto the skin, where it can cause irritation.
Can my cat still retract its claws and use a scratching post?
Both makers say the caps do not interfere with normal extension and retraction, and that cats can still go through the full scratching and stretching motion without damaging the surface underneath. Soft Paws makes a useful point of anatomy here: the claw does not slide into a sheath, the cat flexes a tendon to extend and relax it, so a cover on the tip does not block the mechanism. What changes is that the tip is blunt, so the claw does not catch and the cat gets less of the raking sensation. That is one more reason to keep a tall, sturdy scratching post in play rather than treating caps as a replacement for it.
Are nail caps safe for a cat that goes outside?
No, and both makers say so directly rather than burying it. Soft Paws states caps should only be used on indoor cats because a cat's defences will be blunted while wearing them, and Purrdy Paws uses almost the same wording. A blunted claw is a worse weapon in a fight and a worse grip on a fence or a tree trunk, which matters most in exactly the situation where a cat needs to get away fast. If your cat has any outdoor access, including a cat flap or supervised garden time, nail caps are the wrong tool. Scratching posts, routine trimming and covering the furniture the cat has targeted are the route to take instead.
Deciding between the top two? See our head-to-head: Soft Paws / Soft Claws Soft Claws Nail Caps for Cats, 40 ct vs Purrdy Paws Soft Nail Caps for Cats, 40 Count Kit.





