Outdoors
The Best Camp Lanterns: 4 Compared (and One to Skip)
Three of these four lanterns put their lumen figure in the product name. The fourth has no number in its name and publishes no output figure at all.
The short version
The Goal Zero Lighthouse 600 is the pick, because it publishes the most complete set of figures in the category and adds a hand crank, so it still works when the battery is flat and there is no sun. The Black Diamond Orbiter 650 is the value choice and the brightest here, charging over USB-C with a 240 hour low setting and an IPX4 rating. The BioLite AlpenGlow 500 has the largest battery and by far the best colour rendering at CRI 90, but it still charges over micro USB. Skip the LuminAID PackLite Nova: it publishes no lumen figure, no runtime and no battery capacity, offering five levels of white light as the entire specification. Read the runtime before the brightness, because that is where these actually differ. Best for: anyone comparing lanterns on more than the number in the name.
Our picks at a glance
- Goal Zero Lighthouse 600 Lantern & USB Power Hub - Buy. The most completely documented lantern here, and the only one that works with no power source at all.
- Black Diamond Orbiter 650 Lantern - Buy. Brightest of the four, charges over USB-C, and states its runtime at both ends of the dial.
- BioLite AlpenGlow 500 - It depends. The largest battery and the only stated colour rendering figure, still charging over micro USB.
- LuminAID PackLite Nova Solar Lantern - Skip. Packs flat, runs on sun, and publishes neither a lumen figure nor a runtime nor a battery capacity.
The verdict in 30 seconds
What mattered most
- Stated output
- Runtime, high
- Runtime, low
- Battery
- Weight
- Charge input
A camp lantern is a battery, an LED and a diffuser, and the only two numbers that describe it are how bright it goes and how long it lasts there. Those two trade against each other directly, so a brightness figure on its own tells you almost nothing. We compared four, and found that the industry has quietly moved the brightness number into the product name, which works until a brand skips it.

The most completely documented lantern here, and the only one that works with no power source at all.
Best for: Camping where recharging is uncertain, and emergency kit at home where a dead battery is the whole problem.
- Publishes runtime at multiple settings, including 320 hours on one side at low and 5 hours on one side at high, which is the disclosure the category usually skips.
- Built-in hand crank means it still produces light when the battery is flat and there is no sun and no socket.
- Battery stated properly as 5200 mAh and 18.98 Wh at 3.65 V, so you can actually compare it to a power bank.
- Directional design lets you light one side only, which doubles runtime and stops the lantern blinding everyone at the table.
- 600 lumens is the middle of this group rather than the top.
- Six hour charge time from a USB source, which is slow next to a modern USB-C device.
- At 498 grams it is among the heavier options for what it produces.
- The hand crank is an emergency feature and produces very little light per minute of cranking.

Brightest of the four, charges over USB-C, and states its runtime at both ends of the dial.
Best for: General camp lighting where brightness matters and everything else charges over USB-C.
- 650 lumens is the highest stated output here, and the page gives max distance at three settings rather than just the headline figure.
- USB-C charge in, which by now is the connector everything else in the bag already uses.
- 240 hours on low is a genuinely long tail, and 4 hours on high is stated plainly rather than implied.
- IPX4 rating stated explicitly, plus folding legs and a collapsible double-hook loop so it hangs or stands.
- 4 hours on high is the shortest high-setting runtime in this comparison.
- At 508 grams it is the heaviest lantern here.
- Charging small electronics from it will eat the runtime you were relying on for light.
- No colour rendering figure, so you are trusting a generic white LED for tasks where colour matters.

The largest battery and the only stated colour rendering figure, still charging over micro USB.
Best for: Cooking and close work where colour accuracy matters, if you can live with a micro USB cable.
- 6400 mAh and 23.6 Wh is the biggest battery in the group, and it is stated in both units.
- CRI 90 ChromaReal LED is the only colour rendering claim here, which matters for cooking, first aid and reading a map properly.
- 5 hours on high and up to 200 hours on low, plus a stated 1 hour reserve, which no other lantern in this comparison mentions.
- Lightest of the three rechargeables at 380 grams, with a lock mode so it does not switch on in a pack.
- Charges by 5V/2A micro USB, which means carrying a cable you otherwise stopped carrying years ago.
- 500 lumens is the lowest stated output of the three lanterns that state one.
- The colour and multicolour modes are the marketing focus and are not why anyone needs a lantern.
- Three hour charge time, and no solar or crank fallback if you cannot reach a socket.

Packs flat, runs on sun, and publishes neither a lumen figure nor a runtime nor a battery capacity.
Best for: An emergency bag where packing flat matters more than knowing what you are getting.
- At 142 grams it is by a wide margin the lightest option here and packs flat enough for a glove compartment.
- Solar charging with no cable requirement, which suits a lantern kept in a car or an emergency kit.
- Inflatable body diffuses the LED evenly, and the Colors version adds eight colour modes.
- No lumen figure published anywhere on the product page, so its brightness cannot be compared to anything.
- No runtime published, which is the specification that matters most on a solar lantern with no mains charging.
- No battery capacity published, so there is no way to estimate runtime from the hardware either.
- Five levels of white light is offered as the specification, and five levels of an unstated maximum is not a measurement.
| Criteria | Lighthouse 600 Lantern & USB Power Hub | Orbiter 650 Lantern | AlpenGlow 500 | PackLite Nova Solar Lantern |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Verdict | Buy it | Buy it | It depends | Skip it |
| Best for | Camping where recharging is uncertain, and emergency kit at home where a dead battery is the whole problem. | General camp lighting where brightness matters and everything else charges over USB-C. | Cooking and close work where colour accuracy matters, if you can live with a micro USB cable. | An emergency bag where packing flat matters more than knowing what you are getting. |
| Price tier | $$ · mid-range | $$ · mid-range | $$ · mid-range | $ · budget |
| Stated output | 600 lumens | 650 lumens | 500 lm high, 5 lm low | Not published |
| Runtime, high | 5 hrs, one side lit | 4 hrs | 5 hrs | Not published |
| Runtime, low | 320 hrs, one side lit | 240 hrs | Up to 200 hrs | Not published |
| Battery | 5200 mAh / 18.98 Wh | 5200 mAh | 6400 mAh / 23.6 Wh | Not published |
| Weight | 498 g / 1.1 lb | 508 g | 380 g / 13.4 oz | 142 g |
| Charge input | USB, 6 hrs, plus solar and hand crank | USB-C | Micro USB 5V/2A, 3 hrs | Solar only |
| Water resistance | Not stated | IPX4 | IPX4 | Not published |
| Colour rendering | Not stated | Not stated | CRI 90 ChromaReal | Not stated |
| Lumen figure in the product name | Yes, 600 | Yes, 650 | Yes, 500 | No, and none published |
Which one is right for you?
- Camping where recharging is uncertain, and emergency kit at home where a dead battery is the whole problem. Buy it Goal Zero Lighthouse 600 Lantern & USB Power Hub
- General camp lighting where brightness matters and everything else charges over USB-C. Buy it Black Diamond Orbiter 650 Lantern
- Cooking and close work where colour accuracy matters, if you can live with a micro USB cable. It depends BioLite AlpenGlow 500
- An emergency bag where packing flat matters more than knowing what you are getting. Skip it LuminAID PackLite Nova Solar Lantern
How we judged the field
Five things decide a camp lantern, and brightness is the one that decides least. Maximum output matters only until you have enough, which for lighting a table or a tent is somewhere around 200 lumens, and every lantern here clears that comfortably. What actually separates them is runtime, because output and duration trade directly against each other and the useful question is how long the thing lasts at the setting you will really use. Third is the battery, stated in mAh and ideally in watt hours, because that is the hardware underneath both figures. Fourth is how it charges, which in 2026 means whether it uses USB-C or asks you to carry an obsolete cable, and whether it has any fallback when there is no socket. Fifth is light quality, meaning colour rendering, which almost nobody publishes and which matters for cooking and first aid.
The pattern we did not expect was in the names. Three of these four lanterns are named after their lumen rating: AlpenGlow 500, Lighthouse 600, Orbiter 650. That is a genuinely helpful convention, and it has quietly become the category’s substitute for a specification. The fourth product, the PackLite Nova, has no number in its name, and it also has no lumen figure, no runtime and no battery capacity anywhere on its page. We picked these four because they cover every charging method in the category, from USB-C to solar to a hand crank, and because they span the full range of disclosure from four documented figures to none.
Goal Zero Lighthouse 600 Lantern & USB Power Hub - buy
The Goal Zero Lighthouse 600 wins on the strength of its own documentation and one unusual feature. It is the only lantern here that publishes runtime at multiple settings rather than a single headline figure, telling you it manages 320 hours with one side lit at low and 5 hours with one side lit at high. That framing matters, because the Lighthouse is directional and lighting one side only is both a practical choice at a table and a way of doubling endurance. The battery is stated properly at 5200 mAh and 18.98 Wh at 3.65 volts, which is enough to compare it against a power bank rather than against marketing. Then there is the hand crank, which is the reason to choose it over the Black Diamond. It produces very little light per minute of effort, and it is the only mechanism in this comparison that works when the battery is flat, the sun is down and there is no socket within a day’s drive. Six hour charging is slow and 498 grams is not light. For anywhere recharging is uncertain, it is the sensible pick.
Black Diamond Orbiter 650 Lantern - buy
The Black Diamond Orbiter 650 is the brightest lantern here and the one that fits a modern kit best. Its 650 lumens tops the group, and Black Diamond does something useful with it by publishing maximum distance at three settings, 17 metres on high down to 5 on low, which describes the light far better than a single lumen number does. It charges over USB-C, which by now is what everything else in the bag uses, and it carries a stated IPX4 rating so an unexpected shower is not a problem. The 240 hour low setting is a long tail, and the folding legs and collapsible double-hook loop mean it works standing on a table or hanging from a tarp. The costs are the mirror of the brightness. Four hours on high is the shortest high-setting runtime in this comparison, which is what 650 lumens from a 5200 mAh battery buys you. At 508 grams it is also the heaviest. And using its USB-A and USB-C ports to charge a phone will consume the runtime you were counting on for light.
BioLite AlpenGlow 500 - it depends
The BioLite AlpenGlow 500 is the most interesting lantern here and the hardest to place. It has the biggest battery in the group at 6400 mAh and 23.6 watt hours, stated in both units, and it is the lightest of the three rechargeables at 380 grams. Most significantly it is the only lantern in this comparison that publishes a colour rendering figure, CRI 90 from what BioLite calls a ChromaReal broad spectrum LED. That is a real advantage and an underrated one: at CRI 90 you can tell whether chicken is cooked through, see what a cut actually looks like, and read colour on a map, none of which a generic 70 CRI white LED does well. It also states a 1 hour reserve below the main runtime figures, which nothing else here bothers to mention. What holds it back is the connector. It charges by 5V/2A micro USB, which in 2026 means packing a cable you have otherwise stopped carrying. Its 500 lumens is also the lowest of the three lanterns that state a figure, and the colour modes are marketing rather than reason.
LuminAID PackLite Nova Solar Lantern - skip
The LuminAID PackLite Nova does two things well and then declines to be measured. At 142 grams it is a quarter the weight of the Black Diamond, it packs genuinely flat, and its inflatable body diffuses the LED more evenly than a hard-bodied lantern manages. Solar charging with no cable suits exactly the use case it is built for, which is a light that lives in a glove box or an emergency bag and tops itself up passively. The problem is that the product page publishes no lumen figure, no runtime, and no battery capacity. What it offers instead is five levels of white light, and five levels of an unstated maximum is not a specification. On a mains-charged lantern that omission would be careless. On a solar lantern it is worse, because solar input is slow and unpredictable, which makes runtime the single most important thing a buyer needs to know and the thing most affected by how big the battery is. Three of the four lanterns here put their output in the product name. This one has no number in its name and none on its page.
Goal Zero Lighthouse 600 Lantern & USB Power Hub vs Black Diamond Orbiter 650 Lantern: which should you buy?
The Goal Zero and the Black Diamond are the two worth choosing between, and the question is what happens when the battery runs out. If you camp where you can recharge, from a car, a socket or a power bank, buy the Orbiter 650. It is brighter at 650 lumens, it charges over USB-C so it shares cables with everything else you own, it carries a stated IPX4 rating, and its 240 hour low setting will outlast any trip you would take it on.
If recharging is uncertain, the Lighthouse 600 is the better tool, and the hand crank is the whole argument. It is a poor way to make light, generating very little for the effort, and it is the only mechanism here that works with a flat battery and no sun. The Lighthouse also publishes runtime at more settings than anything else in the comparison, and being directional means lighting one side at low gets you 320 hours, which is the longest usable figure in the group. It is slower to charge, slightly dimmer and no lighter. For a week off-grid, or for a kit that sits in a cupboard until the power goes out, those are the right compromises.
What to look for
- Runtime before brightness: every lantern here clears the output you actually need, and they differ by 80 hours on their low settings, which is where the real gap sits.
- A battery figure in watt hours: mAh alone is meaningless without voltage, and a page giving both is a page maintaining its product data properly.
- The charging connector: USB-C means one cable for everything, micro USB means a dedicated cable you will eventually forget, and solar alone means planning around sunlight.
- A stated IP rating: IPX4 is the sensible minimum for something left out overnight, and a lantern that does not state one has not been tested to say so.
- Colour rendering if you cook by it: CRI is published by almost nobody, and the difference between 70 and 90 is the difference between guessing and seeing.
- A number in the name is not a specification: it usually is the lumen rating, but confirm it on the page, and treat a product with no number and no published output as unmeasured.
Our final take
Camp lanterns have quietly standardised on naming themselves after their lumen rating, which is helpful right up to the point where it replaces a specification. The Goal Zero Lighthouse 600 takes the pick for publishing runtime at four settings and for carrying a crank that works when nothing else does. The Black Diamond Orbiter 650 is brighter, charges over USB-C and is the better everyday choice where power is available. The BioLite AlpenGlow 500 is the one to buy if you cook by your lantern, since CRI 90 is a real advantage nobody else here claims, provided you can tolerate micro USB. The LuminAID packs flattest and tells you least.
Questions, answered
Why do camp lanterns have numbers in their names?
Because the number is the lumen rating, and putting it in the name makes the product self-describing on a shelf. AlpenGlow 500, Orbiter 650 and Lighthouse 600 all name themselves after their maximum output. It is genuinely useful shorthand, and it has a side effect worth noticing: it trains buyers to compare on brightness alone, which is the specification that matters least once you are above roughly 200 lumens. It also means a lantern with no number in its name may not publish an output figure anywhere, which is exactly what we found.
Is a brighter lantern better?
Rarely, past a point. A camp lantern lights a table, a tent or a cooking area at a range of a couple of metres, and 200 lumens does that comfortably. Running at maximum is also how you flatten the battery, since every lantern here manages four to five hours on high and 200 to 320 hours on low. The brightness figure sells the product and the runtime figure describes how you will actually use it, which is why we rank on the second.
What does CRI mean and should I care?
Colour Rendering Index describes how accurately a light source shows colour compared to daylight, on a scale to 100. Cheap white LEDs sit around 70 and make everything look slightly grey and flat. The BioLite here states CRI 90, which is high, and the practical difference shows up when you are checking whether meat is cooked, looking at a cut or a splinter, or reading a contour map. For lighting a tent so nobody trips, it does not matter at all.
Is solar charging worth having?
As a supplement, yes. As a primary charging method, it depends on patience and latitude. A small solar panel on a lantern body generates very little current, so a full charge typically means a full day of direct sun in good conditions, and considerably longer in cloud or winter light. It suits a lantern that lives in a car or an emergency kit and is topped up passively over weeks. It does not suit a lantern you need bright tonight, which is why a crank or a USB port alongside it matters.
Can I use a lantern as a power bank?
Two of these publish USB output, and it works, with a caveat worth thinking about. A 5200 mAh lantern battery holds roughly one full phone charge, and using it that way leaves you with a lantern that will not light your camp. If you expect to charge devices, carry a separate power bank and let the lantern do its job. The output port is best treated as an emergency option rather than as a feature you plan around.
Deciding between the top two? See our head-to-head: Goal Zero Lighthouse 600 Lantern & USB Power Hub vs Black Diamond Orbiter 650 Lantern.


