Health & Wellness

The Best Heated Mattress Pads: 4 Compared (and One to Skip)

We compared four current heated mattress pads on the safety listing each maker publishes, auto shut-off, dual controls, pocket depth, washability and how complete the spec sheet is.

RBE top pick

Bedsure Polyester Microfiber Heated Mattress Pad (Queen)

The Bedsure wins because its page states every safety and fit detail that matters, including ETL and FCC certification, a default 8-hour auto shut-off and dual control on the queen. The Bwarm costs less, adds a waterproof layer and a deeper pocket, and backs it with a 5-year warranty, but its page does not say how many controllers each size gets.

Bedsure Polyester Microfiber Heated Mattress Pad (Queen) - our top pick

The short version

The Bedsure Polyester Microfiber Heated Mattress Pad is the one we would put on most queen beds: Bedsure states ETL and FCC certification, a default 8-hour auto shut-off, preheat, memory, dual control on the queen and a 16-inch pocket, and it is machine washable. The Bwarm Air-lock Waterproof Heated Mattress Pad is the value pick, with an ETL listing, a waterproof layer, an 18-inch pocket and a 5-year warranty for the lowest money here. The Electrowarmth Heated Mattress Pad is for owners of awkward sizes such as Olympic queen or short queen, but it costs the most, carries a 1-year warranty and does not publish its auto shut-off time. Skip the Sharper Image Dual Zone Heated Mattress Pad: its page and its linked manual disagree on the auto shut-off and the manual carries a different brand name. Whatever you buy, check the listing mark on the label and follow the manual. Best for: cold sleepers and couples who want warmth under them without heating the whole house.

Our picks at a glance

  1. Bedsure Polyester Microfiber Heated Mattress Pad (Queen) - Buy. The most completely documented pad here, with ETL and FCC certification, dual control on the queen and a default 8-hour auto shut-off.
  2. Bwarm Air-lock Waterproof Heated Mattress Pad (Queen) - Buy. The value pick: ETL listed, waterproof, an 18-inch pocket and a 5-year warranty for the least money in this group.
  3. Electrowarmth Heated Mattress Pad with 10 Warming Settings - It depends. Sold in sizes the big brands skip, such as Olympic queen and short queen, but premium-priced with a 1-year warranty and a thin spec sheet.
  4. Sharper Image Dual Zone Heated Mattress Pad (Queen) - Skip. A familiar name on the box, but the product page and the manual it links to disagree on the auto shut-off and on whose product this is.

The verdict in 30 seconds

What mattered most

  • Safety listing stated by maker
  • Auto shut-off
  • Heat settings
  • Controllers on queen
  • Stated pocket depth
  • Preheat or memory
New to heated mattress pads? Our plain-English Heated Mattress Pads, Explained guide decodes every spec first.

A heated mattress pad warms you from underneath, which suits people who run cold at the feet or who already sleep under a heavy duvet. The category looks uniform on a shelf, but the maker pages differ a lot in what they actually commit to: safety listing, auto shut-off length, pocket depth and warranty. We picked four pads from four different makers, from a budget waterproof option to a premium pad sold in odd mattress sizes. Two earn a buy, one suits a specific bed, and one we would pass on because its own paperwork does not agree with itself.

RBE top pick
Bedsure Polyester Microfiber Heated Mattress Pad (Queen)
Bedsure
Bedsure Polyester Microfiber Heated Mattress Pad (Queen)
Buy it

The most completely documented pad here, with ETL and FCC certification, dual control on the queen and a default 8-hour auto shut-off.

Best for: Couples with a standard queen who want two controllers and a fully stated safety spec at mid-range money.

$$ · mid-range
Why we like it
  • Bedsure states ETL and FCC certification and a default 8-hour auto shut-off on the product page.
  • Queen gets dual control, with 10 heat levels, 12 time settings, a preheat function and memory of the last setting.
  • Stretches over mattresses up to 16 inches deep and is machine washable, per the maker.
Know before buying
  • The 16-inch pocket is the shallowest stated here, so thick pillow-top mattresses may be too deep.
  • Polyester microfiber on both sides, with no cotton or waterproof option in this version.
  • No warranty length is stated on the product page.
Bwarm Air-lock Waterproof Heated Mattress Pad (Queen)
Bwarm
Bwarm Air-lock Waterproof Heated Mattress Pad (Queen)
Buy it

The value pick: ETL listed, waterproof, an 18-inch pocket and a 5-year warranty for the least money in this group.

Best for: Budget buyers, pet owners and anyone with a deep mattress who wants an ETL-listed pad with a long warranty.

$ · budget
Why we like it
  • Bwarm states ETL and OEKO-TEX certification and a 5-year warranty.
  • Waterproof knit construction protects the mattress from spills and pet accidents, and the pad is fully machine washable.
  • 18-inch deep pocket with a 360-degree elastic skirt, plus foot-only queen and king sizes if you only want warm feet.
Know before buying
  • The product text does not say whether the queen comes with one controller or two; the photos show two, but confirm before ordering.
  • Only 9 heat levels, and the auto-off timer runs 1 to 9 hours or 12 hours with no default stated.
  • Polyester fibre, so it will not feel like a cotton-topped pad.
Electrowarmth Heated Mattress Pad with 10 Warming Settings
Electrowarmth
Electrowarmth Heated Mattress Pad with 10 Warming Settings
It depends

Sold in sizes the big brands skip, such as Olympic queen and short queen, but premium-priced with a 1-year warranty and a thin spec sheet.

Best for: Owners of an Olympic queen, short queen or other non-standard mattress that standard pads do not fit.

$$$ · premium
Why we like it
  • Offered in unusual sizes including short queen, Olympic queen, extra long queen, long full and 30-inch singles.
  • ETL approved, with an overheating protection function that shuts the controller down on failure or excessive temperature, per the maker.
  • Single or dual controls, 10 warming settings, and the maker says it can be machine washed and dried.
Know before buying
  • 1-year warranty, the shortest here, though the maker offers service after that.
  • The page does not publish an auto shut-off time or a pocket depth.
  • Many size and control combinations showed sold out on the maker page when checked.
  • Costs the most of the four.
We'd skip it
Sharper Image Dual Zone Heated Mattress Pad (Queen)
Sharper Image
Sharper Image Dual Zone Heated Mattress Pad (Queen)
Skip it

A familiar name on the box, but the product page and the manual it links to disagree on the auto shut-off and on whose product this is.

Best for: Hard to recommend; for the same money the Bedsure states more and costs less.

$$ · mid-range
Why we like it
  • Two digital controllers on queen and king, 10 heat levels and a 1 to 12 hour timer.
  • ETL certified and machine washable, per the product page.
  • Long 13-foot controller cords and a 60-day satisfaction guarantee from the seller.
Know before buying
  • The page says it shuts off after 10 hours, while the linked manual says 0.5 to 12 hours in one place and 1 to 12 hours in another.
  • The linked manual is branded TheraHaus by Therapedic, not Sharper Image, so it is unclear which document matches the pad you receive.
  • No pocket depth is published, and the listed dimensions read 60 by 80 by 60 inches, which cannot be a mattress pad.
  • Costs more than the better-documented Bedsure, and no warranty length is stated on the page.
Criteria Bedsure Polyester Microfiber Heated Mattress Pad (Queen) Top pick Bwarm Air-lock Waterproof Heated Mattress Pad (Queen) Electrowarmth Heated Mattress Pad with 10 Warming Settings Sharper Image Dual Zone Heated Mattress Pad (Queen)
Verdict Buy it Buy it It depends Skip it
Best forCouples with a standard queen who want two controllers and a fully stated safety spec at mid-range money.Budget buyers, pet owners and anyone with a deep mattress who wants an ETL-listed pad with a long warranty.Owners of an Olympic queen, short queen or other non-standard mattress that standard pads do not fit.Hard to recommend; for the same money the Bedsure states more and costs less.
Price tier$$ · mid-range$ · budget$$$ · premium$$ · mid-range
Safety listing stated by makerETL and FCCETL and OEKO-TEXETL approvedETL certified
Auto shut-offDefault 8 hours, 12 time settings1 to 9 hours or 12 hoursNot publishedPage says 10 hours; manual says up to 12
Heat settings1091010
Controllers on queenDualNot stated in textSingle or dual (your choice)Two
Stated pocket depthUp to 16 inUp to 18 inNot publishedNot published
Preheat or memoryPreheat and memoryMemoryNot statedNot stated
WashingMachine washableMachine washable, waterproofMachine wash and dryMachine washable
Warranty on pageNot stated5 years1 year, service afterNot stated (60-day guarantee)

Which one is right for you?

How we judged the field

Five things decide whether a heated mattress pad is worth buying. First, a recognized safety listing such as ETL or UL, stated by the maker and printed on the label. Second, the auto shut-off, because a pad that runs all night without one is the main risk in this category. Third, controls: couples usually need one controller per side, and some pads add preheat or a memory of your last setting. Fourth, fit, meaning the pocket depth the skirt will stretch over. Fifth, care and warranty, because a pad you cannot wash or that fails after one winter is poor value at any price.

The field splits into well-documented mass-market pads, budget pads that state the essentials but leave gaps, specialists that sell odd sizes, and gift-brand pads whose paperwork does not hold together. We picked one of each from four different makers, judged only on what each maker publishes, and treated anything not stated as not promised.

Bedsure Polyester Microfiber Heated Mattress Pad (Queen)

Buy it

The Bedsure Polyester Microfiber Heated Mattress Pad earns the top spot because its page answers the questions that matter before you plug anything into your bed. Bedsure states ETL and FCC certification, a default 8-hour auto shut-off, 10 heat levels and 12 time settings, and says the queen comes with dual control so each sleeper runs their own side. A preheat function warms the bed before you get in, and memory brings back your last setting. The skirt stretches over mattresses up to 16 inches deep, the fabric is soft on both sides, and the whole pad is machine washable. The trade-offs are modest. Sixteen inches is the shallowest stated pocket in this group, so a tall pillow-top may be too much for it, and there is no cotton or waterproof layer in this version. The page also does not state a warranty length, which is worth asking about. For a standard queen and a couple who want separate controls with a fully stated safety spec, this is the one to buy.

Bwarm Air-lock Waterproof Heated Mattress Pad (Queen)

Buy it

The Bwarm Air-lock Waterproof Heated Mattress Pad is the value pick, and it gives up less than its price suggests. Bwarm states ETL and OEKO-TEX certification and backs the pad with a 5-year warranty, the longest stated here. A waterproof knit layer protects the mattress from spills and pet accidents, and an 18-inch pocket with a 360-degree elastic skirt fits deeper mattresses than the Bedsure. You get 9 heat levels, auto-off settings of 1 to 9 hours or 12 hours, and memory of your last setting, and the pad is fully machine washable. Bwarm also sells foot-only queen and king versions for people who only need warm feet. The gap that matters is controllers: the product text never says how many the queen includes. The photos show two, but confirm before ordering if you share a bed. It is also polyester rather than cotton. For budget buyers, pet owners and deep mattresses, it is an easy recommendation.

Electrowarmth Heated Mattress Pad with 10 Warming Settings

It depends

The Electrowarmth Heated Mattress Pad with 10 Warming Settings exists for one kind of buyer: someone whose mattress is not a standard size. Electrowarmth sells it as short queen, Olympic queen and extra long queen, long and extra long full, 30-inch singles and extra long twin for split California kings, with single or dual controls. The maker states ETL approval, 10 warming settings and an overheating protection function that shuts the controller down on a failure or excessive temperature, and says the pad can be machine washed and dried. The trade-offs are real. It is the most expensive pad here, the warranty is 1 year with service offered after that, and the page does not publish an auto shut-off time or a pocket depth. When checked, many size and control combinations were marked sold out, so availability for your exact size is not guaranteed. If a standard queen or king pad fits your bed, buy one of the two picks above. If it does not, this is a rare option worth a look.

Sharper Image Dual Zone Heated Mattress Pad (Queen)

Skip it

The Sharper Image Dual Zone Heated Mattress Pad looks like a safe pick on paper: two digital controllers on queen and king, 10 heat levels, a 1 to 12 hour timer, ETL certification and a machine-washable quilted top. The problem is that its own documents do not agree. The product page says the pad shuts off automatically after 10 hours. The owner’s manual linked from that same page is branded TheraHaus by Therapedic, and it describes the auto shut-off as 0.5 to 12 hours in one section and 1 to 12 hours in another. On a heated product, the shut-off behaviour is the one spec you need to be sure of. The page also publishes no pocket depth, lists dimensions of 60 by 80 by 60 inches, and states no warranty length beyond a 60-day satisfaction guarantee. It costs more than the Bedsure, which documents all of these points clearly. Unless the seller can confirm which spec is correct, skip it.

Sources

Specs in this review come from these pages.

Bedsure Polyester Microfiber Heated Mattress Pad (Queen) vs Bwarm Air-lock Waterproof Heated Mattress Pad (Queen): which should you buy?

The Bedsure and the Bwarm cover most beds between them, and the choice comes down to controls versus coverage. The Bedsure states dual control on the queen, a default 8-hour auto shut-off, preheat and memory, which makes it the safer bet for couples who want each side handled separately from the first night. The Bwarm is cheaper, adds a waterproof layer, stretches to an 18-inch pocket and comes with a 5-year warranty, but you have to confirm the controller count yourself.

Choose the Bedsure if you share a queen bed with someone who runs warmer or colder than you and your mattress is 16 inches deep or less. Choose the Bwarm if your mattress is deeper, if you have pets or kids and want the waterproof layer, if you sleep alone, or if the longer warranty and lower price matter more than preheat. Either way, check the listing mark on the label when it arrives.

What to look for

  • A listing mark on the label: ETL or UL should be printed on the pad or its tag, not only claimed in a product description.
  • A stated auto shut-off: look for a specific number of hours or timer range, and be wary when the page and the manual disagree.
  • One controller per side: for couples, confirm the size you are buying ships with two controllers, since some makers only show it in photos.
  • Pocket depth that clears your mattress: measure your mattress plus any topper and compare it with the maker’s stated pocket depth.
  • Care rules you can live with: check whether the pad can go in a dryer and how the controller cord detaches before washing.
  • A warranty length in writing: heated bedding fails at the controller and wiring, so a stated multi-year warranty is worth more than a satisfaction guarantee.

Our final take

For most people the Bedsure Polyester Microfiber Heated Mattress Pad is the right buy: it states ETL and FCC certification, a default 8-hour auto shut-off, dual control on the queen and a 16-inch pocket, and it washes in a machine. If you want to spend less, have a deeper mattress or want a waterproof layer, the Bwarm Air-lock Waterproof pad brings an ETL listing and a 5-year warranty, as long as you confirm the controller count. The Electrowarmth is for odd sizes only. Skip the Sharper Image until its page and manual agree on the auto shut-off. Whichever you choose, follow the manual, never fold a pad while it is on, and replace it at the first sign of damage.

Questions, answered

Is a heated mattress pad safe to leave on all night?

Only within what the maker allows, which is why the auto shut-off matters. Bedsure sets a default 8-hour shut-off, and Bwarm lets you choose 1 to 9 hours or 12 hours. Look for a recognized listing mark such as ETL or UL on the pad's label, not just in the ad copy. The manual linked from the Sharper Image page warns against folding or bunching the pad while it is on, which can cause overheating. If a controller flashes an error, the cord looks damaged, or you smell scorching, unplug it and stop using it.

Heated mattress pad or electric blanket: which is better?

A pad sits under your fitted sheet and heats from below, so it stays put and works under whatever duvet you already like. An electric blanket heats from above and can double as a throw on the sofa. People who mostly have cold feet or who share a bed with a hot sleeper often prefer a dual-control pad. Our electric blanket comparison covers the over-the-top option if you would rather heat from above.

Can I use a heated mattress pad on a memory foam, air or water mattress?

Check your pad's manual first, because the rules come from the maker. The manual linked from the Sharper Image page says not to use that pad on a waterbed or an air mattress. Memory foam is not ruled out in the documents we read, but some foam mattress makers have their own guidance, so check the mattress warranty too. If either document is silent, ask the maker before you combine them.

What does ETL listed mean, and is it as good as UL?

ETL is a mark from Intertek, a nationally recognized testing laboratory, and it shows a product was tested to the relevant safety standard. UL is a different lab testing to standards for the same kind of product. For a buyer, the key point is that one of these marks is on the pad itself, not only in a product description. All four pads here state an ETL listing on the maker page.

How do I wash a heated mattress pad without damaging it?

Always unplug and detach the controller cord first, and never put the controller in water. Follow the care label: the Sharper Image manual calls for a gentle cycle in cold water, no dry cleaning or bleach, and a low-heat tumble dry. Electrowarmth says its pad can be machine washed and dried, while Bwarm's wool pads call for air-only drying, so the rules differ by model. Let the pad dry completely before plugging it back in.

Want the background first? Read Heated Mattress Pads, Explained - every spec in plain English Read the guide

Deciding between the top two? See our head-to-head: Bedsure Polyester Microfiber Heated Mattress Pad (Queen) vs Bwarm Air-lock Waterproof Heated Mattress Pad (Queen).